We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great pub.”
Review of pig on the hill

pig on the hill
Ranked #5 of 31 Restaurants in Westward Ho
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$31
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: This beautiful family country pub set in an acre of land in the heart of North Devon countryside, offers a friendly meeting place to experience great food, fine wines, real ales and local ciders. Our two rosette kitchen wherever possible sources local produce for its fresh seasonal menu. Open daily from 11am, with food served lunch 12-2.30pm dinner 5.30-9pm Sunday lunch is from 12-4pm Our 4 star accommodation offer great facilities for families & couples alike
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We have been here a few times now. Each time the staff were polite, friendly and helpful. The food is delicious, if a little pricey(but worth it). Each time when the kids food turned up it was ready to eat, not scalding hot, which is a big plus, especially if the kids are hungry and impatient(no burnt tongues/roof of mouth). There is also a play area outside for the kids which is good however if it's raining make sure you have something for them to do inside. Otherwise I would highly recommend this place for locals and holidaymakers alike!

Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (905)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

677 - 681 of 906 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

We visited here last Sunday and knew it would be busy as Sunday dinner times often are.we like the place as it has a garden with things for kids to do. We asked if there was any chance of food and we're told yes that's fine, would we like to eat outside or in. It was abut drizzly so asked if inside and we're told ok but would have half an hour wait, which we were fine with. We asked for the menu and looked and they has roasts, risottos, something with butternut squash and salmon, but we had thought the menu would have been the same as before in the spring and we had set out heart on the burgers and fish and Chips. You could order burger and chips and fish and chips on the piglets menu, but not the adults!!!!!we asked if we could have an adult portion and we're told no! We could have it after 6pm but not between 12 and 4pm on a Sunday, how strange! When we asked why the gentleman said because the staff would need time to prepare it! How come if it was on the piglets. Anyway we decided to go elsewhere and as there was no sign of any compromise we have decided it's not somewhere we will visit again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank nicky w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Fantastic customer service, they managed to squeeze us into a very busy end of lunchtime, The food was great, my kids loved it, and they were very accommodating, then it stopped raining so we accidentally stayed all afternoon, kids really enjoyed the outside area with swings and slide, I loved the opportunity to catch up with friends, Excellent, I will be back very soon

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karlyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Turned up without booking and asked for a table for 4 adults, a high chair and room for the baby. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the menu varied and interesting.The food arrived promptly and was deliciously different.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I went to this restuarant in August 2013 with my children and had a lovely meal,we returned in August 2014 whilst on holiday we arrived at 6-30 to an empty restuarant only to be told that they could make us up a very small table and that we would have a 30 minute delay as there was a party of 20 booked in,the place was utterly empty,I felt that our party of 4 wasn't worth bothering about very poor customer service,we went to the thatched inn in Abbotsam which delivered on every level......poor show pig on the hill.

2  Thank upupandaway155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed pig on the hill also viewed

 

Been to pig on the hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing