We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westward Ho Beach

Westward Ho Beach
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

At the end of the day, a beach is a beach but i believe everything surrounding this beach makes it even better such as the amazing pebbleridge and the burrows!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    555
    210
    60
    24
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Road was closed, took us ages to find a way in, couldn't find the area for dogs, signs threaten you with all sorts of rules. Prefer Wales, it was not great.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
68 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Surfing and Rock Pools”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Good safe surfing with huge beach area. Just have to avoid the high tide because you end up on rocks and or the pebbles. Space for kites and kite surfing. If the waves are no good there's always the rock pools to explore. Just remember your wetsuit; the water is freezing in April.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank AmsterDaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Spoilt by awful apartments”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Who ever gave permission for all those awful imposing apartments to be built should be sacked. Any charm the place had is gone.
Won't be rushing back to Westward Ho!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What Have They Done”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Recently visited Westward Ho! after a gap of 12 years,my god what have they done to the place,the sea front is now just one mass of holiday rental apartments,there is no character or soul to the place any more and is completely out of place with the rest of the area.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank lambretta134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Westward Ho Beach also viewed

Bideford, Torridge
 

Been to Westward Ho Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing