We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not just for summer - awesome for hunkering down in winter”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westward Ho
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seahorse Apartments
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not just for summer - awesome for hunkering down in winter”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We wanted somewhere cozy to hunker down in, and get away from it all. With awesome sea views, luxurious interior, top notch fixtures & fittings, with enough delis & eateries close by that we could leave the car parked up and not have to drive. Not asking for much, were we.
Well, Seahorse Apartments ticked all those boxes, and more.
We stayed in the Penthouse apartment, which has exclusive access to the private roof terrace - thought we'd push the (metaphoric) boat out. But seeing as it was the stormiest weekend for a zillion years, unfortunately we didn't manage to make the most of the terrace. But when you've got floor to ceiling windows in the living room, and the same in the dining room (which open wide onto a large balcony) we didn't feel hard done by. At all.
Nice touches like hand made chocs on the pillows, fresh bag of ground coffee etc, made for a very welcome feel on arrival.
Given the horrendous weather, it was reassuring to be checked on each day just to make sure we were ok - felt a tad guilty to be in pj's still lounging around (weather & people watching) until early afternoon! But each time we asked ourselves 'anyone want to go anywhere / further afield'? Got a firm naaaaaaa- more than happy as we are.
We'll definitely come back again in fairer weather - got to make the most of that view, and the roof terrace (hot tub and all).
Spot on accommodation - pricey, but so worth it. Loving your work, Westward Living.

Room Tip: The 3 apartments can all be accessed by a lift - ideal if you like to take the kitchen sink with you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NikkiC-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy M, Guest Relations Manager at Seahorse Apartments, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
It was an absolute pleasure to welcome you to the Seahorse Apartments and thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us on Trip Advisor.
We certainly have experienced some amazing weather in the recent weeks and we are delighted to hear that you had a lovely stay cozied down in the apartment enjoying the great vantage point that you had of the weather as it unfolded.
We would be delighted to welcome you back for a short break in the near future, when the weather would permit that you are able to enjoy the roof garden and hot tub. We are very excited to be able to welcome you back again one day!
With best wishes
Claire Soffe and all the team at The Seahorse Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We have just return from a week at the Seahorse Apartments- We stayed in the 'lobster pot'. The location could not be better. Wonderfull sea views with resturants, cafes, mini supermarkets, bakers and butchers a few minutes away.

We had good weather for the time of year but we needed no excuse to stay in the apartment as the views from the full height windows were stunning. Every time you looked out of the window you had a different sea and cloud scape to look in awe at!

The interior of the apartment had the 'Wow 'factor with lovely interior design and quality furniture.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank goldfinches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joules_10, Guest Relations Manager at Seahorse Apartments, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful week with us in The Lobster Pot! Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review for us. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future!
WIth kind regards
Claire Soffe and all the team at The Seahorse Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We have just returned this Monday (23rd Sept) from a wonderful week in the Seahorse Penthouse.

It really is a fantastic space with breathtaking views. We had to force ourselves to go out and explore North Devon as both my husband and I found ourselves spending hours watching the waves from the balcony or the roof terrace.

Fantastic attention to detail, sparkling cleanliness and high specification furnishings as well as luxurious beds and bedding have made this a memorable week. Little touches like the handmade toiletries & really fluffy bath robes and of course the rooftop hot-tub all contributed to a really relaxing stay. The hospitality of the owners was second to none and there is no doubt that your comfort is their priority.

Westward Ho! as a town may not be the prettiest in places but it appears to be on the up and there are already a few great places to eat and some development work ongoing (see my reviews of Morans and The Pier House ). However, looking out over the wide sweeping bay from your high vantage point in the apartment you could be in the south of France on a nice day so the little areas that need tidying up in Westward Ho really melt into insignificance when you are sitting in that hot tub soaking up the view.

Apologies for gushing but I really couldn't find anything worth complaining about - it really was fab. Generally we don't like to return to the same place as there are so many places left to explore but we both said that on this occasion we would want to return ....and soon!

Room Tip: Penthouse all the way baby!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RozzieUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joules_10, Owner at Seahorse Apartments, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
It was really lovely to meet you and we are so delighted that you enjoyed the Penthouse and of course the amazing weather was a bonus! Thank you for your review on trip advisor, its really appreciated and we are very excited to be able to welcome you back again one day. Best wishes Chris and Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed in the Penthouse apartment for a week. The apartment is excellent with all the mod cons. Whirlpool bath, roof hot tub, gas barbecue, 3 large flat screen TV's, full Sky package, the problem is getting out and sampling the stunning 2 miles of surfing beach and the lovely cliff top coastal walks.
There is a very good fish and chip shop and Devon cream tea shop across the green. It was never too crowded. Everybody had a great time and returned home totally relaxed. The owners have really put in a lot of effort in getting things right and their attention to detail make this self catering accommodation as good as it gets.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joules_10, Owner at Seahorse Apartments, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you for your review, it was great to welcome you both to the Seahorse Penthouse and we are so pleased you had a lovely time in Westward Ho! Since your visit we have now made further improvements to the Penthouse which we hope you will come back and see one day! The weather has been lovely down here recently and our guests are loving enjoying the hot tub at night! Best wishes Kathy & Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

If you’re looking for self-catering accommodation of the highest calibre, you’ve found it! We stayed in the Penthouse Apartment for a week and it’s even better than it looks in the photos… everything is finished to a very high standard and is spotlessly clean.
The views are breath taking, and you can just leave the kids to watch TV whilst you watch the Atlantic Ocean do its thing…. or if you book the Penthouse, you can watch it whilst you’re sat in the Hot Tub!
The guys really have thought of everything with this place and I don’t say this lightly… I travel extensively for business and the standard of this place is better than many 5* hotels I’ve stayed in.
Westward Ho! Really is out in the middle of nowhere and there’s not much to do apart from go and laze around on the beach (which is brilliant if you just want to go somewhere to relax and chill out), but we did get a little bored after the 4th/5th day.
The few bars/restaurants in the local vicinity are pretty decent, the chippy across from the apartments is good (not brilliant – I’ve had worse and had better) but it’s rude not to have Fish & Chips by the Beach! (FYI: they don’t fry in beef dripping, so suitable vegetarians) There’s also a great little café opposite called Tea on the Green which does a tremendous cream tea with the biggest scones you’ve ever seen. The ice cream van which is usually parked across from the Apartments serves top notch ice cream made by Hockings, a local Devon firm and is really addictive!
The only two extremely minor gripes I have (and I’m being really, really picky here!) are that the bathroom doors don’t have locks/bolts on them … which can prove challenging if you want to have a shower with kids running round trying to open every door they see and the lift that goes up to the apartments is rather slow… but you can always keep fit by using the stairs!

Room Tip: If you’re looking for self-catering accommodation of the highest calibre, you’ve found it! We stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msa1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joules_10, Owner at Seahorse Apartments, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us in Seahorse Penthouse, it was a pleasure to host you and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

We are so pleased you discovered the Tea on the Green, its fab and one of our favourite vintage tea rooms in the area! We know there are some more super restaurants opening for next Summer in the village of Westward Ho! which will offer our guests more choice for a delicious sea side dining experience.

Thank you for pointing out the locks, this was a tricky decision for us to make during the construction, we decided not to put them on as the apartments are mainly booked by families or couples who know each other, with the bathrooms being en suite we were concerned that there could be a risk of younger guests "locking" themselves in! I think we could make a note of it on the website so guests are aware.

I agree that the lift is slower than most hotels, this is because its a platform lift which was designed to make the Seahorse Apartments more accessible for our guests with mobility concerns and wheelchairs. As the restaurant next door the Westward Arms also has a platform lift we made a concerted effort to play a part in making Westward Ho! a great holiday location for guests with limited mobility.

We really appreciate your feedback, and thank you so much for taking the time to give us some constructive ideas. We hope to welcome you back to Westward Ho! again one day!

Best wishes

Kathy & Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pangbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2013

If you want to indulge yourself you could do no better than a week or a short break in these wonderful apartments. They are fitted with the best quality furniture and fittings. We spent a week in the sea spray apartment and we are so pleased we found it on the web. We enjoyed the views over the spectacular beach which we walked on at low tide. It is a surfers paradise!!, there are some lovely walks nearby as well as pretty towns and villages to visit. The welcome we received was second to none and we felt that nothing was too much trouble for the owners. It is a holiday destination which would suit families as well as older people like us who wanted a restful time.
We will recommend these apartments to our friends and family and we will certainly revisit as soon as we can..

Room Tip: They are all excellent but if we revisit we will try to book the penthouse as the roof garden and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joules_10, Guest Relations Manager at Seahorse Apartments, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our brand new Seahorse Apartments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us in Westward Ho! and that you are planning to stay with us once again.
We very much look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Warmest regards
Claire
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Just returned from a four night break in the Penthouse apartment. It is just THE MOST wonderful place to stay. Absolute top notch apartment - the furnishings, the views, the fantastic hot tub and whirlpool bath. Loved the roof garden and the chill out room - those beanbags are sooooooooooo comfy. Had the most relaxing and wonderful time we have ever had. Loved the free chocolate and toiletries too! Great hosts and great location overlooking the sea. Could just watch the world go by for hours. Good choice of eateries right on your doorstep and literally a stones throw from the great expanse of beach. We loved watching the surfers! If you are looking for self catering at the top of the list - DO NOT HESITATE. Does what it says on the tin! Can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Both bedrooms are of an extremely high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joules_10, Guest Relations Manager at Seahorse Apartments, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Seahorse Penthouse Apartment. We are delighted that you had such a lovely break and enjoyed the complimentary locally made chocolates and bespoke toiletries.
We very much look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Kind regards
Claire, Kathy & Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westward Ho
1.2 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
1.6 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bideford Hotel
Premier Inn Bideford Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bideford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#8 of 11 in Bideford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hartland Quay Hotel
Hartland Quay Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bideford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westbeach Resort
Westbeach Resort
#5 of 9 in Westward Ho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seahorse Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seahorse Apartments

Property: Seahorse Apartments
Address: Latitude 51 Bath Hotel Road, Westward Ho, Bideford EX39 1GW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford > Westward Ho
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Westward Ho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Seahorse Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The prestigious Seahorse Apartments is based in the centre of the busy seaside resort of Westward Ho! North Devon. Set in the centre of the village, with access to a multitude of restaurants, cafes, shops, stunning coastal walks and, of course Westward Ho! Beach which is the only blue flag status beach in North Devon. The Seahorse Apartments have something to offer everyone, all year round. The breath taking, uninterrupted views over Westward Ho! Beach and the Atlantic ocean make Seahorse Apartments the perfect choice for holiday makers who love great coastal holiday locations. A very short walk to the beach, private secure parking and complimentary WIFI ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seahorse Apartments Westward Ho, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing