We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surf Bay Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Sandbach, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely holiday”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The caravan was lovely, clean and accommodated the 7 of us fine. Perfectly situated, just 5 minute walk into Westward Ho and 2 minute walk across to the beach. Lots of lovely places to drive out to, including Clovelly, Bude, Bideford and The Milkyway which the children loved! Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tanya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    54
    13
    2
    5
See reviews for
194
63
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I go to surfbay year after year and I'm never disappointed, it's a nice peaceful site to have a relaxing holiday and it's a 2 minute walk from the beach, it's also got arcades and restaurants down the road for me to take the kids to at night when they get bored!! Love love love this place!!! Can't wait to return in august for 2 weeks :-)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemazimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This was a week away so I could I could have major work done in my home, I also took my elderly cat Sophie. We both enjoyed our stay at Surf Bay, the caravan was well equipped and warm. it was February. We would book the same caravan again.

Room Tip: Due to English Weather take a Hot Water Bottle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Margaretsp255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We've been coming every year since 2001.

Friendly staff, good service, clean well equipped caravans, good parking, handy for beach and village.

Not many facilities (shop closed a few years back) but laundrette, very good visiting mobile chippy, simple but large play area in middle of main park.

Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cronxite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed at Surf bay in early August in 2012. The site is in a very good location - being just a short walk from the beach, shops, pubs and restaurants. The site is very well kept and the accommodation is too. The caravan we stayed in overlooked open fields - the site was very peaceful but there were goal posts on the site if the kids fancied a kick about!

The beach must be one of the best in the country. It's about 2 miles long so it never gets too overcrowded. There are beach cafe's and places to get ice creams from etc and a few amusements but the best thing about Westward Ho is that it's not too commercialised but there is still enough to do. If you go down to the beach at night make sure you take a camera - the sunsets can be spectacular.

Just round the corner from Westward Ho are Appledore and Bideford. Appledore is a small village at the end of the river Torridge (didn't the Jacksons buy a house there? - check it out on the web :-) ) Just down from there is Bideford - nice place to look around and do your shopping. Just over the river is Instow - another scenic sea side village (small and quaint) .

There are loads of pubs and restaurants in this locality (4 miles from Westward Ho). We tended to go to the 'Waterfront' for our meals in the evening which is in the centre of Westward ho - the food was good and good value. There is a fab fish and chip shop round the corner from there called the Golden Fry. Definitely going back to Surf Bay this year but will try and get a trip to the very scenic Clovelly this time - never managed it last time as the weather was attracting us to the beach a little too much.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew0805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We have been staying her for about 3 years. The caravans are always spotlessly clean and the staff are always happy to help you if needed.

Lots of local tourist attractions to see and visit even during the October half term. We will definitely be back again soon. The fish and chip shop in Westward Ho is very good and we usually have our first holiday meal from there!!

The site is right on the beach so easy to walk across to watch kite surfers etc.

Plenty of space for children to play too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank musicalmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crowborough
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Went to Surf Bay last year and absolutely loved it! We loved Westward Ho! and the caravan site was well situated for walking to the beach and shops etc. The caravan was clean and comfortable and I would definitely come back! The children loved it and I would highly recommend Surf Bay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westward Ho
0.8 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
369 reviews
5.2 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,746 reviews
1.0 mi away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#8 of 11 in Bideford
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Beachside Holiday Park
Beachside Holiday Park
#1 of 9 in Westward Ho
360 reviews
0.6 mi away
Westbeach Resort
Westbeach Resort
#5 of 9 in Westward Ho
94 reviews
5.9 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Bay Holiday Park

Property: Surf Bay Holiday Park
Address: Golf Links Road, Westward Ho, Bideford EX39 1HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford > Westward Ho
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Westward Ho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Surf Bay Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf Bay Holiday Park is well maintained and cared for and is located with it's own access to the sandy 'Golden Bay' beach of Westward Ho! With 600 acres of open countryside ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Surf Bay Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Bay Holiday Park Westward Ho, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing