We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great caravaning experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surf Bay Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Surf Bay Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Galashiels, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great caravaning experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed in the Kingfisher for 4 nights during the school Easter holidays, and had a great time. The caravan itself was very spacious, clean and filled with every home comfort. The site isn't too big and felt really safe. Our children along with others were playing outside a lot of the time. The closeness to the Pebble Ridge and the beach was brilliant, and because we had such good weather we were able to spend a lot of time in Westward Ho! without having to look for things to do elsewhere.
We will definitely use the Surf Bay site again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DebsMLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    52
    13
    2
    5
See reviews for
184
61
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sandbach, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

The caravan was lovely, clean and accommodated the 7 of us fine. Perfectly situated, just 5 minute walk into Westward Ho and 2 minute walk across to the beach. Lots of lovely places to drive out to, including Clovelly, Bude, Bideford and The Milkyway which the children loved! Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tanya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

I go to surfbay year after year and I'm never disappointed, it's a nice peaceful site to have a relaxing holiday and it's a 2 minute walk from the beach, it's also got arcades and restaurants down the road for me to take the kids to at night when they get bored!! Love love love this place!!! Can't wait to return in august for 2 weeks :-)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemazimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

This was a week away so I could I could have major work done in my home, I also took my elderly cat Sophie. We both enjoyed our stay at Surf Bay, the caravan was well equipped and warm. it was February. We would book the same caravan again.

Room Tip: Due to English Weather take a Hot Water Bottle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Margaretsp255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We've been coming every year since 2001.

Friendly staff, good service, clean well equipped caravans, good parking, handy for beach and village.

Not many facilities (shop closed a few years back) but laundrette, very good visiting mobile chippy, simple but large play area in middle of main park.

Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cronxite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed at Surf bay in early August in 2012. The site is in a very good location - being just a short walk from the beach, shops, pubs and restaurants. The site is very well kept and the accommodation is too. The caravan we stayed in overlooked open fields - the site was very peaceful but there were goal posts on the site if the kids fancied a kick about!

The beach must be one of the best in the country. It's about 2 miles long so it never gets too overcrowded. There are beach cafe's and places to get ice creams from etc and a few amusements but the best thing about Westward Ho is that it's not too commercialised but there is still enough to do. If you go down to the beach at night make sure you take a camera - the sunsets can be spectacular.

Just round the corner from Westward Ho are Appledore and Bideford. Appledore is a small village at the end of the river Torridge (didn't the Jacksons buy a house there? - check it out on the web :-) ) Just down from there is Bideford - nice place to look around and do your shopping. Just over the river is Instow - another scenic sea side village (small and quaint) .

There are loads of pubs and restaurants in this locality (4 miles from Westward Ho). We tended to go to the 'Waterfront' for our meals in the evening which is in the centre of Westward ho - the food was good and good value. There is a fab fish and chip shop round the corner from there called the Golden Fry. Definitely going back to Surf Bay this year but will try and get a trip to the very scenic Clovelly this time - never managed it last time as the weather was attracting us to the beach a little too much.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew0805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

We have been staying her for about 3 years. The caravans are always spotlessly clean and the staff are always happy to help you if needed.

Lots of local tourist attractions to see and visit even during the October half term. We will definitely be back again soon. The fish and chip shop in Westward Ho is very good and we usually have our first holiday meal from there!!

The site is right on the beach so easy to walk across to watch kite surfers etc.

Plenty of space for children to play too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank musicalmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westward Ho
5.6 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 12 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
9.4 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Beachside Holiday Park
Beachside Holiday Park
#1 of 9 in Westward Ho
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.6 mi away
Westbeach Resort
Westbeach Resort
#5 of 9 in Westward Ho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Seagate Hotel
The Seagate Hotel
#1 of 5 in Appledore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Bay Holiday Park

Property: Surf Bay Holiday Park
Address: Golf Links Road, Westward Ho, Bideford EX39 1HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford > Westward Ho
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Westward Ho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Surf Bay Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf Bay Holiday Park is well maintained and cared for and is located with it's own access to the sandy 'Golden Bay' beach of Westward Ho! With 600 acres of open countryside ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Surf Bay Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Bay Holiday Park Westward Ho, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing