We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“After a rocky start in chalet 96 we were moved...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
3 reviews
Private access to the blue flag beach through a row of traditional multi-coloured beach huts
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Westward Ho, Bideford, Torridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LondonJea...
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“After a rocky start in chalet 96 we were moved and had a lovely holiday”
Reviewed 31 December 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Comfortable chalet but there was not any chest of drawers in the twin rooms to store underwear and jumpers. All okay until bedtime when it was discovered that one of the twin bedrooms had bedbugs which meant we had two very traumatised teenagers to deal with. The phones are only manned during office hours and there is no emergency number to ring. Once reported to reception when it opened in the morning we were very satisfied with their response to the problem. They were horrified and went out of their way to sort it out. All their chalets were let so we were offered a refund which we didnt want as we were attending a wedding so asked if they could find us somewhere else to stay.. They rang round all the private owners on site and found us two smaller chalets to stay in at no extra cost.. These chalets were lovely. These things can happen in the best of places and we enjoyed the rest of our stay. We have already booked to go back again in 2015.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very sorry that the issue arose but also glad that you were so happy with our response and help offered. Please be rest assured that all necessary action has been taken and the problem resolved. We do look forward to seeing you again later in the year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily S
West Horsley
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything we needed to make a great family holiday”
Reviewed 2 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We were recommended Golden Bay chalets by a family friend and it did not disappoint. We have young children and took them away for the last week of August. Chalet 96 suited our needs with the three bedrooms and modern kitchen and bathroom. There was a well stocked kitchen with utensils, dishes and pans so we could eat in and with the dining table we didn't need to adapt too much. Each room had good wardrobe space and the children slept really well (i'm sure the fresh sea air helped :-))

The location of the site was good as it was right by the sea and the rock pools which the children loved. There was also a climbing frame on the site and the children enjoyed playing with the other families there.

Overall we had a really lovely stay, we felt at home in the chalet and we are definitely going to book again for next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space in the chalet, modern and well kitted out kitchen
Liked least: Sometimes the wifi didn't work but i think that was an issue with our laptop
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2014
Thank you for your review and we are glad you weren't disappointed. Hope to see you again soon. Thank you. Golden Bay staff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L
1 review
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 2 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Simple, great value for money and stunning location! Westward Ho! is a gorgeous area Devon, and Golden Bay holiday village is the perfect base to explore. It's a stone's throw away from the most magnificent beach and a short stroll away from the centre of town. I had a wonderful stay in a simple, clean and spacious apartment. I'd highly recommend it to anyone after a few days of r&r!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location is beautiful!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write. We hope to see you again soon. Regards Golden bay Holiday Village
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;