We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Westward Ho!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Westward Ho, Bideford, Torridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pauline90
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful Westward Ho!”
Reviewed 8 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second visit to this apartment having stayed last summer. I agree with other reviewers when they say it could be cleaned more thoroughly. Nothing major but the kitchen cabinet handles feel dirty to the touch and there aren’t any tea towels, dish cloths or hand soap left for you. The location of the apartment is great. Right on the coastline and 5 mins walk from the beach, restaurants and shops in Westward Ho! There is still construction going on at the back of the flats (seems like it’s been going a long time!) and lots of noise on Sat nights from the beach bar diner. The bedrooms in this apartment are at the rear so you get the worst of the noise but it seems to only be on a Sat night until 11.30pm. All in all a great apartment but a little more thorough cleaning please!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2018
Thank you very much for taking the time to submit your review!
We are very appreciative as it can give us a great user perspective on the property and the overall experience when booking through Choice Cottages.
We take all suggestions, comments, praise and indeed complaints very seriously as we look to improve your and others future holiday experiences.
We look forward to hearing from you again soon and only hope to improve each time.
Kind regards
Choice Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki H
1 review
“Simply beautiful!”
Reviewed 6 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

What an amazing place.

The apartment was so much better than anywhere we've stayed before.

Spacious, clean and tidy and with a view to die for.

Overlooking the beach, it was amazing to sit on the balcony with a glass of wine, watching the tide come in.

Can't wait to visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsmaan4u8
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good views- Few things can be improved”
Reviewed 9 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
7
people found this review helpful

Good points first. Very good view from the living room. Lot of stuff you need on beach e.g. kites, fishing nets. Lot of good movies. Nice kitchen and bedrooms. very nice bath and shower.
Here is what went wrong. We arrive at around 6pm and felt that it was bit cold in there. So thought of switching the heat on. Switched on the heat and go into the bed. Bed was very nice and comfortable. But throughout the night kept feeling cold. At night I checked if heat is working and crap heat was not working.Next day called the property manager and after lot of talking to him and tempering with boiler valves got the heat going. There was problem in boiler pressure. Next day manger sent someone to check and fix it. Point is all of this should have been checked before some one comes in to stay.
Next day all of sudden smoke alarm started beeping. It was so annoying that my little daughter could not sleep at all. Called the property manager again and he sent someone to check it. The guy said it was beeping coz of weak batteries. He just removed all the alarms and we were able to sleep at night. Interestingly no one came back to put back removed alarms for rest of our stay which to me seems like a hazard.
On the sofas in living room there were dog hairs and dog smell. We did not sit on it at all.
Wifi speed is so slow that you can't watch any video online. It is just for checking email. As bedrooms are upstairs there is no wifi range in the bedrooms.
The way TV is setup is not good. It is facing living room door to balcony due to which you cannot watch it in daylight. There is so much glare on the screen.
On 3rd day something new happened. At night I started hearing some weird noise from bathroom. It was as if tap is dipping. Went in side the bathroom and checked all the taps and all were shut properly. When I paid bit more attention I noticed that noise was coming from ceiling. After 10-15 minutes it stopped. After in hour or so it started again. It seems like there was something in the ceiling or something else going on in the property above. Thought of calling the property manager but did not do so as I was fed up complaining or reporting problems and there was not set time when this happened. This noise kept starting and stoping randomly so was not sure if someone come to fix it it will happen at that time. This irritating noise kept going throughout rest of our holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views
Liked least: had to sort out lot problems during my stay which could have been sorted before our arrival.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare G
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Views of the Sea”
Reviewed 14 November 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was our 3rd visit to Westward Ho! and the 3rd Horizon View apartment we have been in. We do like the split level appointments and we liked the lay out of this one, having living areas downstairs and bedrooms upstairs. A bonus having an extra toilet downstairs as well as a family bathroom and an ensuite upstairs. Very spacious bedrooms, unfortunately not lots of hangers or storage space due to so many items already being in the wardrobes. But lovely bright, modern and clean rooms.
Downstairs the living area was spacious and well laid out. Wonderful views of the sea. Lots of mod cons and equipment. The kitchen was well equipped with room for all of our food.
I was a bit disappointed by how clean the ground floor appeared on our arrival. The kitchen cupboard door ankles felt tacky to touch. The patio doors were very badly marked with hand prints inside and out. There was also a string smell of something unpleasant as you walked through the door - not sure what, we tried investigating - and the smell stayed for the week, mainly noticeable when you first walked in.
Having stayed in several similar apartments, we've always been treated on arrival by a gift of a cream tea, a box of chocolates or a bottle of wine - sadly this was missing at number 17, not essential I know, but we have always found it a nice touch.
The location is perfect, we visited the restaurants, the chippy, the beach etc all without getting in our car. I managed some early morning runs across the beach, although checking when the tide is coming in is essential - it comes in quickly and fully!
I would recommend and I would return, but would want the cleaning to be a little more thorough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing views!
Liked least: Cleanliness downstairs and odd smell.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malc D
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great views and all mod cons included”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Very nice spacious modern apartment . Smelt of cigarettes in the entrance lobby .Noticable when we had returned on our days out. Good all round comfort. Large main bedroom but unfortunately no dressing table or place for my wife sit and to do her makeup , and hair etc.
Very quiet and peaceful accomodation and would certainly recommend . Would have given an excellent review with the above points taken care of

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastic views
Liked least: Lack of womenly arrangements.and smell in lobby area.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzieflo...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous Property, Beautifully Presented, Central Location, Great Views”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Had a fabulous stay at this apartment, spent a week there. Great location central to the village of Westward Ho. Very modern and well presented. The owners put their own special touches in the apartment that made it feel very Homely. We cant wait to stay again. We are planning on a trip later this year

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
694keith
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very nice property in beautiful location, beach a stone throw away”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This was just right for us,quiet with good views of the sea,plenty of nice places to eat and lots to do within a short distance from property which was excellent

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing