We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Westward Ho, Bideford, Torridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Dilly B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning ”
Reviewed 16 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Such a beautiful holiday cottage with stunning views of the North Devon coastline. You have made Old Salty a very welcoming and fully equipped home from home.
We have truly enjoyed our stay and in the words of our 3 year old 'I don't want to leave!'

Date of stay: May 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
941mariav
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic relaxed break”
Reviewed 2 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is lovely homely and warm. Close to aminities but be prepared for a hilly walk otherwise only 2 minute drive and easy to park. Everything you need at the cottage with the most stunning views. Lovely cosy beds and plenty provided. Cant wait to go again! Highly recommended!

Date of stay: May 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gail_deve...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable, prettily decorated with outstanding views.”
Reviewed 17 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage has been decorated and furnished with care. It feels more like a lovely home than a holiday rental. On arrival you will find it spotlessly clean, with some some thoughtful welcoming touches. The kitchen has just about everything you could need to make self catering simple. The bedrooms are pretty with very comfortable beds and the master bedroom has incredible views over the bay, which we we enjoyed with a cup of tea each morning. Two bathrooms, one with shower and one with a bath was very useful in order to get us all out of the house in the mornings! There is a comfortable living room, equipped with TV and Wii which kept the more youngsters active and amused the rest of us, again the dramatic view of the bay and town can be enjoyed from inside and has doors which open onto a decking to enjoy a BBQ if the weather allows. We were lucky enough to be able to sit outside in late March sunshine and enjoy a bottle of wine.
The town of Westwood Ho! Has plenty to offer for all age groups and kept our 2 young teenagers amused, whilst we enjoyed sampling the different restaurants, bars and cafes. There are lovely walks directly from the doorstep to neighbouring Appledore and more challenging to Clovelly! All in all a perfect choice of holiday home and one which we will definitely be returning too.

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort of the cottage and the views.
Liked least: Nothing at all!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C1423QPsu...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous views and lovely cottage.”
Reviewed 16 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My husband and I have just come back from Westward Ho where we stayed for a week with my daughter, her husband, and baby in Old Salty's Cottage. The cottage was lovely, oldy worldly, comfortable and clean. The views from the cottage were amazing. It was a short walk down some steep hills to the sea front, and a bit of a struggle back with a pushchair, but we all feel fitter for walking it, especially as we ate a lot and wanted to wear off the calories! It's easy enough to drive down though if anyone finds it tough. I would certainly go there again.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fantastic views
Liked least: Shower wasn't thermostatically controlled
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmajalle...
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful Homely cottage with amazing views”
Reviewed 9 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The cottage is beautifully presented and is very well equipped we were suprised at the amount that was provided especially in the kitchen. Also the extras such as the toy chest, books, games and dvds were a nice surpise and kept our son entertained. The beds are very comfortable we all slept very well and there is plenty of storage in each of the bedrooms too. The cottage has easy access to the beach and a few nice places to eat (pig on the hill is a must and only a 15 minute walk) The view from the bedroom and lounge is fantastic (even in March!) cant wait to go again

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the comfy beds
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fab cottage and location”
Reviewed 10 December 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a lovely 5 day stay in old salty cottage . A great cottage with heaps of character and charm. It had only just been taken over by new owners and I'm sure they aim to make it even more homely than it already is. Our 8 year old girls loved it in the garden and on decking. Would love to go back in summer when weather is good . We still enjoyed sitting on decking with a glass of wine and a blanket!
West ward Ho is a great seaside resort . Girls loved arcade . Great walks along seafront and loads of fab places to eat . Also had some great meals in ,sat around big table in kitchen .
Can't wait to go back next year .

Date of stay: October 2015
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Greater Hobart, Australia
1 review
“cosy holiday base”
Reviewed 5 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Just what was needed for us. Although the cottage isn't big we found it was spacious enough to do our own thing for a relaxing break away holiday, while being able to come around the dinning room table together to chat, eat, play games or do some artwork. The walk to the beach led you through the quaint village. For this time of the year walking along the beach front was wild and woolly, just perfect for blowing the cobwebs away. Darlington Glass and Clovelly were a close drive away along with other interesting places. As Australians on holiday, Old Saltys provided a great base for exploring North Devon.

Date of stay: November 2015
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.