We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful well equipped cottage”

Review of Blanches Cottage

Blanches Cottage is the original character cottage.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Blanches Cottage is the original character cottage.
You can walk to the spectacular National Trust coast down an exquisite, almost private valley. Blanches Cottage master bedroom with sea view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Blanches Cottage is the original character cottage.
You can walk to the spectacular National Trust coast down an exquisite, almost private valley.
Blanches Cottage master bedroom with sea view
The spacious beamed sitting room with garden and sea views.
View from sitting room
Dining area with piano
The gardens and lawns overlook the valley and sea beyond.
The stunning Lansallos Cove is a short walk away.
For drama, nearby Lantic Bay is worth the strenous walk back up.
The vibrant town of Fowey is just over the Bodinnick ferry.
The old fishing village of Polperro is two miles away.
Lantivet Bay has a sandy beach at low tide.
There are wide lawns to play on.
There are 2.5 acres of gardens with lots of secret areas to explore.
Twin bedroom
Kitchen
Ground floor twin room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Lansallos, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
becx82
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Beautiful well equipped cottage”
Reviewed 23 June 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed in the house for my parents 60th birthday! The house was beautiful very clean and well equipped from cooking accessories to children toys and family games!
We have 3 children and they absolutely loved the trampoline, tree house and tree swing!
You are able to access the fields behind the house very over a wooden step at the bottom of the garden where my son loved flying his kite!
We would not hesitate to visit again

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2017
Thanks so much for your kind review which I've only just seen. Since your stay last summer we have added a big (adult sized) slide near the tree house and we've put in more steps and a proper style to make access to the valley and the beaches below easier.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed 13 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and proximity to the beach and Fawey.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Aug 2012
Many thanks for your kind review. We're glad you had a good time and that the hot water was fixed without delay - we're lucky to have a good team on hand for emergencies. The summer school holidays are our most popular weeks. Out of season Cornwall is just as lovely and very good value for money. We offer couples-only rates that start from £450 a week with extra guests charged a flat £50 each.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bristol
Reviewed 20 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Apr 2012
Thanks very much for your review. We're really glad you had a good time and we'd be delighted to welcome you and the dogs back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
unisport...
Guildford Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Blanches Meadow is set in a beautiful & tranquil setting, stunning walking on the door step!”
Reviewed 30 January 2012 for a stay in January 2012

Blanches Meadow is a real gem! Hidden away in the rolling country side, with beautiful views of the sea from almost every window, it is incredibly tranquil and quiet. A perfect escape from the hum-drum of every day life...

The cottage was very disceptive. It felt airy and spacious, but at the same time cosy. It was remarkably warm for such an old building, and a real bonus to use the open fire, with logs and coal at the ready. The bed in the double bedroom was brand new, and really comfortable! The cottage was very equipped, with ipod dock and even a piano to tinkle on!
The garden has an abundance of wildlife, which take full advantage of the bird feeders.

There is a private walk down to join the coastal path, which took us through a field of dartmoor ponies and cows, which only takes about 15 minutes walk. The coastal path is simply stunning, with plenty of benches for a short break, or find a spot to have a pic-nic on one of the unspoilt beaches. Fowey is gorgeous, we took a trip on the 'ferry' across which cost £1.50 single. We were terribly out of season, and only a handful of restaurants were open, Tea shops close on a Monday!! The local Butchers/Deli in Fowey sold fantastic local produce. I can recommend their cornish pasties!!

We will most certainly return, hopefully sometime soon!

I would highly recommend this for a relaxing holiday/short stay. You would need to drive to dine out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet!
Liked least: We went out of season, there was little open in Polperro/Fowey.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2012
Many thanks for your kind review. Our favourite local restaurants (open all year) are "Trewithen" and the Duchy Nursery cafe in Lostwithiel, the Fowey Hall Hotel and "Food For Thought" in Fowey, and the Talland Bay Hotel.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2012 for a stay in October 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort of the houses and rural setting
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Feb 2012
Many thanks for the review. It gives us great satisfaction to know you like being at Blanches so much! Incidentally, if you scramble down the path beyond the bench at the bottom of the valley you'll find yourselves in an area of freshwater rock pools with a waterfall where the Blanches streams meet the sea. A special place that few people know about...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing