We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary place well off the beaten path”
Review of Palazzo Margherita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palazzo Margherita
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Bernalda
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Extraordinary place well off the beaten path”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

One of the most unusual hotel experiences you can have but certainly not in a town you would think of visiting otherwise. We stayed in a garden room which was really lovely, but almost 1000 euros cheaper than some of the rooms in the palazzo. Once inside the gates you are transported to a haven of tranquility with food and service to match. If one were interested in visiting matera as we were, this would be a top choice for true five star comfort, but I can't say I would make a special trip to visit otherwise. Two nights was perfect, more than that would be a stretch.

Room Tip: All magnificent, no real views anywhere, so we opted for least expensive accommodations at 600 plus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Seasonedpro23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    3
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
9
36
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This is simply one of the most beautiful hotels we have stayed in and we have stayed at the Splendido, Cipriani, Borgo Santo Pietro...... The service, the food, the rooms are all perfection. Nothing is too much trouble and our pleasure appeared to be their pleasure. Whether lazing by the pool, having a cookery lesson in the kitchen or watching an Italian movie in the lounge/cinema room - it was all just wonderful. The gardens are just fabulous and it was like staying as a treasured guest in a private Italian villa. We cannot wait to go back

Room Tip: Room 3 is situated off the courtyard so not sure whether that might be a little noisy if people were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 761Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

My wife and I spent our honeymoon vacation at Palazzo Margherita in Bernalda and did not regret it one bit. The main reason for choosing Palazzo Margherita was because we wanted to be in a central location in the South of Italy that is near the beach and a close drive to the many historic sites. Other reasons for choosing Palazzo Margherita was the free cooking lessons for my wife who loved every minute of being in their kitchen and to get some ideas for my similar property, Villa Elita, in Dubrovnik, Croatia. Being in the hospitality business for a decade now, I can tell that every detail was looked after meticulously from the painted wall decor to the paper they use for the note pads. Our favourite parts were the breakfast, the high ceilings in the room, the spacious shower and bathroom and the garden leading to the pool. The best part is the wonderful staff who genuinely cared for our well-being and went out of their way to make certain that we had a fabulous honeymoon vacation. One last thing, try out the shower by the swimming pool. It's great and I'm still looking online to buy the same shower to install for my property. We'll definitely come back for a visit in the future!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DubrovnikDalmatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

First of all Bernalda isn't a very attractive city to vist. But going there by car you can acess many intresting places like: Matera. Puglia is know from good food and for sure you can find it in the hotel restaurant. Free cooking lessons helps you to take all the memories home and re-make them with your friends. The rooms, food are overpriced. But somehow we don't regret our visit. Go if you can afford it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ravau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

This is one of the most beautiful places you will ever go in your life. The palazzo is an experience without peer. The rooms are magnificent. The food is an italian fantasy. The area is incredible. The beach is 15 minutes away, Matera is a must see. Puglia is close. The drive from Napoli or Amalfi is lovely.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeffnwoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crozet, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

A word of caution, once you get there, you will not want to leave. The nondescript building exterior hides a jewel within...beautiful rooms, a glorious garden, and service that is spot-on. From the moment we entered the grounds, we were welcomed by friendly staff and treated with care and kindness. The kitchen is open for viewing and we were able to have an impromptu cooking class, making and shaping pasta, and then dining at the family table. In all, a lovely, wonderful experience.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We could not imagine a more incredible way to start our trip to Italy. We stayed here for four nights and are sad to be leaving. The property is beautiful with immaculate rooms, gardens and dining spaces. The staff treats every guest with hospitality we have never experienced before. A few highlights...we were upgraded to a beautiful room on the 2nd floor of the Palazzo, there are romantic indoor and outdoor dining spaces all over the property, a pristine pool where waiters come out to offer you drinks, watching the Godfather in the salon on a mammoth projection screen, exquisite regional cuisine with ingredients sourced locally (if not from the garden), menus that change daily, soothing toiletries in ample quantities, cooking pasta with Filomena and Tomaso (two of the chefs). The Palazzo Margherita offers visitors the opportunity to explore a region of Italy that has not been completely overrun with tourists. We feel very fortunate to have had this amazing experience

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rhobeta11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bernalda
5.1 mi away
Torre Fiore Hotel Masseria
8.1 mi away
Magna Grecia Hotel Village
18.4 mi away
Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Forliano
Hotel Forliano
#8 of 11 in Bernalda
29 reviews
14.4 mi away
Greenblu Marinagri Hotel & SPA
18.3 mi away
Palazzo Gattini Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Margherita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Margherita

Property: Palazzo Margherita
Address: Corso Umberto Primo 64, 75012, Bernalda, Italy
Region: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Matera > Bernalda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Bernalda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Margherita 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Margherita for me is a dream come true. Its magical gardens, the family gathering in the magnificent salon for whatever purpose; celebretions, intimate teas or evenings of films. It is a painted palace, with frescos on its ceilings and walls, palatial rooms with countless details, modern in terms of its systems, music and cinema available like hot and cold running water; yet the patina of its epoch is preserved, and when the children are there, delight is everywhere.Francis Ford Coppola ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Palazzo Margherita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing