We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gurnard
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Little Gloster Rooms
Ranked #1 of 2 Gurnard B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Just returned from a weekend at the Little Gloster. This was our second visit and was every bit as good as we had remembered. We stayed in the Balcony Room and even the wet and windy weather didn't spoil our views of the Solent. We ate in the restaurant both evenings and if anything the food was even better than before. My risotto with sauce osso buco was outstanding.

Breakfasts are better than anywhere else we have stayed with a selection of eggs Benedict, smoked salmon and mushrooms on toast as well as the usual full English. Delicious coffe too.

The owners and staff are so friendly and professional and it is this, more than anything else which sets the Little Gloster apart from other places.

Room Tip: Balcony room worth paying for. Superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank uktravellerspo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2013

From the first moment we arrived we knew we were in for a treat, there was warm and friendly welcome and the room was stylish, clean and had nice touches like the binoculars. We had booked the balcony room which has a fantastic view over the Solent.

After we had settled in we went to the restaurant for dinner, the staff were very friendly and accommodating to our one year old. The venison I had was cooked to perfection and was the best venison I have ever tasted (and I've eaten quite a few!). The breakfast the next day was amazing too, try the smoothies and the full english plus the eggs benedict.

I will definitely be going back and recommending the Little Gloster to my friends

Room Tip: The balcony room has the best view - over the solent to the mainland
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonnie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Took my fiancé for a valentine surprise,she loved it rooms are great,lovely simple style,we had the balcony suite with great view,calm and quiet,food was amazing,great presentation,staff really helpful and polite and owned and run by a young couple,all in all a amazing experience worth every penny,defiantly recommend to everyone

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jimmyk100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

The Little Gloster is a restaurant with rooms run by a young and enthusiastic team of absolutely charming people. Gurnard is near to Cowes and the coastal path from Little Gloster into Cowes centre is about half an hour's walk right by the water.

There is a strong Scandinavian influence both in the furnishings and the food. The restaurant serves delicious breakfasts, lunches and dinner from a lovely dining room with a view over the water. The food is reasonably priced as are the drinks.

The best room is the balcony room, for obvious reasons, looking out onto the Solent towards Southampton, so as well as the sailing club and small boats there is the added attraction of seeing the big ocean going liners. The room has a sofa bed as well as a big cosy double bed from which one also gets the sea view! Sitting on the balcony in the sunshine with a gin and tonic is my idea of heaven! There is very little need to leave this lovely room except to go and eat! The bathrooms are good and so are the products, but best of all is the very powerful shower!

The housekeeping is excellent and the whole atmosphere at Little Gloster is relaxed but very efficient. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Choose the Balcony Room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suseyq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We had an excellent birthday lunch here. The food is of a really high quality and the view is pretty special too! The service was very good. We hope to return and stay here in the future as the rooms look lovely. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Belafonte1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

booked this as a surprise for my husband after seeing it on 'four in a bed'. loved it from the minute we arrived and throughout our short stay. lovely, comfortable bed. gorgeous view and a great big balcony to look out over the solent. the room was well equipped although the bathroom was quite small. amazing choices for breakfast-both healthy and hearty! cannot wait to come again and have recommended it to everybody we know.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 26smiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We saw this establishment on the T.V. show Four in a Bed. Why it didn't win I'll never know.
It is situated in an idyllic spot and our room "The Balcony Suite" had a large balcony overlooking the western solent area. It was kitted out with everything even down to a pair of binoculars to survey the area.The hearty breakfast is very varied and excellent as was the evening dinner.
Holly and Ben and their staff go the extra mile to ensure a memorable stay for their guests. We will definately stay here again on our next I.O.W. hotel visit

Room Tip: The Blcony Suite gives the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RetiredBurnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Little Gloster Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Little Gloster Rooms

Address: 31 Marsh Road, Gurnard PO31 8JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Gurnard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Gurnard
Price Range: £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Little Gloster Rooms incorporate three stunning rooms - with a breakfast included which is worth booking for in itself. The rooms are decorated with Scandinavian style and both have paramount views across the Solent, two of which encompass large balconies. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Little Gloster Hotel Gurnard
The Little Gloster Bed And Breakfast
The Little Gloster Rooms Isle Of Wight/Gurnard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing