We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Little Gloster Rooms
Nearby Hotels
Pebble Lodges(Gurnard)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Travelodge Newport Isle of Wight(Newport)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveller rating
116
14
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
116
14
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbalcony suitefresh milkvisiting isle of wightanniversary treatrestaurant with roomsa wonderful place to staystayed for nightslovely roombreakfast was deliciousquiet locationevening mealtea and coffeecovered balconyhollybinocularsislandaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 134 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We booked this place on recommendations from this website and it didn't let us down. Ben and Holly were really welcoming and our room (Bay View Room) was really lovely, clean and comfy. We enjoyed a delicious lunch, the seafood platter, which was fantastic and then retreated to our room to snooze until dinner time, where we enjoyed melt in the mouth steak and fantastic cocktails. After a good nights sleep, we enjoyed a big breakfast and lovely sea views. All the staff were really friendly and made us feel right at home. We thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay and were able to relax and unwind in a short space of time. Come here! Its great!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful little place. As an anniversary treat I booked the Balcony Suite as the pictures looked so fabulous and we weren't disappointed. We had huge floor to ceiling windows with doors leading out on to the full width balcony with the sea right at the end of the garden just a few feet away. Lovely windows on the other side of the room with far reaching views so sitting up in bed you could watch the boats bobbing on the water while sipping your coffee made in the room's coffee pod machine-stunning. If you wanted a closer view, the owners thoughtfully left a pair of binoculars in the room. A pretty seat on the balcony with a blanket in a drawer meant that you could snuggle up outside and still be warm if the weather was chilly. The owners have thought of everything. The restaurant staff and owners themselves are charming and the food in the restaurant was excellent and beautifully created and presented. Can't wait to go back! Go for the balcony suite if you can it's such a joy to see the sea right outside your window.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Fairestview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Called in for a coffee during a tour of the island, ended up staying for an excellent lunch. The crab and crayfish cakes were superb, as was the fresh fish of the day - Brighton Plaice . All the staff were charming and efficient. Lovely light dining room with views across the water. We tried to get a reservation for Saturday night, but they were unsurprisingly, fully booked.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank saynotopotatoskins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We booked the Balcony Suite after seeing the Little Gloster on Four in a Bed. The styling is gorgeous, with so many sweet nautical touches throughout the room and the balcony (in contrast, the en suite is surprisingly plain, but does have a lovely powerful shower).

There had been a couple of cleaning oversights - eg a half-used bar of soap on the shelf in the shower and an open vanity kit in a drawer which hadn't been taken away - but the things that really mattered, eg the bed and the toilet, were spotless.

The bed was huge and very comfortable. I wasn't a fan of the pillows as they're the type that sink to nothing beneath your head, but that's just a personal preference.

The staff were absolutely lovely but I felt some of them could do with a bit more training - it almost felt a bit awkward when we walked into the restaurant (there's no separate reception for the B&B) - like we had to lead the conversation and know what to say and do! It's hard to explain but it sometimes felt a bit stilted (but not with all staff). Having said that, we stayed at the tail end of Cowes week so some of them might have been temporary summer staff.

The garden area is truly lovely, backing straight onto the Solent, with croquet, vegetable patches, deck chairs, bean bags and even blankets to protect you from the sea breeze.

Our dinner in the restaurant was absolutely fabulous and I can highly recommend the chilli and passionfruit martini! There's a good choice at breakfast with eggs benedict, fresh juices etc as well as the usual full English and builder's brew fare.

All in all, I would highly recommend a stay at the Little Gloster - it really is gorgeous and small enough that everything feels personal and special. They totally should have won Four in a Bed.

Room Tip: The Balcony Suite is spacious, beautifully styled and has a lovely big balcony overlooking the sea
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FoodieJourno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

My husband and I visited earlier this month for a 4 night break, we received a very warm welcome on Sunday when we arrived and managed to get a lovely seafood lunch, we were shown to our room - the balcony suite, what a lovely room with fab views over the solent. We enjoyed our evenings on the balcony watching the sun go down. All the team were so friendly and we felt like we were home, we ate there tues and weds nights and had great meals and lovely wines to accompany our food. Didn't want to leave, felt so relaxed. Great job keep it up!

Room Tip: Balcony suite is superb
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank molliebenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews