We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gurnard
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Little Gloster Rooms
Ranked #1 of 2 Gurnard B&B and Inns
Herts
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for just one night - but found the b&b to be delightfully charming. Ben and holly have furnished the rooms superbly with a real seaside charm - chic and stylish. Food in the restaurant was superb. Fresh, beautifully presented and lovely ambience in the restaurant. Would highly recommend and will definitely return when next visiting the Isle of Wight.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Otty5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    11
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
75
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My son and I have just spent 2 nights here and had such a special time!
The people are lovely, food is superb and the views amazing. If you want to spend time ambling along the shore line, and relaxing amongst the most beautiful scenery, then look no further. We have arrived home chilled out to the max, we'll be back Ben and Holly!

Kate and Oscar x

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katebrady12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Die, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We had one night in the Balcony Room, and had only one problem: one night wasn't nearly enough! Everything about our stay was excellent, right from the outset. I'd previously tried to book at a different B&B (which shall remain nameless), and found the owner to be frankly rude. The contrast with a delightfully helpful and cheerful Holly could not have been greater. The reception we received on arrival was friendly and welcoming, and we were extremely impressed with the room, which is tastefully appointed. The bed is one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in. No bath, but the good power shower makes up for it. And of course, there is the balcony itself with stunning views over the Solent. We dined in the restaurant, and although the prices are relatively high, we both felt this was justified by the quality of the cuisine. We both opted for the fish specials (a no-brainer, given this is the Isle of Wight after all) and they did not disappoint. Nor did the desserts, with a tarte tatin that has to be tasted to be believed. The service was faultless, too.
This is a B&B with a healthy dash of class, but without a hint of pretension or stuffiness. Everything about it feels fresh, young and relaxed. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed at the hotel bay view room . Evening meal excellent. But myself and my husband felt that breakfast did nt live up to expectations of eve meal . Felt that breakfast was let down . Streaky bacon ? no fresh fruit no yoghurt no cereal no jams . Don't know if u could have had few things of breakfast menu nothing was explained . Yes holly and Ben are welcoming but I wanted the whole package. Plus you had to have windows opened hot night so you could hear all staff going home up until about 12 ish. And some kind of fan noise going on at night so if your like me and a light sleeper take ear plugs . Felt though had to write this .surpised that broken tiles in bathroom that had been laid . Felt it needs good tidy from front entrance to accommodation .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank slientwhispers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Setting= brilliant,balcony room= brilliant,staff= best we have experienced in large or small hotels!Holly and Tom =great hosts without being intrusive.Food=excellent,especially the breakfasts!best poached eggs ever!
Will remember sitting in deck chair with glass of wine overlooking the river Solent till we return.
Thanks Holly and Ben.

Room Tip: Balcony room is brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed at The Little Gloster during a cycling weekend end on the Isle of Wight.

Great service
Before arriving Holly was fantastic in dealing with our questions and requests including how we could store our bikes. Upon arrival we were met personally and shown to our accommodation. In the restaurant Ben and the rest of the staff offered first class service.

Great room
We had the bay view room which had the most comfortable bed and an amazing view of the Solent. The decor of the rooms is superb, obviously put together by some one with a real touch for design (we loved the little to touches of the boats)

Great food
We had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant. Dinner offered the most incredible seafood and the entire menu has obviously been inspired by a chef who has travelled the world. For breakfast, the poached eggs with spinach and ham were the best we have had at a hotel.

Great setting
On the Sunday we walked in to Cowes (a 30/40 min walk). Having tried to find a place by the sea to have a drink we realised we'd left the best place at the Little Gloster. Returned to the B&B and had a beer and cocktail in the sun watching the sailing competitions in the sun. Fantastic!

Thank you and we will be back! Next time in the balcony suite!

Room Tip: There are 3 rooms available. The balcony suite looks directly on to the Solent and looks fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulBM1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I was a little nervous about staying in a B&B but we could not have asked for a better experience. Ben and Holly were so welcoming, the balcony suite was plenty big enough for a couple with a z-bed to accommodate our four year old. The breakfast was first class with a lot of choice, not just the boring full English option. We also ate one night in the restaurant which was excellent. Definitely worth a visit and good value for what you get.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penelope B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gurnard
1.5 mi away
North House
North House
#2 of 5 in Cowes
47 reviews
12.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
833 reviews
8.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#2 of 2 in Yarmouth
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Villa Rothsay Hotel
Villa Rothsay Hotel
#4 of 5 in Cowes
93 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
454 reviews
11.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Little Gloster Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Little Gloster Rooms

Property: The Little Gloster Rooms
Address: 31 Marsh Road, Gurnard PO31 8JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Gurnard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Gurnard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Little Gloster Rooms incorporate three stunning rooms - with a breakfast included which is worth booking for in itself. The rooms are decorated with Scandinavian style and both have paramount views across the Solent, two of which encompass large balconies. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Little Gloster Hotel Gurnard
The Little Gloster Bed And Breakfast
The Little Gloster Rooms Isle Of Wight/Gurnard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing