We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely house, great location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Gurnard, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sarah H
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely house, great location”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

It was a lovely cabin very comfortable and well designed layout for a small space. Well equipped lots of outside furniture and BBQ. Shame to TV wasn't connected to an ariel only available for watching DVDs. Wifi not great but it's generally poor in the Gurnard area. Great value for money

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SMS1620
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chic at the seaside”
Reviewed 25 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My friend and I stayed here for a long weekend with our two 7 year old daughters. The location is absolutely wonderful. It's 5 minutes from the sea, close to a great playground, a nice beachside cafe and a fabulous pub. Gurnard itself is small but Cowes is only a 40 minute walk along the promenade.

The beach hut itself is gorgeously decorated in a sailor chic style. It's clear that the owners have some design flair as the attention to detail is staggering. The hut is a perfect size for four people and very well appointed.

The only downsides are that the inside stairs are very steep and a little scary - agree with the reviewer who suggested taking luggage downstairs via the outside deck. The deck itself gets a little slippery when wet so there is a need to be careful. The pavement doesn't go all the way from the gate of the beach hut to the grassy area which meant we couldn't let our daughters go off by themselves as the corner is quite busy with cars.

Overall a great location and a lovely place to stay.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Han141988
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 9 May 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Myself and my husband stayed here at Easter this year and had a great stay. Good location to the sea and the local pub. Parking is available very close by. We would recommend driving to the Garlic Farm as they had a wide range of tasty products to try. Only small thing was that it got very cold quickly if you forgot to leave the heaters on. Love the decor and style of the property. Comfy beds, but you might struggle with the stairs if you have any leg or back problems.

My husband lost his wallet the morning we were catching the ferry and we looked everywhere. I left and note and the cleaner found it about a month later, and they posted it to us :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location - very strange dust-bin rules.”
Reviewed 21 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Nice house and great location, downsides are the very strange bin arrangement and signs throughout the property that keep you under threat of loosing your deposit..if it wasn't for the signage and the stupid waste disposal system (zero tolerance with no bins provided?) this would be a 5* property.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaisyChai...
Hitchin
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Lovely quirky place to stay”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed here with our teenage daughter and enjoyed staying in somewhere 'different'. The living space and kitchen are mainly at street level with large terraces which catch the morning sun, there is a lounge also downstairs. The internal stairs are very steep. My husband found taking bags to our room via the terrace was easier but this wasn't an issue. There was everything we needed for the cooking of meals we had in (only a few), beds were comfortable and shower in bathroom good and roomy. Parking we were lucky most evenings to get right outside but sea front parking only a very short walk away. We all loved our stay and would stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Design and decoration of property and closeness to beach
Liked least: can't think of anything!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrisd052...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely house in a great location”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The house is perfectly decorated in a lovely quiet location in Gurnard. It has all that you need for a lovely break away.

The outside decking is great in the morning sunshine to eat a relaxed breakfast and a couple of seats outside of the front if you want to catch the late afternoon sun. Yes the stairs are very steep but if your able bodied and careful they are fine and as others have said you can always use the outside steps which are easier to navigate.

The cafe just a 1 min walk away on the sea front is lovely for a hearty breakfast or cupcake and the walk to Cowes takes a good 30-40 mins but is by the sea front all the way so a pleasure. It is very dark if returning late on so take a torch if walking.

Would not hesitate to return especially when relaxation is needed!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing