We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gaffawing in Gurnard”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Gurnard, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
733lottie
Dorset, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gaffawing in Gurnard”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We had such a great week staying in this lovely beach house. Great location, beautifully furnished and the perfect place to relax by the sea. We were very lucky with the weather and enjoyed lots of swimming. It's a 25 minute walk into Cowes and all the lovely shops and eateries. Also a trip to Little Gloster is worth a visit and in walking distance from the house. The house was everything we expected and having the different decks was really useful. Would highly recommend as a fun place to stay and I hope we get to visit again. Good correspondence from the agent prior and during our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character and decor of the house, location
Liked least: Steep stairs down to lower level
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sarah H
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely house, great location”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

It was a lovely cabin very comfortable and well designed layout for a small space. Well equipped lots of outside furniture and BBQ. Shame to TV wasn't connected to an ariel only available for watching DVDs. Wifi not great but it's generally poor in the Gurnard area. Great value for money

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SMS1620
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chic at the seaside”
Reviewed 25 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My friend and I stayed here for a long weekend with our two 7 year old daughters. The location is absolutely wonderful. It's 5 minutes from the sea, close to a great playground, a nice beachside cafe and a fabulous pub. Gurnard itself is small but Cowes is only a 40 minute walk along the promenade.

The beach hut itself is gorgeously decorated in a sailor chic style. It's clear that the owners have some design flair as the attention to detail is staggering. The hut is a perfect size for four people and very well appointed.

The only downsides are that the inside stairs are very steep and a little scary - agree with the reviewer who suggested taking luggage downstairs via the outside deck. The deck itself gets a little slippery when wet so there is a need to be careful. The pavement doesn't go all the way from the gate of the beach hut to the grassy area which meant we couldn't let our daughters go off by themselves as the corner is quite busy with cars.

Overall a great location and a lovely place to stay.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Han141988
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 9 May 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Myself and my husband stayed here at Easter this year and had a great stay. Good location to the sea and the local pub. Parking is available very close by. We would recommend driving to the Garlic Farm as they had a wide range of tasty products to try. Only small thing was that it got very cold quickly if you forgot to leave the heaters on. Love the decor and style of the property. Comfy beds, but you might struggle with the stairs if you have any leg or back problems.

My husband lost his wallet the morning we were catching the ferry and we looked everywhere. I left and note and the cleaner found it about a month later, and they posted it to us :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location - very strange dust-bin rules.”
Reviewed 21 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Nice house and great location, downsides are the very strange bin arrangement and signs throughout the property that keep you under threat of loosing your deposit..if it wasn't for the signage and the stupid waste disposal system (zero tolerance with no bins provided?) this would be a 5* property.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing