We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay at the Litsa apartments”
Review of Litsa Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Agios Nikolaos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Litsa Apartments
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Our stay at this apartment was good. It was clean, comfortable and had basic furnitures. There is a pool which was clear and nice. There were people who visited the apartment daily to clean it and change the sheets and towels every alternate day. The location is beautiful. There is a lovely village area, view of the mountains, clean beaches, green slopes, etc. It is scenic. The people in this area are also nice. We would walk to the nearby supermarkets and bakery to buy some delicious food items often. Our stay at the Litsa apartments was a pleasant one.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank caremkem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2010

We stayed at the Litsa Studios in May this year The appartment was clean and well appointed you had a table and chairs to sit and ea at and a bit of worktop to prepare food, the balcony overlooked the pool and was small but very adequate with a table and chairs. also it had a wind down sun shade so if it got to hot you could wind it down, the pool was spotless and you could set your watch by the time the owner came out to clean it every day not only was it hoovered it was cleaned and water checked, the appartment was cleaned every day and sheets and towels changed every other day, the whole area of the appartments was spotlessly cleaned,
the appartments are a nice walk to the village and the tavernas and shops there is two supermarkets and several bars and tavernas the bakery is lovely and there cakes and ice creams were a real treat, vesuvious tavern is a must to eat at the views wonderful, the beach is thru the village and is pebble and sand but the sun beds are free and there is a taverna on the beach which was great, this is a real unspoilt area of greece and i would go back tommorow if i could we used it as a base to travel around the peloponese to olympia epidavros mycenie and the corinth canal to name a few

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SHEEPY123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Recently returned from a week in the blazing heat, upper 30s edging 40.

A wonderful region where the mountains cascade down to a quiet coastline blessed with some small clean lovely beaches. The slopes are rich in Olive groves and the lower peaks often have traditional Greek villages clinging on. Most of the building here is sympathetic to tradition and blends well with the landscape. All the Greek people I met were lovely.

Some of the beaches have canteens, at least in season, and some offer recliners and sunbrellas. Great area for snorkelling, swimming and cycling - there's a great coastal cycle/walking path between Agios Nikolaos and Stoupa. There are still a few fish caught which together with locally grown produce are well though served by the Tabernas albeit more expensively than in former times: I usually paid about 17 Euros for a meal comprising fresh juice, a dip, a salad and sardines.

The Litsa apartments are fairly nondescript on the edge of the village. My ground floor room in the old block was spacious, clean and with everything I needed. The views from the veranda were ok but obstructed by shrubs and buildings, some sea was though visible! However another guest - in the newer block overlooking the swimming pool - was surprised how small the room he and his partner were allocated was.

If you like cycling look up Vaggelis who hires out bikes at reasonable rates, a fantastic way to explore the area, keep cool and build up a good appetite.

Robin

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobnLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

We were in the superior apartments which didn’t overlook the pool, they were of a very good standard for Greece. The apartments were a good size, and the self catering facilities were excellent, we only use them for light lunches but there did seem an adequate amount of pots/ utensils etc for if you wanted to make a full meal.
The balcony/ terrace was also a very large, if however you are on the block overlooking the pool these did seem a lot smaller, maybe compensated with a view over to the harbour.
Next to Litsa is a spring tap so there was no need to buy any water other than to get a couple of bottles to fill.
There were five tavernas in Aghios Niklaos all were very good with a good selection of traditional Greek cuisine.
Overall a lovely quiet place to visit, a much more Greek feel to it than neighbouring Stoupa, which although very pretty does seem very geared up to the tourist market.
A lot of people seem to return year after year which is quite understandable

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Why1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2008

The Litsa apartments are basic, typically Greek, self catering apartments. As far as we could see they were the only apartments with its own pool in Ag. Nikolaos. There were 3 blocks of apartments. The oldest overlook the pool with the other 2 more modern apartments set slightly further back. We were based in the older apartments.
The apartments were basically one room with a side shower and toilet room. The rooms were in pretty good order and very clean with the usual fridge, double cooking ring and for the first time in Greece, a toaster! There was also an electric kettle but it didn’t work. As the older blocks didn’t have air conditioning an electric fan was provided. Despite being on the lower floor there was a raised balcony overlooking the pool. The beds were OK, but the mattresses had seen better days.
The cleaners came round on Sundays and Wednesdays to clean the rooms and change the towels and sheets, which we found more than adequate.
The blocks are set in well maintained gorgeous gardens with lots of colourful flowers and the obligatory tribe of cats. Also at the end of the drive as a tap providing fresh spring water meaning there was no need to buy water from the supermarket for drinking.
The Litsa is about a 5 minute walk to the harbour front with the bulk of the tavernas and supermarkets, with a slight incline on the return trip but nothing too strenuous.
The apartments are probably amongst the better ones we have stayed in in Greece and would highly recommend them.

Agios Nikolaos (and the surrounding area)

The resort is a small working fishing village which still contains more locals than holidaymakers. The main focus is around the very picturesque harbour, where the locals have a small market every morning selling the mornings catch. Surrounding the harbour is a selection of tavernas, bars and a couple of shops.
Our favourite restaurant was called “The arches” and is run by an Albanian family. The food is fantastic with plenty of fresh fish dishes and specialist Albanian options, and all at a reasonable price. There are about 6 or 7 other tavernas and to be honest the food was pretty good at all of them and the prices similar.
The town beach, called Patanzi, is a good 20 minute walk to the south of town, and in fairness it isn’t the best beach I’ve been on. It’s a mixture of sand and pebble and there are free sunbeds to use (at least they were free when we visited), but there was quite a bit of litter on the beach and the bins provided were overflowing. Also the sea quickly sloped into deep water which meant not much room for paddling and not really suitable for young kids or weak swimmers. There are, however, two swimming coves in the centre of the village, the nicest being just off the path to Stoupa with its own small chapel next to caves and rock pools.
For self catering holidaymakers the village has 3 supermarkets, a bakery and a butcher. Surprisingly for such a small place it also has a post office, a 24 hr medical centre and a pharmacy, but does not have a ATM. One of the bars which tends to attract the local youngsters provides an internet service. You can also hire bikes from the bakery! Another nice feature is the fact there are taps dotted around the village providing fresh spring water, negating the need to buy gallons of the stuff from the supermarket.
As well as the neighbouring villages described below we also did organised excursions to Mystras, Monemvasia and The Diros Caves which were all excellent.
Ag Nik is a very laid back place and I’d say my favourite resort of all the places in Greece we have stayed. I would recommend it to anyone wanting a get away from it all relaxing holiday.

[Stoupa] Stoupa is a 40 minute walk from Ag Nik along a nice paved coastal path. I was a bit disappointed with Stoupa. It did have two nice clean beaches and a good selection of bars, shops and tavernas but just didn’t seem to have much soul for my liking. It seemed very much a purpose built resort although it’s supposedly an old town. A better choice for somewhere to stay if the beach is your main priority but I’m glad we chose Ag Nik.

[Kardamyli] Unfortunately on the day we caught the bus to Kardamyli the weather was atrocious (first rain of the summer!!). However, the “new town” looked to be a pretty place with a nice square and a good selection of bars and tavernas. We were told that the beach was good but due to the weather we didn’t get to it. Instead we did a fantastic walk through old Kardamyli, which had a small museum, along the Viros Gorge to Ag Sophia with its lovely Church and fantastic views back down to Kardamyli. The walk isn’t too strenuous and was worth it even in the poor weather. I would guess this would be a great place to base yourself for a holiday.

[Trachila]We cycled to Tachila from Agios Nikolaos in about half an hour. It was a very pleasant cycle with stunning coastal scenery and walled caves. There were a couple of stiff climbs though.
Trachila is a very quiet picturesque fishing harbour with a couple of harbour front tavernas. It was well worth the journey, seeming as though you were stepping back in time to a simpler age when entering the village.
On the return ride we tried to stop in Ag. Dimetrious with its tower house for a drink but were unable to find a taverna despite there seeming to be quite a few holiday rental places in the village.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MBDixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank po_vo333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Marieke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agios Nikolaos hotels
0.1 mi away
Vrachos
Vrachos
#5 of 7 in Agios Nikolaos
5 reviews
0 mi away
Skafidakia Apartments
Skafidakia Apartments
#3 of 7 in Agios Nikolaos
7 reviews
0 mi away
Villa Pefnos
Villa Pefnos
#2 of 2 in Agios Nikolaos
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Litsa Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Litsa Apartments

Address: Agios Nikolaos, Greece
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Messenia Region > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the entrance of the picturesque village of Aghios Nicholas Messenia are located Litsa's Studios and apartments. Here are the requirements to make the holiday of your dreams. The rooms are spacious and provided with all modern comforts. In addition, there is a fully equipped kitchen making it ideal for families. All rooms have terraces overlooking the sea. The complex is open all year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Litsa Apartments Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Litsa Apartments Agios Nikolaos, Greece - Peloponnese

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing