We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“heavenly retreat”
Review of Litsa Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Agios Nikolaos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Litsa Apartments
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“heavenly retreat”
Reviewed 24 September 2011

this was our third stay at the litsa and we were not disappointed. we stopped in the old block overlooking the pool. they are clean and compact but could do with an update regarding the bathrooms. the linen and towels were changed twice weekley.its a very quite resort which suited us. the harbour is a five minuite walk which is the hub of the resort with a couple of tavernas and eating places. the food is especially good in the hidden garden and verzovious with views to dream of. our best place to go for good company and drinks was greggs plateau. him and his family are so welcoming and cant do enough for you.

Room Tip: rooms at the back of old block have a better view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gaynorray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    27
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
2
53
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

This review is on the accommodation over looking the pool at Litsa NOT the superior accommodation behind (and the resort).

We had read lots of reviews before staying in Aghios Nicolaos and the Litsa apartments and had high expectations of the holiday that we were going to have but were sadly very let down. We were there for three weeks and some of the reviews say the pool is cleaned every day, this definitely dwindled at the end of our second week and hardly at all during our third week.

We have been holidaying in Greece for the last 13 years so have experienced lots of different self catering accommodation. If you stay at Litsa and want superior accommodation you have to book it direct with them and not through your travel agent as you will be given one of the rooms overlooking the pool which are desperately in need of updating and incredibly small although not dirty. The balcony was 3 to 4 feet wide, literally wide enough for a plastic chair! Air conditioning is charged at 7euro's per day but flooded our balcony. On the upside it was very quiet as many of the guests were older. Towels and bed linen is changed twice a week. The Litsa apartments are next door to a medical centre and there is a chemist about 50 meters away and the bus stop is right outside; you can also hire bicycles. You don't need to buy water as there are stand pipes with natural spring water you can fill up at; two are located on the back of the Litsa property.

The resort of Aghios Nicolaos was very disappointing with about 7 tavernas, the first, the Hidden Garden does lovely food with lovely service. Two tavernas down just past the internet cafe , the food is good but the waitress is rude and will look at you and totally ignore any requests, making you wait until all the Greek people have been served. There is a taverna a little further on called Xenios where it is a little more expensive but the food was excellent, however they charge 6 euros for half a carafe of wine where everywhere else only charge 3 euros. Aghios Nicolaos is a harbour, however fish was incredibly expensive. We paid 17 euros each for a fish and you don't get anything with it.

There is a beach about 30 minutes walk past all the tavernas but tends to be used by the locals and Greek holiday makers and isn't particularly nice. We tended to walk 45 minutes into Stoupa where the beach has sunbeds if you want to use them at 5 euros per day. There is a much wider selection of tavernas here and you can access free wifi at some of them if you eat or have a drink there.

Mango's taverna in Stoupa does an excellent Mexican omelette for about 5 euro's and has free wifi. They are really nice and friendly and even let us charge our ipods while we were waiting.

I know people return to both Aghios Nicolaos and Stoupa year after year but we won't be going again as there are far nicer places in Greece that we have been to and I'm sure not even discovered yet.

Room Tip: If you want a superior room at Litsa you have to book it direct with them not through your travel ag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank bejer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

The self catering accommodation is a family run affair. The place is kept spotless, the studios are cleaned and the linen/ towels changed twice weekly. Every morning the poolside is washed down and the pool itself is meticulously maintained. The rooms all have air-con which is charged for at 7 euros per day. A must have in high season.

The Litsa Apartments are located less than a 10 minute easy stroll into the harbour. Here you have everything you need, tavernas, restaurants, supermarket, car hire, bicycle hire and most of the establishments have free wi-fi. The atmosphere is relaxed and the welcome is warm and friendly. This is altogether the most idyllic and beautiful spot for a relaxing holiday. This was confirmed to me by the fact that most of the guests at the Litsa had been before. My wife and I were among the minority of first time visitors. We plan to change that next year. We will be back! I highly recommend it, but don't tell everyone.

Room Tip: Go for the upper floor rooms for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geordiebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Stayed for a week, perfect. Basic rooms, but clean. Nice pool area cleaned every day. A gentle stroll to the harbor for drinks and meals. Everybody very friendly, a great atmosphere. Food and drink very good prices. All in all a really relaxing holiday, and would recommend to anybody wanting a nice relaxing peaceful holiday.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cookieLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lublin, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Our stay at this apartment was good. It was clean, comfortable and had basic furnitures. There is a pool which was clear and nice. There were people who visited the apartment daily to clean it and change the sheets and towels every alternate day. The location is beautiful. There is a lovely village area, view of the mountains, clean beaches, green slopes, etc. It is scenic. The people in this area are also nice. We would walk to the nearby supermarkets and bakery to buy some delicious food items often. Our stay at the Litsa apartments was a pleasant one.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caremkem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CUMBRIA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

We stayed at the Litsa Studios in May this year The appartment was clean and well appointed you had a table and chairs to sit and ea at and a bit of worktop to prepare food, the balcony overlooked the pool and was small but very adequate with a table and chairs. also it had a wind down sun shade so if it got to hot you could wind it down, the pool was spotless and you could set your watch by the time the owner came out to clean it every day not only was it hoovered it was cleaned and water checked, the appartment was cleaned every day and sheets and towels changed every other day, the whole area of the appartments was spotlessly cleaned,
the appartments are a nice walk to the village and the tavernas and shops there is two supermarkets and several bars and tavernas the bakery is lovely and there cakes and ice creams were a real treat, vesuvious tavern is a must to eat at the views wonderful, the beach is thru the village and is pebble and sand but the sun beds are free and there is a taverna on the beach which was great, this is a real unspoilt area of greece and i would go back tommorow if i could we used it as a base to travel around the peloponese to olympia epidavros mycenie and the corinth canal to name a few

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SHEEPY123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Recently returned from a week in the blazing heat, upper 30s edging 40.

A wonderful region where the mountains cascade down to a quiet coastline blessed with some small clean lovely beaches. The slopes are rich in Olive groves and the lower peaks often have traditional Greek villages clinging on. Most of the building here is sympathetic to tradition and blends well with the landscape. All the Greek people I met were lovely.

Some of the beaches have canteens, at least in season, and some offer recliners and sunbrellas. Great area for snorkelling, swimming and cycling - there's a great coastal cycle/walking path between Agios Nikolaos and Stoupa. There are still a few fish caught which together with locally grown produce are well though served by the Tabernas albeit more expensively than in former times: I usually paid about 17 Euros for a meal comprising fresh juice, a dip, a salad and sardines.

The Litsa apartments are fairly nondescript on the edge of the village. My ground floor room in the old block was spacious, clean and with everything I needed. The views from the veranda were ok but obstructed by shrubs and buildings, some sea was though visible! However another guest - in the newer block overlooking the swimming pool - was surprised how small the room he and his partner were allocated was.

If you like cycling look up Vaggelis who hires out bikes at reasonable rates, a fantastic way to explore the area, keep cool and build up a good appetite.

Robin

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobnLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikolaos
1.0 mi away
Anaxo Resort
Anaxo Resort
#2 of 9 in Stoupa
64 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lefktron Hotel
Lefktron Hotel
#1 of 9 in Stoupa
180 reviews
5.1 mi away
Vardia Hotel
Vardia Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kardamili
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Palataki Villas Holiday Resort
0.1 mi away
Vrahos
Vrahos
#4 of 7 in Agios Nikolaos
4 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stephanou Inn
Stephanou Inn
#2 of 97 in Messenia Region
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Litsa Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Litsa Apartments

Property: Litsa Apartments
Address: Agios Nikolaos, Greece
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Messenia Region > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the entrance of the picturesque village of Aghios Nicholas Messenia are located Litsa's Studios and apartments. Here are the requirements to make the holiday of your dreams. The rooms are spacious and provided with all modern comforts. In addition, there is a fully equipped kitchen making it ideal for families. All rooms have terraces overlooking the sea. The complex is open all year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Litsa Apartments Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Litsa Apartments Agios Nikolaos, Greece - Peloponnese

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing