We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Cliff House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cliff House
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a gem”
Reviewed 3 November 2012

my wife and i walked into the restaurant almost despite ourselves, but were so pleased. the mushroom and chicken pie had the best - i repeat - the best pastry in a pie i have ever tasted. we had dined at the 2 michelin star Sketch just three nights earlier, and its not any exaggeration to say that the chef did wonders with that pie that would not have been out of place up in Conduit St London.

Friendly staff and a really lovely owner make the experience extremely warm. The building itself is, unfortunately, tired and a little industrial from the outside, but dont let that fool you. This is a hidden gem.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilyas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    39
    15
    15
    2
See reviews for
29
100
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We stayed for one night having just arrived from Australia. Donald and Kerry were very welcoming and sensitive to our jet lag!
Harry the brilliant young chef provided us with a dinner worthy of a michelin star ... we could not fault the food or service. We particularly liked the way in which all the ingredients had been sourced locally and the freshness shone through. Highlights were the crab souffle and the filet steak !
We stayed in 'Wight' with views across Christchurch Bay straight on to the Needles at the end of the Isle of Wight. Everything was laid out immaculately and we enjoyed the fine detail and appreciated the thoughtful way everything had been arranged. Amazingly we had a normal night of sleep ... which surprised us both after a 30 hour journey from Australia and mirrored time zones.
We left after a leisurely and delicious breakfast of porridge and kippers ... wishing we could have stayed longer.
We have already booked in for 2013 ... once the secret of the Jewel of Christcurch Bay gets out we imagine it will be hard to get a room.
Bill and Marg ... Brisbane , Queensland , Australia

Room Tip: The corner room we stayed in was great ... small but perfectly formed. Breathtaking 180d views on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BilliD_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We recently stayed in Biscay room and were dissappointed to find that the ensuite was a basic shower with toilet but there was no room for a washbasin so this was situated next to the dressing table in the bedroom .I was not happy with this as it is not visible or mentioned on the website. I would not choose this room unless you are unable to manage the stairs.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beemo1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

we stayed for 2 nights, what views, and further to a recent reveiw there is a local pub just up the road from this loverly hotel, which has its own bar by the way, the rooms were well laid out and clean, the food was 5* as there table bookings showed, one of the best locations for a long time in uk, and barton golf club just 1 mile away, well worth the money, and very nice hosts.

Room Tip: book first floor, sea faceing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daveclarke60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed for 1 night. Hotel is in a lovely location with nice views over the Solent. It is a pity that Barton-on Sea is a sleepy village with little or no facilities. There is not even a pub around! Our room was bright and clean, but the bathroom was a disaster. There is carpet on the bathroom floor, which is most unhygienic especially in a hotel!!! It is a big turn off. There is a TV in the room, the size of a notebook, so totally useless. Breakfast was average and staff was friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paaltjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Stayed here for only one night as we were just passing through the area. Lovely location, stunning views and really nice breakfast. It was a little out of our normal price range....but it was worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeriGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel on the spur of the moment. We stayed in the Portland en-suite room. It was everything you needed for a short stay. Spotless and with the most fantastic sea views out over the large bay directly below you! Wonderful to go to sleep with the sound of the sea and wake to the sound again. The sun shone and the walks along the cliffs are super. We had dinner in the Conservatory as the views were superior to the actual dinning restaurant. Food was all locally sourced and superb. Well worth a visit in a very quite secluded spot!

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet but the rooms with the sea views are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoozEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barton-on-Sea
0.8 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,718 reviews
3.6 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
369 reviews
2.6 mi away
Eastclose Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
5.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
681 reviews
3.3 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff House

Property: The Cliff House
Address: Marine Drive West, Barton-on-Sea, New Forest, New Milton BH25 7QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > New Milton > Barton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Barton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cliff House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent Restaurant, Bar & Rooms. Stunning Cliff Top Views, Friendly Service, Delicious Food. Eat, Drink & Sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cliff House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff House Barton-On-Sea, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing