We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fabulous”
Review of The Cliff House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cliff House
Certificate of Excellence
Thurrock
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Absolutely Fabulous”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I have never stayed in a Hotel with such a warm and friendly welcome it felt as though I was a family friend rather than a Hotel guest.
The decor is attractive, the views of the Solent and Isle of Wight are incredible particularly when dining.
The food was wonderful, apparently sourced from local produce where available.
Great value for money
I enjoyed my stay and look forward to going back soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    42
    16
    15
    2
See reviews for
31
102
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Took my in-laws and my wife to the restaurant at The Cliff, where they have previously eaten many times. As they are of the generation that never wants to make a fuss, I didn't say anything at the time, but when we got home and they said the food was tasteless and the choice uninspiring, I wish I had said something earlier.

I had thought that it was just my tastes and given the generally elderly clientele I just took it to be that I was not part of their target audience. But clearly not.

We won't be going back from choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john_201130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I was meeting up with a friend which was a last minute decision. After looking on here at the comments I decided to try it out for myself and was very pleased I found it Very nice and clean with a warm welcome from the staff I only stayed one night but the service was very good the food was lovely and staff where very polite I would recommend this is a place to stay and i would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itspictures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Sunday lunch at The Cliff House hotel and fab experience from start to finish. Situated on the clifftop with uninterrupted views to Isle of Wight one way and Bournemouth the other. Drinks outside then delicious three course lunch in sunny, fresh decor dinng room. Lots of choice, homemade, veggie too. Very reasonable price very friendly efficient service. Great walk along clifftop essential afterwards to walk off the rhubarb crumble and homemade custard! Can't wait to go back soon.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank fooderella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

I attended a wedding at Highcliffe Castle this weekend and forgot to book a room until last minute. Being a bank holiday weekend, everywhere was fully booked! I took a risk and booked this hotel which I've never heard of before. I am so glad that I did because it was fantastic from start to finish! They accommodated me brilliantly and were flexible for early check so I could change for the wedding!

I stayed in the Thames room which is single occupancy. The facilities were fantastic and they provided everything you will need...and more! The only thing I could comment on was how low the toilet/sink were (I am tall so had to kneel to brush my teeth), but this was me being really fussy. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room very spacious.
Breakfast was delicious with high quality ingredients and great coffee - some beans would've just made it that little bit more special! The hostess was warm and attentive and the views from the breakfast room are stunning.

Overall this hotel is a fantastic place to stay and I will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michaelrbirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

What a fantastic location......with lovely views of the Isle of Wight. Great service with caring hosts, Well presented and tasty food with a good selection of Beverages. A must visit if you're in this part of the world.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnleybourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We ate at the Cliff House yesterday, going to their 'Fish and Fizz' evening.
This is a lovely small local hotel with spectacular sea views, a very pretty and welcoming atmosphere and good food.
My husband had the local fish(battered) served with chips and peas, he said the fish was delightful and very fresh but slightly disappointed with the chips- just lacking in a bit of flavour.
I had the Moroccan couscous with fillet of hake- and it was absolutely delicious, I really couldn't fault it- very fresh fish, perfectly cooked with slightly spicy fragrant couscous
We had a glass of very pleasant pink fizz with the meal.
The staff were particularly friendly and smiley - especially as they were very busy with some large groups at other tables.
Wouldn't hesitate to go again, good value and would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gingerfoxesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barton-on-Sea
0.8 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
3.6 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Eastclose Country House Hotel
5.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
3.3 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff House

Property: The Cliff House
Address: Marine Drive West, Barton-on-Sea, New Forest, New Milton BH25 7QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > New Milton > Barton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Barton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cliff House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent Restaurant, Bar & Rooms. Stunning Cliff Top Views, Friendly Service, Delicious Food. Eat, Drink & Sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Cancelon so you can book your The Cliff House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff House Barton-On-Sea, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing