We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon cream tea.”
Review of The Cliff House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cliff House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Very nice location spoiled by the afternoon cream tea. Stale scones, luke warm tea and indifferent service. To be fair they were busy and we sat in the garden, the weather was beautiful and fantastic sea views.

We have friends who have stayed and dined on our recommendation who loved the hotel so very disappointed.

I wrote to the hotel but received no reply.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank glj8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinedrivewest, Manager at The Cliff House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Thank you very much for your review and feedback on your recent visit to The Cliff House. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us and can only say that this is not the standard that our customers are used to. Our scones are all freshly made and oven warmed to order, therefore I am very surprised to hear this. We also serve our tea with water from a boiler, therefore this is also something that we have never experienced in the past. I notice that you say you have contacted us regarding your visit, however we have not received this and would be more than happy to discuss your expericence to ensure that this is not repeated.
Kind Regards
Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

I took my elderly mother to The Cliff House for a few days. The staff are very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Overall the service was excellent. Our room, Dover, had side sea views, was spotlessly clean and very comfortable, with a very good size bathroom. The food was delicious, and the chef was most accommodating when asked for extras or changes for my mother's diet. His home-made bread was wonderful! The Cliff House has the most spectacular views over the sea from the sun terrace and the dining room and it's a quiet spot, so perfect for our needs. To sit in the sun on the terrace and sip our wine or tea, and watch the dog walkers and the boats was so relaxing. The whole atmosphere of the place is relaxing and comfortable, with a personal touch.
We hope to come again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed in Portland room overlooking the sea. Sat up in bed looking out at the Isle of Wight. Small but comfortable room with ensuite shower. Go for Plymouth if you want a bath....or Wight if you want a cheaper option. Beds a little tired but quite comfy. Excellent breakfast and hotel restaurant is very good for evening meal. Good selection and reasonably priced. Nice little bar area to relax in. Hotel does not offer meals on Sunday. They close from 4pm. However a short walk away is Pebble Beach restaurant . Hotel owners are very friendly and go that extra bit to help, as do tgeir staff. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Classic1531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We met at this lovely venue for a baby shower, the staff were fabulous, nothing was too much trouble, very attentive without being too overbearing. The venue was delightful with gorgeous views. The food and drinks were exceptional, everthing was home made, the scones were amazing, the spread was better than ever expected, plentiful and delicious. This is a highly recommended venue for any social occasion.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJ-Clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Just had a very relaxing couple of days staying at this superbly positioned hotel, right on the cliffs, with beautiful views. Very welcoming and pleasant stay. Thumbs up from the dog too.

We stayed in the ground floor room that was very comfortable and cool considering how hot is has been this last weekend. The breakfast was home made and tasty. The owners were very friendly and welcoming and helpful in finding local places. They even gave us a 25% discount for a meal at the nearby restaurant Pebbles.

Sitting with a glass of wine watching the sea, and the people walking along the cliff was the best.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FuerteBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We had a wonderful 2 nights here. First night in Dover and second in Portland. Same price, Dover bigger but Portland has the sea view. I would say if staying for one night stay in Portland, longer go for the larger room. I thought the owners pitched everything just right. They were welcoming and friendly and we both felt very relaxed there. All the staff were wonderful and the location was terrific. For dinner we both had the twice cooked cheese souffle for starters on both nights as it was sooooo good and the chef was kind enough to hand write out the whole recipe! How good is that? The fish was disappointing. We did however eat there on both nights as we were tempted by their very reasonable Friday fish and fizz night. For the money you cant go wrong and I think the fish is better battered. The only thing disappointing that night was dessert the Pavlova. A Pavlova isnt a lump of hard meringue and cream. However chefs change all the time don't let this put you off, its a fab place and we recommend

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Our first stay at The Cliff House but not the last. As previous reviewers have said the rooms, the food and the service were all very satisfactory. But the view from our sea-view bedroom was a memorable experience - perfect summer weather also helped! Yes, we too will be back.

Room Tip: A sea-view room costs a little more but is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barton-on-Sea
0.8 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,901 reviews
3.3 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
4.8 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#5 of 11 in Christchurch
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
501 reviews
0.1 mi away
Watersedge Guest House
Watersedge Guest House
#1 of 7 in Barton-on-Sea
377 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pebble Beach Rooms
Pebble Beach Rooms
#3 of 7 in Barton-on-Sea
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff House

Address: Marine Drive West, Barton-on-Sea, New Forest, New Milton BH25 7QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > New Milton > Barton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Barton-on-Sea
Price Range: £95 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cliff House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent Restaurant, Bar & Rooms. Stunning Cliff Top Views, Friendly Service, Delicious Food. Eat, Drink & Sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms and HotelsClick so you can book your The Cliff House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff House Barton-On-Sea, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing