We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre Xmas lunch”
Review of The Cliff House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cliff House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Very disappointing food..certainly not worth the money..finding difficult writing more as requested for review but food was very poor ..sauces were put on food without asking ..turkey was tasteless as was starter..Xmas pudding with ice cream? Not a good experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mary j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

I stayed 2 nights in the single room whilst attending a family wedding nearby and it was ideal. The owners are particularly friendly and welcoming and all the rest of the staff go out of their way to be attentive without being intrusive - an excellent combination. The breakfast (served in the indoor dining terrace with probably the best views you will find anywhere over the sea towards the Isle of Wight) was great, with cooked items to order if you wanted - poached eggs were perfect! The room was absolutely fine for a single person and had a good powerful shower in the en-suite - a nice change from so many private hotels. As part of the pre-wedding celebrations some family members came for a light lunch in the restaurant and this again was excellent - well prepared and presented, and good value. Certainly a great place to stay if you want the personal touch rather than the anonymity of a large hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NigelBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Beautiful food great rooms Amazing views (from our side of the Hotel) Not inexpensive nut really friendly even got offered the owners secret stash of marmite !!
We were a little distance from any sort of shop .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rushbrook2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

We attended a wedding in Christchurch and left it a little late booking somewhere to stay. In the end we were rather grateful that other places were booked up. We went for a smaller room without a sea view as we would be out at the wedding all day. Even so the room was modern and clean and very comfortable with a lovely bathroom. All of the staff were friendly and welcoming and we enjoyed a peaceful and relaxing stay. The breakfast served in the sun lounge with stunning views across to the Isle of Wight was absolutely delicious. We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah_Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

if you're offered the twin room behind reception, say no! the noise from reception and hall does not offer any chance to sleep. when the room above you is occupied it can be compared to a herd of elephants playing tag! the room was damp and the musty smell pungent to say the least. we paid over £100 for the privilege!
at breakfast the lady serving seemed in different and turse. the only redeeming element was the breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Montydog2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Very nice location spoiled by the afternoon cream tea. Stale scones, luke warm tea and indifferent service. To be fair they were busy and we sat in the garden, the weather was beautiful and fantastic sea views.

We have friends who have stayed and dined on our recommendation who loved the hotel so very disappointed.

I wrote to the hotel but received no reply.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank glj8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinedrivewest, Manager at The Cliff House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Thank you very much for your review and feedback on your recent visit to The Cliff House. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us and can only say that this is not the standard that our customers are used to. Our scones are all freshly made and oven warmed to order, therefore I am very surprised to hear this. We also serve our tea with water from a boiler, therefore this is also something that we have never experienced in the past. I notice that you say you have contacted us regarding your visit, however we have not received this and would be more than happy to discuss your expericence to ensure that this is not repeated.
Kind Regards
Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I took my elderly mother to The Cliff House for a few days. The staff are very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Overall the service was excellent. Our room, Dover, had side sea views, was spotlessly clean and very comfortable, with a very good size bathroom. The food was delicious, and the chef was most accommodating when asked for extras or changes for my mother's diet. His home-made bread was wonderful! The Cliff House has the most spectacular views over the sea from the sun terrace and the dining room and it's a quiet spot, so perfect for our needs. To sit in the sun on the terrace and sip our wine or tea, and watch the dog walkers and the boats was so relaxing. The whole atmosphere of the place is relaxing and comfortable, with a personal touch.
We hope to come again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barton-on-Sea
0.8 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,902 reviews
3.3 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
4.8 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#5 of 11 in Christchurch
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
503 reviews
0.1 mi away
Watersedge Guest House
Watersedge Guest House
#1 of 7 in Barton-on-Sea
377 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pebble Beach Rooms
Pebble Beach Rooms
#3 of 7 in Barton-on-Sea
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff House

Address: Marine Drive West, Barton-on-Sea, New Forest, New Milton BH25 7QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > New Milton > Barton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Barton-on-Sea
Price Range: £95 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cliff House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent Restaurant, Bar & Rooms. Stunning Cliff Top Views, Friendly Service, Delicious Food. Eat, Drink & Sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your The Cliff House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff House Barton-On-Sea, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing