We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pre Xmas lunch” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cliff House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cliff House
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pre Xmas lunch”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Very disappointing food..certainly not worth the money..finding difficult writing more as requested for review but food was very poor ..sauces were put on food without asking ..turkey was tasteless as was starter..Xmas pudding with ice cream? Not a good experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mary j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    40
    15
    15
    2
See reviews for
29
98
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gandia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

I stayed 2 nights in the single room whilst attending a family wedding nearby and it was ideal. The owners are particularly friendly and welcoming and all the rest of the staff go out of their way to be attentive without being intrusive - an excellent combination. The breakfast (served in the indoor dining terrace with probably the best views you will find anywhere over the sea towards the Isle of Wight) was great, with cooked items to order if you wanted - poached eggs were perfect! The room was absolutely fine for a single person and had a good powerful shower in the en-suite - a nice change from so many private hotels. As part of the pre-wedding celebrations some family members came for a light lunch in the restaurant and this again was excellent - well prepared and presented, and good value. Certainly a great place to stay if you want the personal touch rather than the anonymity of a large hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NigelBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Beautiful food great rooms Amazing views (from our side of the Hotel) Not inexpensive nut really friendly even got offered the owners secret stash of marmite !!
We were a little distance from any sort of shop .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rushbrook2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

We attended a wedding in Christchurch and left it a little late booking somewhere to stay. In the end we were rather grateful that other places were booked up. We went for a smaller room without a sea view as we would be out at the wedding all day. Even so the room was modern and clean and very comfortable with a lovely bathroom. All of the staff were friendly and welcoming and we enjoyed a peaceful and relaxing stay. The breakfast served in the sun lounge with stunning views across to the Isle of Wight was absolutely delicious. We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah_Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

if you're offered the twin room behind reception, say no! the noise from reception and hall does not offer any chance to sleep. when the room above you is occupied it can be compared to a herd of elephants playing tag! the room was damp and the musty smell pungent to say the least. we paid over £100 for the privilege!
at breakfast the lady serving seemed in different and turse. the only redeeming element was the breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Montydog2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southcoast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Very nice location spoiled by the afternoon cream tea. Stale scones, luke warm tea and indifferent service. To be fair they were busy and we sat in the garden, the weather was beautiful and fantastic sea views.

We have friends who have stayed and dined on our recommendation who loved the hotel so very disappointed.

I wrote to the hotel but received no reply.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glj8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinedrivewest, Manager at The Cliff House, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you very much for your review and feedback on your recent visit to The Cliff House. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us and can only say that this is not the standard that our customers are used to. Our scones are all freshly made and oven warmed to order, therefore I am very surprised to hear this. We also serve our tea with water from a boiler, therefore this is also something that we have never experienced in the past. I notice that you say you have contacted us regarding your visit, however we have not received this and would be more than happy to discuss your expericence to ensure that this is not repeated.
Kind Regards
Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

I took my elderly mother to The Cliff House for a few days. The staff are very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Overall the service was excellent. Our room, Dover, had side sea views, was spotlessly clean and very comfortable, with a very good size bathroom. The food was delicious, and the chef was most accommodating when asked for extras or changes for my mother's diet. His home-made bread was wonderful! The Cliff House has the most spectacular views over the sea from the sun terrace and the dining room and it's a quiet spot, so perfect for our needs. To sit in the sun on the terrace and sip our wine or tea, and watch the dog walkers and the boats was so relaxing. The whole atmosphere of the place is relaxing and comfortable, with a personal touch.
We hope to come again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barton-on-Sea
0.7 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,686 reviews
2.6 mi away
Eastclose Country House Hotel
3.6 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
5.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
3.3 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff House

Property: The Cliff House
Address: Marine Drive West, Barton-on-Sea, New Forest, New Milton BH25 7QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > New Milton > Barton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Barton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cliff House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent Restaurant, Bar & Rooms. Stunning Cliff Top Views, Friendly Service, Delicious Food. Eat, Drink & Sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Cliff House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff House Barton-On-Sea, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing