We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great surprise down the road!!!”
Review of The Cliff House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cliff House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I have been to Cliff House restaurant few months ago for the first time (and have been there few time since) and i was very surprised! The food was very well prepared and delicious. The price was very reasonable at £16 for three courses. At that price you are not expecting a 5 stars food however i was very pleased with a delicious Venison Carpacio for starter, duo of Partridge as a main and chocolate fondant for dessert. Everything Tasted beautifully. Cant beleive that people said in previous reviews that the mushy peas tasted like Baby poo (personaly never fancied trying baby poo so don't know how it taste like...). I will definatly recommend it for a relax good value for money meal with great atmosphere and stunning views!! Will definatly go back there!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frenchy28Chartres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
There are newer reviews for The Cliff House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

I have eaten at the Cliff Hotel Restaurant on 2 or 3 previous occasions. On mothers day 30/03/2014 we had lunch at the hotel. Prior to the day I had to amend the booking to include another person, everything was handled well, on arrival we had a new table to accommodate the increased number all perfect. We ordered our meal, fantastic. I think this is a very good venue, great service and customer care.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Clive T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This is a lovely hotel, made to feel very welcome from the time we arrived, everything was very clean, the staff very helpful, the views stunning, would defiantly go back, had a lovely relaxing couple of days..

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackie19691960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The restaurant is in a good location. The staff are very nice. The food is overpriced and poor quality. The posh Fish and Chips was incredible, unpallatable fish, mushy peas that look like baby poo and tasted like it and all five chips you were spoilt for choice, you started to feel the best part of the meal was the wooden board.

Used to like this restaurant but never again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Meet an old friend here, we sat had tea and Sunday lunch while enjoying the fantastic view. The staff were friendly, and very helpful, but did not get in the way, just right. So having had a couple of cups of tea we decided to stay for Lunch, we had the fish cake's, which were to die for, the main (lamb) was cooked just right, with lovely fresh veg, just the way I like it, and to finish we had a lovely crumble.
The weather was lovely, the dog was with us on the terrace, he loved it to, so for a fab lunch, and great views, friendly and welcoming staff I would be more than happy to recommend The Cliff House

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happymanxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

It can be windy at Barton, but this hotel is not windy, it has substance. Stayed just one night whilst visiting family. Was upgraded to a small double from a single and enjoyed the view. The room I had was crisp clean beach style, reminiscent of the local beach huts. I slept well and breakfast was good. I found all of the staff very helpful and friendly. Having lived in the area some time ago it was great to return to a well run hotel, that is the best value in the area. Try if you are in the are, even just for lunch. You will like it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bh256tr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Spent all of Sunday afternoon sitting out on the terrace. Had their Sunday lunch menu - great tasting food, well cooked and great value for money. Service was excellent - efficient and friendly.
And the view and the setting are fabulous!
Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FCR8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barton-on-Sea
0.8 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,872 reviews
3.3 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
733 reviews
5.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
741 reviews
6.8 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff House

Address: Marine Drive West, Barton-on-Sea, New Forest, New Milton BH25 7QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > New Milton > Barton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Barton-on-Sea
Price Range: £92 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cliff House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent Restaurant, Bar & Rooms. Stunning Cliff Top Views, Friendly Service, Delicious Food. Eat, Drink & Sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Cliff House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff House Barton-On-Sea, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing