We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice setting, but poor food at a very high price.”
Review of The Cliff House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cliff House
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice setting, but poor food at a very high price.”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My wife and I went for lunch at this hotel which we have walked past for years. It has a lovely setting overlooking the sea with distant view of the Needles, IOW. We were drawn in by the sign saying best food in Barton, and super salads. The staff were friendly and attentive. We chose the daily salad at £12.50 each. We were amazed when it arrived - 2 lettuce leaves, 3 tomatoes and 10 1cm cubes of ham, half of which were fat! The worse salad we have had - we were so disappointed, and annoyed to be charged £25 for food that probably cost £3. We commented to our waitress, who said she would pass our comment on, but no one came and spoke to us. We reluctantly paid and left. Never again! Our advice...keep walking past.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    41
    15
    15
    2
See reviews for
30
101
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brackley
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We had a lovely weekend at the Cliff House Hotel, set in a stunning location, a small family run place - the staff were warm and welcoming and food excellent. Accommodation was clean and homely - bed comfy. We took bicycles with us and the owners very kindly looked after them in their private yard. If the towels in the ensuite had not been so harsh and the shower had been easier to turn on it would have been perfect. (Dover Room). We would not hesitate to return as it is a brilliant location for the New Forest and surrounding areas.

Room Tip: Any room would be suitable as it is a quiet location with sea views available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinedrivewest, Manager at The Cliff House, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review, and for letting us know about the shower and towels.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

All the best,

The Cliff House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I recently stayed at the hotel with my husband, for a 2 night stay. The location is fantastic and you can't beat the views. We felt the rooms were a bit tired and shabby, with dated furniture and an adequate but an unknown brand TV and we therefore felt were a little overpriced. Also the room was generally clean, but could have done with a bit more. The bed was comfortable and we slept well. The breakfast was nice, but tablecloths and linen napkins would be good. We also had dinner once in the restaurant, well in the sun lounge (again tablecloths and napkins would be good). The food was very good, but again a little overpriced in our opinion. The staff were all very pleasant, but service was a little chaotic. Overall I would be happy to stay here again, as the view and food were good and we had a nice weekend. I think some modernisation is required, but we have spotted the hotel is for sale on the right move website, so maybe new owners will be able to do this.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelAC_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinedrivewest, Manager at The Cliff House, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you very much for your review, we appreciate the time you have taken to give us your feedback and hope to welcome you back to stay with us again soon.
We're sorry that you felt the room you stayed in was a bit tired and shabby. We had actually re-decorated it a few months prior to your stay, we will speak to our decorators! The furniture in this room was also replaced recently and is, as you say, meant to be shabby chic, not just shabby. We are glad you enjoyed your meal here with us, our new menus have proved very popular with some fantastic feedback on some new dishes. We pride ourselves on sourcing fresh, local and seasonal products for our menus and offer two dining occasions for customers; one casual in the sunlounge and a more formal restaurant with table cloths and napkins.
Although the hotel has been put on the market by the current owners, I can assure that they still remain dedicated to the hotel, its staff and most importantly, its customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We have recently returned from a short break and was total impressed by the location and the hotel.
Upon arrival was greeted by Kerry, who made us a drink when we finished unpacking, made you feel welcome.
The location/ view was amazing from the lounge area, which was very well kept
Our rooms over looked the bay, with views of the Isle of Wight and Christchurch.
The rooms were spotless, our room Portland had tea/ coffee facilities, television, bathroom with shower.
My Parents in law stayed in the Plymouth room, and was as above but had a bath with a shower over the bath.
Breakfast was excellent, good choice, cereals, juice and a nice cooked english, all supplied with plenty of coffee and tea.
Again the view at breakfast was lovely.
The staff where all kind, polite, nothing was to much trouble.
Location wise you are very handy to the fantastic scenery this part of the coast has to offer, also the New Forest.
Our thanks to Donald, Kerry & all the staff for making our short stay memorable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank european36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed as down with friends for one night. Staff very helpful but the room was too hot, the duvet was a thick winter one and nothing else on offer! The room was fine although the decor was a little shabby! But great as a one night B&B. they had also taken note of our special dietary requirements and if needed we could have had gluten free bread.

Room Tip: Sea view brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jac7116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Phoned to book a room for 2 adults and one child and was advised there was a room but was not sure whether could fit an extra bed. Thought this was funny as surely if you are left in charge of room bookings you should know this. Staff member had to ring me back. When they rang back they said that it was possible which I was happy about but there was an issue with the system so she would get her manager to ring first thing in the morning when put on system. Received call apologising in the morning but the room had gone in between and I could not now stay. Disgraceful service absolute worse customer service experienced. A room that was put on hold for a customer by the hotel due to the hotels staff incompetence as they could not use system was released prior to them taking the action that they promised and that was just the booking experience! Had to tell family that we were not now staying. Disappointing!! Oh I was offered the number of a bed and breakfast 'over the road'. Great!!!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Holiday13swest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barton7ql, Owner at The Cliff House, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
We are sorry you had difficulty booking a room with us. At the time of your enquiry (late on Tuesday evening)the young lady who dealt with you was just finishing closing up the restaurant. We were not asked to hold the room overnight for you and she was not sure whether a z bed would be suitable to fit into the only room we had left for this weekend. We have an online booking system and unfortunately our only remaining room was sold overnight. Our Front of House Manager called you first thing in the morning to explain the situation and offered the highly rated bed and breakfast over the road as an option. Surely had you wanted a room with an extra bed for a child for a busy Easter weekend it would have been advisable not to have left it to the last minute and venting your frustration at length on a member of my staff was both ineffectual and unhelpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I have been to Cliff House restaurant few months ago for the first time (and have been there few time since) and i was very surprised! The food was very well prepared and delicious. The price was very reasonable at £16 for three courses. At that price you are not expecting a 5 stars food however i was very pleased with a delicious Venison Carpacio for starter, duo of Partridge as a main and chocolate fondant for dessert. Everything Tasted beautifully. Cant beleive that people said in previous reviews that the mushy peas tasted like Baby poo (personaly never fancied trying baby poo so don't know how it taste like...). I will definatly recommend it for a relax good value for money meal with great atmosphere and stunning views!! Will definatly go back there!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frenchy28Chartres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barton-on-Sea
0.8 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
3.6 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Eastclose Country House Hotel
5.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
3.3 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff House

Property: The Cliff House
Address: Marine Drive West, Barton-on-Sea, New Forest, New Milton BH25 7QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > New Milton > Barton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Barton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cliff House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent Restaurant, Bar & Rooms. Stunning Cliff Top Views, Friendly Service, Delicious Food. Eat, Drink & Sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Cliff House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff House Barton-On-Sea, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing