We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Predictably First Class”
Review of The Cliff House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cliff House
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Predictably First Class”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We are frequent visitors to the Cliff House as the service and food are consistantly good. The menu offers traditional combinations with just the right twists to make them interesting, beautifully cooked and served by an attentive group of waiting staff. The prices for the three course Table D'Hote are sensibly priced,given the standard and presentation of the locally sourced food, and with a drink you will see change from £25 pp. If you want somewhere special as a treat then this is an excellent choice - particularly if the sun shines , giving a magnificent view across to the IOW.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DorsetLadBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    40
    15
    15
    2
See reviews for
31
103
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
107 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We recently returned from a wonderful stay at the Cliff House. We were greeted very warmly by Jon and then met the lovely proprietors, Donald and Kerry. Our room was really comfortable with a superb view of The Needles and a very special plus for contact lens wearers - the various ledges around the basin in the bathroom were in exactly the right place for us! Believe me, this is a very rare find and is a real bonus. The wooden blinds in the room provided privacy when needed whilst not obscuring the glorious view.

The breakfasts were superb, taken in the lovely sun lounge at a very civilised hour! The delicious sausages, granola, fresh fruit salad and bread (all homemade) catered for all preferences.

We have stayed in top-class hotels all over the world but for us the Cliff House really stood out. The proprietors are super people with a great sense of humour and we shall be back very soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dorienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinedrivewest, Manager at The Cliff House, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

All the Best,

The Cliff House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My wife and I went for lunch at this hotel which we have walked past for years. It has a lovely setting overlooking the sea with distant view of the Needles, IOW. We were drawn in by the sign saying best food in Barton, and super salads. The staff were friendly and attentive. We chose the daily salad at £12.50 each. We were amazed when it arrived - 2 lettuce leaves, 3 tomatoes and 10 1cm cubes of ham, half of which were fat! The worse salad we have had - we were so disappointed, and annoyed to be charged £25 for food that probably cost £3. We commented to our waitress, who said she would pass our comment on, but no one came and spoke to us. We reluctantly paid and left. Never again! Our advice...keep walking past.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackley
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We had a lovely weekend at the Cliff House Hotel, set in a stunning location, a small family run place - the staff were warm and welcoming and food excellent. Accommodation was clean and homely - bed comfy. We took bicycles with us and the owners very kindly looked after them in their private yard. If the towels in the ensuite had not been so harsh and the shower had been easier to turn on it would have been perfect. (Dover Room). We would not hesitate to return as it is a brilliant location for the New Forest and surrounding areas.

Room Tip: Any room would be suitable as it is a quiet location with sea views available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinedrivewest, Manager at The Cliff House, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review, and for letting us know about the shower and towels.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

All the best,

The Cliff House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I recently stayed at the hotel with my husband, for a 2 night stay. The location is fantastic and you can't beat the views. We felt the rooms were a bit tired and shabby, with dated furniture and an adequate but an unknown brand TV and we therefore felt were a little overpriced. Also the room was generally clean, but could have done with a bit more. The bed was comfortable and we slept well. The breakfast was nice, but tablecloths and linen napkins would be good. We also had dinner once in the restaurant, well in the sun lounge (again tablecloths and napkins would be good). The food was very good, but again a little overpriced in our opinion. The staff were all very pleasant, but service was a little chaotic. Overall I would be happy to stay here again, as the view and food were good and we had a nice weekend. I think some modernisation is required, but we have spotted the hotel is for sale on the right move website, so maybe new owners will be able to do this.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelAC_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinedrivewest, Manager at The Cliff House, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you very much for your review, we appreciate the time you have taken to give us your feedback and hope to welcome you back to stay with us again soon.
We're sorry that you felt the room you stayed in was a bit tired and shabby. We had actually re-decorated it a few months prior to your stay, we will speak to our decorators! The furniture in this room was also replaced recently and is, as you say, meant to be shabby chic, not just shabby. We are glad you enjoyed your meal here with us, our new menus have proved very popular with some fantastic feedback on some new dishes. We pride ourselves on sourcing fresh, local and seasonal products for our menus and offer two dining occasions for customers; one casual in the sunlounge and a more formal restaurant with table cloths and napkins.
Although the hotel has been put on the market by the current owners, I can assure that they still remain dedicated to the hotel, its staff and most importantly, its customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We have recently returned from a short break and was total impressed by the location and the hotel.
Upon arrival was greeted by Kerry, who made us a drink when we finished unpacking, made you feel welcome.
The location/ view was amazing from the lounge area, which was very well kept
Our rooms over looked the bay, with views of the Isle of Wight and Christchurch.
The rooms were spotless, our room Portland had tea/ coffee facilities, television, bathroom with shower.
My Parents in law stayed in the Plymouth room, and was as above but had a bath with a shower over the bath.
Breakfast was excellent, good choice, cereals, juice and a nice cooked english, all supplied with plenty of coffee and tea.
Again the view at breakfast was lovely.
The staff where all kind, polite, nothing was to much trouble.
Location wise you are very handy to the fantastic scenery this part of the coast has to offer, also the New Forest.
Our thanks to Donald, Kerry & all the staff for making our short stay memorable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank european36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed as down with friends for one night. Staff very helpful but the room was too hot, the duvet was a thick winter one and nothing else on offer! The room was fine although the decor was a little shabby! But great as a one night B&B. they had also taken note of our special dietary requirements and if needed we could have had gluten free bread.

Room Tip: Sea view brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jac7116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barton-on-Sea
0.8 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,772 reviews
5.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
705 reviews
3.6 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
7.0 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,025 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff House

Property: The Cliff House
Address: Marine Drive West, Barton-on-Sea, New Forest, New Milton BH25 7QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > New Milton > Barton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Barton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cliff House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent Restaurant, Bar & Rooms. Stunning Cliff Top Views, Friendly Service, Delicious Food. Eat, Drink & Sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Cliff House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff House Barton-On-Sea, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing