We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If Carlsberg run guesthouses...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Watersedge Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Bucks
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“If Carlsberg run guesthouses...”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

My hubbie, myself and two friends decided we needed a short break away by the seaside to re-charge the batteries, and thankfully this exceptional guesthouse not only did this, but much more besides! Sylvie, Alan and Sandra really do go out of their way to make sure all their guests' needs are catered for. They were welcoming and friendly without being intrusive and we particularly loved how they go to the trouble of remembering your names and using them throughout your stay. As you will see, we even managed to squeeze in a 'Four in a Hot-tub' session, lovely bubbly! We were originally planning to stay in a hotel but are so glad we stumbled upon this little gem instead. It goes without saying that we will be back next year, and hopefully not just as guests but as friends also. Thank you Alan and Sylvie for your warm and generous hospitality, we wish you a busy and successful summer season (after of course you've had the chance to re-stock the bar!). Best wishes, Glenn, Sue, Jane and Steve.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snoozie-sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    39
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
87
173
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wolverhampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

A very enjoyable 3 night stay. Sylvie & Alan made me very welcome. Safe place to park motorbike. Comfortable room, wonderful breakfast. Could not fault anything. Will definitely be booking up again later in the year (looking forward to it).

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neil b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Susssex
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We stayed for a couple of nights and had a great time. It's in a lovely, quiet residential area directly overlooking the sea. From the moment we arrived, we knew this would be a good place to stay. We were made to feel so very welcome by both Sylvie & Alan, as many have said on previous reviews. Nothing was too much trouble for them or their team. The views from the Needles room are lovely. The bathroom, albeit being just down the landing is spacious and exclusive to this room. Everything was clean, the bed was very comfortable and a good selection of tempting food awaited us at breakfast (the fresh fruit and the sausages were gorgeous!) You are encouraged to meet other guests and sit and chat with them and the owners over a drink or two in the small bar area. There is some work going on the extend this in to the conservatory which will make it an even more inviting place to stay. Sylvie even showed us around the other rooms before we left as we mentioned we had seen them on their website. We travel a lot and only occasionally go back to the same place again. Waters Edge is an exception, we are already trying to plan our next visit. You could not ask for a warmer welcome....go there!!

Room Tip: The Garden Room is lovely, but if you want that beautiful sea view, go for the Needles Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HEFTIES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvie M, Owner at Watersedge Guest House, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to comment on Watersedge Guest House . We were delighted you enjoyed your stay . Your comments have been shared with the team . We look forward to welcoming you back to Watersedge Guest House, Kind regards Alan & Sylvie Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2012

The rooms are big, spacious and comfortable. The hospitality is good and good breakfast in the morning is lovely, good salty bacon.. Hmmmm and the tropical juice is amazing. Anyway the view over the sea is wonderful and this was an overall excellent B & B for the overall package and value. 5 stars!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrinityHigh2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvie M, Owner at Watersedge Guest House, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to comment on Watersedge Guest House . We were delighted you enjoyed your stay . Your comments have been shared with the team . We look forward to welcoming you back to Watersedge Guest House, Kind regards Alan & Sylvie Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Barr, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We arrived at the B&B and found Sylvie and Alan to be friendly and down to earth, and made us feel very welcome as if we had stayed their before, we found it to be very comfortable and clean, and breakfast was top banana could not fault it. Lovely room and sea views, will be definitely staying again in the near future. Alan & Sylvia your top Banana see you again soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvie M, Owner at Watersedge Guest House, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to comment on Watersedge Guest House . We were delighted you enjoyed your stay . Your comments have been shared with the team . We look forward to welcoming you back to Watersedge Guest House, Kind regards Alan & Sylvie Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We stayed again on Jubilee weekend in the new downstairs room. The garage has been converted. Not very tidy area outside the patio doors (empty plastic containers, building rubble and a boat motor), the bed was very large and very comfortable but the room was next to the kitchen and opposite staff quarters and so was very noisy. Also the room was very stuffy as there was no window to open and the doors opened on to the parking area. Had the door open for a bit but there is a smoking area just outside the front door which was not very nice. However, this is still a nice place to stay, very friendly, lovely breakfast and lovely to overlook the sea. Was just not very relaxing.

Room Tip: It is a very nice guesthouse just not if you want a quiet time. Best room is The Needles. Also the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimGordelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nr Bruton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2012

This was the best guest house that we have stayed in for the last five years.Clean,comfortable and so friendly,the atmosphere was warm and relaxed,the choice at breakfast was fantastic,having the binoculars in the boys room and on the balcony was a great extra,the views are wonderful .
Thank you ,all of you for a great weekend,we will definitely stay again next time we visit our friends in Southampton
Gerald Helen Dan& Kevin

Room Tip: We chose rooms 1 & 2 gorgeous sea views and although room1 has a separate bathroom it was spacio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvie M, Owner at Watersedge Guest House, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to comment on Watersedge Guest House . We were delighted you enjoyed your stay . Your comments have been shared with the team . We look forward to welcoming you back to Watersedge Guest House, Kind regards Alan & Sylvie Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barton-on-Sea
0.6 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
3.7 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
3.2 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
6.7 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watersedge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watersedge Guest House

Property: Watersedge Guest House
Address: 10 Marine Drive West | New Milton, Barton-on-Sea, New Forest, New Milton BH25 7QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > New Milton > Barton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Barton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Watersedge Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Watersedge Guest House is situated directly on cliff top at Barton on Sea, overlooking Isle of Wight (The Needles), Swanage & Bournemouth. We have 8 bedrooms(family room, sleeps 5). 1 external garden accommodation (Koi Lodge)Sleeps max 6 persons. Pet Friendly accommodation! Fully stocked licensed Bar/Lounge and beer garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Watersedge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watersedge Guest House Barton-On-Sea, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing