We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Fish menu on the South Coast”
Review of Pebble Beach Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pebble Beach Rooms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had an excellent lunch overlooking the Isle of Wight.Everything was cooked to perfection.Our Starters of King Scallops and Squid and Chorizo were very nice.Main course of Sea bass in pernod and Turbot in thyme and roasted garlic were delicious and Dessert of Apricot Nougat Ice cream rounded the meal beautifully.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank TonyandValW654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

I booked this based on an MSN report of restaurants with excellent views. Yes it does indeed have excellent views. Other than that it is a very dated restaurant with a tired terrace and definitely does not live up to the pictures posted on line. A previous review wondered why they had not spent money updating this place, well the answer is probably that it is perched on the top on a cliff...
One positive was the excellent service of the waiting staff, very professional and could not find fault.
The food on the other hand promised a lot but failed to deliver for the money or even on taste. We had starter and main only. Lowlights, starter of 1/2 melon with raspberries in the middle and a suprise shot of dessert wine? which was ordered for a 12 year old. Nicely cooked scallops but let down with an over cooked dull pea puree and a watery brown gravy? Mains were also disappointing. Tempura Lobster tail with fragments of shell. Halibut a bit overcooked and dry. Pork stuffed with whole sage leaf! Way to much and overpowered the dish. So couple this with a drink each and the bill came to £110. I would have felt unhappy paying half this amount considering the poor cooking and lack of finesse.
I seem to be in the minority of negative reviews for this place but tonight I also noted other tables not too happy with the food so maybe the chef was having a night off.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jonathan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed here for one night in July 2014. The room was well equipped and the staff friendly. Couple of grumbles, I requested an iron and neither of the ones I was given worked...plus if you opt to have continental breakfast in your room (as cooked breakfast isn't available until late in the morning) it is delivered late to you room, 10pm in my case. In the morning I realised that there was no butter for my toast!
Check out was slow as there were no staff around to assist.
As I say, nice room but the service could have been better.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed for three nights to celebrate our anniversary. We chose it because of the terrace and view, which didn't disappoint. As the weather was glorious we enjoyed sitting there in the evening admiring the stunning view. They have heaters if it gets cold. Once checked in we were given a key to the side door out to the car park, so we were able to come and go as we pleased without going through the restaurant. Reception is also there and we had to wait to be checked in until the Sunday lunch had ended but had tea on the terrace, enjoying the weather and views.

I agree this is mainly a restaurant with rooms above. There are three rooms, which are good, spotlessly clean and nice furnishings with no views as such, we had a side view of the sea. We opted for breakfast in the room because we like to be up and out early. Unfortunately the delivery time for the breakfast, brought the night before, is quite random , depending on when the restaurant is quieter I suspect, and on our last night it was gone 10.30pm, we had waited but decided we had missed it and went to bed and unfortunately missed breakfast because we had to leave early the next day and breakfast isn't served until 10am.

We ate in the restaurant once, which was impressive with a varied menu, my husband enjoyed the lobster and the dessert was delicious but it was too expensive to eat there every night of our stay. The staff are all most attentive and helpful.

The walks along the cliffs are gorgeous and right by the hotel but there isn't much else around although the location is handy for the New Forest and nearby seaside towns.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tottie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

A lucky find!!! Pebble Beach is NOT A HOTEL! It’s a restaurant with rooms but don’t let that put you off because this is a very special little place!! The restaurant is outstanding offering a number of different dining experiences depending on where you sit to eat ….the Mediterranean terrace, the elegant dining room or the funky bar with the same menu available in all areas. The menu is extensive offering a great selection of fish, meat and especially seafood. Portions are very generous, everything is served beautifully, its piping hot and delicious and is brilliant value!! To start we had the cheese soufflé/fondue which was huge, hot, tasty and crab soup which was the best we’ve ever tastedf..ever! Mains were crevettes & Langoustine which were fresh, huge, seafood heaven served on a huge ice platter with new potatoes and salad on the side and the seafood pancake was incredible…packed with seafood rather than white fish and a couple of prawns….it was huge, served with lobster sauce, mussels and king prawns!! Unbelievable for £13.50!! No puds although they all looked very tempting!!! The terrace is the best spot, weather permitting ( although they have got large parasols and big patio heaters)…..you could be at a romantic Italian bistro or a cool Caribbean hangout….anywhere but the English south coast! Furnished with big tables & comfy chairs and on the very edge of the beach you can see for miles. The dining room is more formal and the bar is laid back but all beautifully furnished and laid out so diners can’t eavesdrop on each other! Service is outstanding!!! Very friendly, pleasant, helpful, professional staff….all of them were incredible with a warm welcome and fond farewell!!! The rooms are located above the restaurant. Some have sea views but most look over the front or side…..not a nice view! The rooms are all clean, well equipped, comfortable and newly decorated but they are a little bland….i.e. they have no style…not beach/seaside or country chic or contemporary..and they aren’t very big….but overall they are fine for a night. Breakfast is the next treat….continental breakfast is included in the price with full English being about £7 extra. The continental option is amazing!! Sat in comfort on the terrace, we were brought platters of sliced fresh fruit/yoghurts, cheese/hams, pastries/toast all served with plenty of butter, marmalade and loads of lovely fresh coffee. We sat for about 2 hours eating this breakfast feast and at no time did the staff try to make us feel unwelcome or uncomfortable….in fact they encouraged us to take our time and enjoy it!! Breakfast isn’t served until 10am though (because it’s a restaurant with rooms rather than a hotel, the chef doesn’t pitch up til 10!) but if you need to eat before 10am the staff will bring all the food to your room and store it in the fridge ready to be eaten in the room the next morning. Have it served on the terrace if you can…its really worth it!!

Don’t be put off by the location….its in a residential area and looks a bit bleak but get inside and out the back then you’ll see what all the fuss is about!!

Overall I would highly recommend Pebble Beach ….as a restaurant and a restaurant with rooms!!! The food is fantastic, service amazing, terrace is priceless and all at great value!!!

I took loads of fotos but they didn’t come out….so you’ll have to see it for yourself!!

Room Tip: get a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsb1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We dined here on the advice of many people who have raved about this restaurant, however tonight was not something I would be happy to recommend. When i called they advised us it would be a second sitting which is fine. We arrived and had drinks at the bar. When we were shown to our table we were offered a mainly empty and pretty stale bread selection with butter straight from the fridge! Our starter was delicious, we ordered the seafood platter to share...it was lovely, a couple of the oysters however had lots of shell left from when they had been opened. After we finished we waited a while and then my partner went to use the facilities. When he returned our starters were still on the table. After a wait they were cleared and our mains did follow. We ordered the John Dory. When the plate arrived the presentation was not what we had expected. For £23 we expected a little finesse, but it was all piled together with pea shoots thrown on top. The sauce we found over powered the fish, but this is probably personal preference. After we had eaten our mains, having not been checked by any member of staff, my partner asked to order more of the tempura prawns only to be told that the kitchen was closed! We settled instead for desserts. We ordered along with dessert wines and retired outside to enjoy some sea air as we had ordered chocolate fondant. A few moments later we were told our dessert wine was not available. Ok so an alternative? The waitress clearly was unsure of her wines, suggesting something that would not work with the dish. When the desserts arrived my brûlée was hardly caramelised on top. It came with raspberries on it and when you rolled a raspberry across the top lots of brown sugar stuff to it. I waved to get the waitresses attention, but she was more interested in getting payment from another table. The staff then began setting the tables talking very loudly to each other. Not exactly the atmosphere we were hoping would end our meal. Oh and our bill was wrong, two extra drinks were charged on it.
We did have a nice evening, the setting is lovely with a beautiful view, but tonight the service and some aspects of the food were decidedly disappointing.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Food as always was good but the service was a disaster we waited over 40 minutes to get a drink and then 45 minutes for starters no bread no butter and it was if they forgot about us They waived the service charge

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barton-on-Sea
1 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
2,019 reviews
3.3 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
580 reviews
2.8 mi away
Eastclose Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
6.3 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
6.8 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pebble Beach Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pebble Beach Rooms

Address: Marine Drive, Barton-on-Sea, New Forest, New Milton BH25 7DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > New Milton > Barton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Barton-on-Sea
Price Range: £67 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pebble Beach Rooms 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pebble Beach Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pebble Beach Hotel Barton-On-Sea
Pebble Beach Rooms Barton-On-Sea, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing