We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Please label your lovely cakes!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Beachcomber Cafe

Beachcomber Cafe
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, View
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Traditional, family run cafe since 1989, open 364 days a year from 9am. We serve breakfast and lunch, hot and cold drinks and various cakes and snacks. We are fully licensed.
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Please label your lovely cakes!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

I am local to Beachcomber and have finally started to have afternoon cakes there. Always fresh and good value. Plus they allow dogs inside which I appreciate!

My only small gripe is, there are never labels or prices! So I asked the young man behind counter what the cakes were. He looked and sounded so fed up having to explain (probably for the 17th time that day) what each cake was! I could not hear his disinterested voice due to the packed café, so I just took a chance and guessed.

Here is an idea, if the management cannot be bothered to do labels – use some initiative and make them yourself!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    176
    48
    29
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“And the dog came too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We love stopping off at the Beachcomber Cafe after we've been for a walk along the beach at Barton on Sea, sometimes just for a coffee and other times for a full breakfast. The staff are very friendly, the atmosphere is very relaxed, the food is good and we love the fact that our (sometimes wet) dog can come in too.

It can get very busy in the summer, so we think it's at its best off-season, when the contrast between the bracing beach and the cosy warm interior adds to the whole experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rwsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaulieu, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Ice Cream please”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

This comfortable cafe is always spotless and provides good food and service. It is disappointing that their Ice Cream Parlour is closed during the Winter; as Marshfield Farm Ice Cream is probably the best you can get in this country. I hope it will open soon?

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FS28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Shhhhh dont tell anyone else........”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Great place to pop in for coffee and cake or a cooked breakfast. On the cliff top with a roaring log burner. Great food, friendly staff. But dont tell everyone or well never get a table.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, Tennessee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Just had Sunday Lunch here, wonderful, three hugs slices of beef, roast potatoes, Yorkshire, Fresh Vegetables and superb gravy, was so tasty, they were very busy but we only had to wait about ten minutes, and well worth the wait, finished off with Bread and Butter pudding and ice cream, would defiantly recommend this place, staff were friendly and helpful, view was lovely, cant wait to visit again, a little Gem :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 53Carole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beachcomber Cafe also viewed

 
Highcliffe, Christchurch
Highcliffe, Christchurch
 

Been to Beachcomber Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing