We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exactly as expected.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Marine View

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
The coastline & beach
Sunset over the Isle of Wight
The cliff top walk
Sailing on the Beaulieu river
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Barton-on-Sea, New Milton, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Paul B
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exactly as expected. ”
Reviewed 6 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We found this apartment to be brilliantly located for the beach, clean, and despite being quite small, there was enough room for everything we needed.

Our family is my wife, myself and our five year old daughter and we could all relax in comfort.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Go698682
1 review
“Great Apartment and great base to explore”
Reviewed 19 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Just spent 5 days at the Marine View, having last stayed 3 years ago. I can't relate to any comment left in the review below; a great apartment, furnished to a good standard and clean throughout.

Every convenience you could ask for is provided, including fast WiFi, decent white goods and television.

I would highly recommend to anyone that loves the outdoors; beach on your doorstep and a short drive into the heart of the New Forest.

Would highly recommend to anyone, particularly for the price offered, and intend to visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mojomini2...
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Home early. Very unhappy”
Reviewed 12 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

First impression was how cold and dark it was inside. Nothing like portrayed in the pictures. Parking was horrendous. Smell of cigarettes in the bathroom. Noisy. Both traffic and neighbours. On first glance the flat looked clean however not all was as first thought. Bath plug/plug hole and sink plug hole horrible. Sink in the kitchen and drainer very stained. The issue with parking was terrible and in the 2 days we stayed I had to park in a pay and display car park 4 times because the parking spaces outside the flat were all full. Needless to say both myself and my husband were not happy. So much so that we left a day early.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2017
So dissapointed with these comments particularly as there were upgrades carried out over the winter. We cannot agree that the flat is dark (please refer to previous reviews) and apart from the night storage heaters, that were all on, there is additional electric heaters for your comfort. Barton on Sea is a quiet neighbourhood so we do not know where the noise was coming from. We must apologise for the bath plug as the pop-up waisted was broken and put a rubber plug in as a temporary measure - next on the list when the plumber is available. We have discovered that the neighbour in the flat next door was smoking and this came through the bathroom extractor vent - and has now been resolved as we have fitted a new non-return extractor.

Parking, particularly at this time of year, should not have been a problem. Instead of the 'pay & display' car park there is always free parking along Barton Court Avenue which is closer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen6616
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 4 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

A lovely well - equipped apartment. Amazing location - so close to beach and cliff walks. Warm despite cold weather. Everything worked as it should. Hope to visit again soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2017
Many thanks for your review, we hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
8littlemi...
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ideally situated & good value for money”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Directions provided by the owner were clear and instructions to access property accurate. It is very convenient for the beach and for travel to other attractions on the south coast and in the New Forest. The owner provided a second key which is thoughtful and, in my experience, rare.
WiFi in the property was reliable throughout my stay even during some extremes of weather and the FreeSat gave a good choice of TV channels. Lots of books provided also although I was mostly fortunate with the weather and spent most of my visit walking and watching the waves.
The property was very clean and bright - I liked the white walls and the occasional accessories which reflected the beach theme. I especially liked the Sam Toft prints in the lounge which were an unusual take on the theme.
The kitchen was well equipped and brightly lit. On arrival, I found the musty smell mentioned in other feedback to be present only in the crockery cupboard which I left open and it soon dissipated.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Closeness to beach
Liked least: Occasional parking issues
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2016
Many thanks for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Jul 2016
I have just read your review and very disappointed to hear your comments. Any maintenance problems can be easily remedied if reported to us immediately. We have never had complaints about music during unsociable hours before and would only think that unfortunately this was a one off! The mattress was new at the beginning of last season and I am sorry you didn't like the decor - we feel it is bright and clean.
The apartment is not damp - not sure why you say this - and it has a thorough clean after every guest.
I will investigate the other resident who you say is smoking near the outlet to the extractor fan and bring this to his/her attention.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dennis100...
Essex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 10 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Good value 1 bedroom flat, parking and location excellent. Could improve by supplying more towels and replacing shower head. But no problem rating 5 out of 5

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2016
Many thanks for your valuable comments. As most apartments we do provide 1x bath towel and hand towel per person, but if you required more we would have been happy to supply extra. Thanks for bringing our attention to the shower head - this has now been replaced.

Very glad you enjoyed the area and hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing