We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Bed and breakfast.”
Review of Lake Farmhouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sheepwash
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lake Farmhouse
Ranked #2 of 2 Sheepwash B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights with 5 of our friends. On arrival we were greeted warmly with a cup of tea, tour of the grounds and house, shown to our generous room and left to get settled. The rooms were spacious and immaculately kept, with views over the grounds. The weather was terrific so we took advantage of the heated pool, enjoyed a few drinks and sat out until dusk enjoying a delicious BBQ!
All in all, amazing food, great local pub, easy access to bude beach(20 mins in the car). Looking forward to the next visit!

Dave and Jamie

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dadams1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

Gorgeous B&B that's really somewhere that you can relax and enjoy the peace and quiet of the countryside, warm welcome from Erica and Gary and a supremely clean room with fantastic views of the gardens and animals. Lovely pool (shame it chose to rain when we visited!), delicious home cooking and the feeling of true countryside peace and quiet that makes it a welcome getaway from city life.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Stayed here to attend a wedding nearby. Loved it. Unpretentious and relaxed. Large comfy room and a sitting room for guests. Big luxury bathrooms. Generous and quiet hospitality. Lots of thoughtful touches e. g. fresh milk for tea in rooms. No TV in bedrooms was a delightful change from boring chain hotels and added to the perfect peace. Charming owner even lit a log fire for us on a chilly June evening. Too cold for the outside pool which looked a lovely spot. Hospitality at its best. Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LBS50_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

My husband and I recently enjoyed a two night stay with Erica and Gary and had a really wonderful time.

The welcome we received was warm and genuine and we felt beautifully cared for throughout our stay. Our room was a huge, comfortable space which was excellently furnished and spotlessly clean. We also appreciated the extra touches such as books on the local area and a flask of fresh milk for our tea and coffee.

Breakfast was first-class, lots of choice and really good quality, and we also followed the hosts' recommendations as to the local pub - which turned out to be spot-on.

The grounds of Lake Farmhouse are lovely and it is a perfect spot for animal lovers with a menagerie that includes chickens, sheep, pigs, pheasants and a very sleepy cat. I only wish the weather had been good enough for us to use the pool.

I really can't praise this property enough, it's like being a house guest in a little piece of paradise.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Our recent stay here was really lovely and Erica and Gary made every effort to make us feel welcome. After a 6 hour drive we were welcomed in to a warm inviting home with a fresh cup of tea and a yummy chocolate muffin. The rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean with loads of storage. Nothing is too much trouble here. I am a vegetarian and there were lots of options at breakfast. Fresh water and variety of tea/coffee is in the room along with kettle, hairdryer and flask of cold milk. There is a great balance of homely feel and efficient business. No 'fussing' about precisely what time you will want breakfast (which I have had in some other B&B's) - just relaxed and comfortable. My only teeny tiny criticism would be that I wouldn't have minded having a TV in the communal lounge, but there is plenty to do in the area, so this isnt a major worry!

Room Tip: The garden room has a gorgeous view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oOmaundOo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We spent last weekend at Lake Farmhouse and really enjoyed our stay with Erica and Gary. Many owners of hotels and B&Bs talk about giving good service or meeting guests needs. Both Erica and Gary made us feel so welcome, they anticipated all our requirements beautifully and we were very very comfortable indeed.
A good bed, lots of hot water, spotlessly clean, a real home from home feeling about the place and an amazing breakfast to see us on our way the next morning.

If you are in Devon and want somewhere a bit special then this is it ....... I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: I don't think there would be a poor room at Lake Farm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolineWatersports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

This was our second stay here and it was superb. The rooms and bathrooms have been completely re-furnished to a very high standard. The bedrooms are simply furnished with mainly antique furniture with a simple colour scheme of dark brown furniture with white carpet, bed, towels, etc. and it looks terrific. Plus no TV/DVD to clutter up the room. The bathrooms are also superb and the level of quality is better than pretty much any hotel I've ever stayed in.

Erica's food was as first-rate as ever, with eggs from the chickens outside and some of the veg being from the garden. Generous portions of healthy, top quality food served with real care and attention. Make no mistake - this is better than most restaurants.

We stayed in the Garden Bedroom at £85 a night including a faultless (black pudding available!) cooked breakfast. That is a bargain for a place like this.

Gary and Erica made us feel so at home it took us all of an hour to totally wind down. This is how all B+Bs should be run. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulus_Maximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lake Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Farmhouse

Address: Lake Farm, Sheepwash EX21 5PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sheepwash
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sheepwash
Price Range: £54 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Erica and Gary warmly welcome you to their home in the heart of rural Devon. Lake Farmhouse is a traditional bed and breakfast where you can get away from it all and luxuriate in the surrounding peace and quiet, with rooms starting from £37.50 per person. We serve hearty breakfasts and optional evening meals, all freshly cooked on the AGA and ingredients are either home grown or locally sourced. We offer comfortable beds in spacious bedrooms, luxury bathrooms, a guest sitting room with inglenook fireplace for chilly evenings, free Wi-Fi, use of an outdoor heated swimming pool during the summer months, plenty of free parking and space in the stone barns for bikes and surfboards etc. Garden design courses can be arranged to suit guests, where you can create a truly individual and beautiful plan for your own garden with the help and expertise of a professional garden designer. Guests are welcome to wander around the property and see our smallholding of traditional breed chickens, lambs and pigs. Lake Farmhouse is an ideal base to explore the unspoilt areas of Devon and Cornwall, to discover picturesque villages, pubs full of character, dramatic coastlines and traditional market towns. Come and stay and experience a slice of real Devon life. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lake Farmhouse Sheepwash, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing