We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect place to rest” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Farmhouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sheepwash
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lake Farmhouse
Ranked #2 of 2 Sheepwash B&B and Inns
Lechlade, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect place to rest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at the Lake Farmhouse over night during our coast 2 coast ride as part of a group of 8 on tandems. As we were the last couple to confirm Erica said they could still put us up but in a converted "broom cupboard". Our room was no cupboard it was very comfortable and spacious with soft towels and a large comfortable bed. The bathroom is the most spectacular we have ever seen and the rain shower was just the ticket after a mornings cycling. We were greeted with tea and home made almond cake by the pool followed by a delicious home cooked meal. The gardens are wonderful. Breakfast was first class and Erica's home made granola is a must followed by a high quality full English to send us on our way. Please do not be put off by the broken track to the house it is serviceable and is not representative of the sublime service from Erica and Gary awaiting at the end of it.

Room Tip: If you can get the room with the en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

After trying a couple of pitstops along Coast to Coast cycle route in the past this was an absolute gem of a find! Gorgeous spacious, light, clean and airy rooms in a beautiful setting. Better than a home from home as we had all the luxury and comforts with none of the work ;) I'm often a little wary of staying in smaller B&Bs as it sometimes feels too intrusive but this home is so lovely and spacious with clear really welcoming guest spaces expertly managed by Erica and Gary's hosting skills that you really feel very relaxed and looked after without being overwhelmed- don't underestimate how tricky this is to get right; lake house made this seem effortless and as I say got the perfect balance .... Would definitely recommend (with sumptuous evening meal of course) and we hope to return in the future. Thanks again for ensuring that we were fighting fit for day 2 and beyond!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TCdaymer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed at Lake Farmhouse for a three night break in March. Erica and Gary were wonderful hosts - friendly, welcoming and always happy to chat. We had a lovely big room overlooking the gardens, where we could watch the lambs playing and the pheasants and chickens strutting on the lawn. The bathroom was luxurious and the house is full of character. The farmhouse is situated in the thick of the Devonshire countryside, so it is not easy to nip out for an evening meal, but there really is no need, as Erica's cooking is sublime - so make sure you stay in and enjoy a hearty meal before relaxing in front of the roaring fire. Do leave room for breakfast though, as the homemade muesli and cooked breakfast with local produce is superb. High recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mountainbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Perfect place to retreat. Kind, accommodating, generous, lovely people. Amazing food. Astonishing bread, jams and marmalades. Eggs for Erica's hens. Good walking roundabout.Will be back in the summer to try out the pool.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdwardAlexanderJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

With the strains and stresses of everyday day life this was bliss - chickens freely roaming around enjoying life, Mr Tibbs the cat in charge, and Erica and Gary's superb hospitality. Home made curry to greet us after a long journey and a thoroughly relaxed atmosphere. Awesome room - didn't know whether to sleep longways or sideways on the bed - best night's sleep for ages! Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Wow. This place is a dream. Erica and Gary are beyond warm and welcoming. The grounds are beautiful and the breakfast is divine. I felt so comfortable and relaxed here. Slept like a baby and was so sad to leave. I would love to return in the summer and take advantage of the beautiful pool.
xoxox

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights with 5 of our friends. On arrival we were greeted warmly with a cup of tea, tour of the grounds and house, shown to our generous room and left to get settled. The rooms were spacious and immaculately kept, with views over the grounds. The weather was terrific so we took advantage of the heated pool, enjoyed a few drinks and sat out until dusk enjoying a delicious BBQ!
All in all, amazing food, great local pub, easy access to bude beach(20 mins in the car). Looking forward to the next visit!

Dave and Jamie

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dadams1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheepwash hotels
1.2 mi away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#1 of 2 in Sheepwash
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Lake Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Farmhouse

Property: Lake Farmhouse
Address: Lake Farm, Sheepwash EX21 5PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sheepwash
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sheepwash
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Erica and Gary warmly welcome you to their home in the heart of rural Devon. Lake Farmhouse is a traditional bed and breakfast where you can get away from it all and luxuriate in the surrounding peace and quiet, with rooms starting from £37.50 per person. We serve hearty breakfasts and optional evening meals, all freshly cooked on the AGA and ingredients are either home grown or locally sourced. We offer comfortable beds in spacious bedrooms, luxury bathrooms, a guest sitting room with inglenook fireplace for chilly evenings, free Wi-Fi, use of an outdoor heated swimming pool during the summer months, plenty of free parking and space in the stone barns for bikes and surfboards etc. Garden design courses can be arranged to suit guests, where you can create a truly individual and beautiful plan for your own garden with the help and expertise of a professional garden designer. Guests are welcome to wander around the property and see our smallholding of traditional breed chickens, lambs and pigs. Lake Farmhouse is an ideal base to explore the unspoilt areas of Devon and Cornwall, to discover picturesque villages, pubs full of character, dramatic coastlines and traditional market towns. Come and stay and experience a slice of real Devon life. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lake Farmhouse Sheepwash, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing