We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Finnish Wilderness Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nellim Wilderness Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nellim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We spent four nights at the Wilderness Hotel in Nellim on a short break, booked through theaurorazone in March 2014. The snow was lacking but we still managed some amazing activities including rolling a Skidoo on ice on Lake Inari (wife on the back!). The hotel was fab and all staff really friendly. Food was amazing and the drink not too expensive. Rooms were a bit basic but the main building was converted from a school - bathrooms even more basic but everything else made up for this and we were out most of the time anyway. We saw the aurora on two nights but it was weak - don't go just for this and don't be surprised at the number of Japanese doing the same trip but to other hotels.

Room Tip: Get a room in one of the newer buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PSE57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

272 - 278 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

This was our second time to Finland and Nellim is really quite remote, from nearest airport it was a 50km drive to the Hotel. First impressions were very good. Hotel is warm, well appointed, all activities are well organised and planned. Weather was disappointing but there was little anyone could do about that. Food at the Hotel was plentiful and of good quality, and very welcome after days out in the snow.
2 great dog sled trips and an excellent day out on snowmobiles, many thanks to Rambo for sorting out my wife's minor mishap, with minimum of fuss. Excellent, and really challenging cross country skiing course certainly burned off the calories. Well stocked bars and considering vthe location very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mountain_Bike_Rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We spent four nights at the Wilderness Hotel in Nellim on a short break, booked through theaurorazone (trip: Northern Lights over Lake Inari)
We did get to see the lights on night one so we got off to a great start
The Hotel is in the middle of no-where but has all you need for a comfortable and warm stay (especially the bathroom heated floor)
Our room had plenty of space
The food was excellent and the pre-booked activities were great (snowmobiles, snowshoe trek, , husky ride,
Can recommend this trip highly enough

Room Tip: Make sure you try the Sauna (private) and sleep one night in the Bubble
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AndyB1250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed with 3 couples in room 303. Small but comfortable with private sauna. The excursion were great but often shorter than announced.
Credits should go to the excursion leaders; they cared in a responsible way but they were sloppy about safety instructions, except Matthias, the Dutch guy.
The food was great! It really was.
The "but..." In the title refers to the management. Hire a foreigner to care about your daily operations; it will be worth the cost.

Room Tip: Room 303 was great for us, 3 bedroom, 1 bathroom, a sauna with shower and a big living room. A smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hans P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Nellim for 6 nights during March 2014.
The trip started off for us as a northern lights trip, but by the end it was all about the whole experience and all the wonderful activities we got to do.

We booked our package through the Aurora Zone rather than directly through the hotel, although if I was to go again, I would happily book directly through the hotel.

The hotel staff were wonderful and looked after us from the moment that we arrived. We had asked for a room with a sauna and this was sorted out for us prior to arrival. The staff were all extremely professional and friendly and made us feel very welcome.
The guides who took us out for the activities were all brilliant. They were all very knowledgable and ensured that we were going at a pace we were all happy with. There was no rush to return from activities or any clock watching which was nice.

A few people in previous posts have complained about the food, however we loved it all. The breakfast, lunch and dinner selection was more than enough and catered for all diets. The food was wholesome and plentiful.

We were lucky enough to see the lights on both our first and last nights, however unfortunately for the first night we did have our camera set up correctly.

I can't recommend this hotel enough and really hope we get to go back soon!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank amandeep84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Trip was booked through the Aurora Zone, who were excellent in all respects. Ben was the local rep, and looked after us very well.
From our arrival to our departure we were made to feel very welcome, All the staff were excellent.
The rooms and beds were very warm, clean and comfortable, and every meal was a delight, with lots of choice and quantity! Reindeer is excellent....
Before we went, we both imagined that all the activities would be a welcome distraction from the possible disappointment of not seeing the Aurora. In practice, all the activities were great fun: extremely enjoyable and very well organised. All the guides were very friendly and knowledgeable. And if you're very fortunate, you might get to see the Aurora as well.........

Room Tip: We had a twin room a short distance from the main building. Although the cabins in the grounds have...
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mind your own b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We booked a family holiday through Activities Abroad, and thoroughly recommend doing it that way, as it meant everything was organised really well by Ben. The hotel was great, with friendly staff and amazing activities led by superb guides (especially Matty and Oute). We had an apartment with 2 bedrooms, a sitting area and sauna/jacuzzi (no 302) which was great with the children, both those we took and the friends they made. There was a kitchen too, but with all meals included and great food, we didn't really use it other than to make drinks.

The equipment provided was all very high quality and looked new. The acitivites were well-planned and very enjoyable, and the guides were careful to make sure we all had a good time.

We had a night in an Aurora Bubble. That was really, really special and I really recommend it if you have the opportunity.

all in all, it couldn't have been a better holiday. They even arranged for the Aurora to come out on 5 of our 7 nights!!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank welshrainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nellim
23.7 mi away
Hotel Ivalo
Hotel Ivalo
#1 of 2 in Ivalo
369 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Iso-Syote
Hotel Iso-Syote
#1 of 1 in Iso-Syote
281 reviews
23.4 mi away
Kultahippu Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotelli Pikku-Syote
Hotelli Pikku-Syote
#1 of 1 in Syote
20 reviews
24.4 mi away
Aurora Village
Aurora Village
#2 of 5 in Ivalo
16 reviews
24.8 mi away
Ivalo River Camping & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nellim Wilderness Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nellim Wilderness Hotel

Address: Nelliminte 4230, Nellim 99860, Finland
Region: Finland > Lapland > Nellim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nellim
Price Range: £154 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nellim Wilderness Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nellim Wilderness Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing