We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely apartment with a spectacular view of Loch...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ben Macdui

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Fearnan, Loch Tay, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
timgillba...
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely apartment with a spectacular view of Loch Tay.”
Reviewed 2 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Ben Macdui is a lovely apartment with a wonderful view of Loch Tay. The wood burner is a great touch. The apartment has a vast selection of DVDs and the local area is great to explore especially Aberfeldy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare T
1 review
“Beautiful cottage, very homely and well equipped. Quiet with lovely views.”
Reviewed 14 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Beautifully decorated cottage which is very well equipped and feels very homely. It was a lovely base to be able to escape from our usual routine and to be able to explore the gorgeous scenery of Scotland. We did a lot of driving whilst there due to the long windey roads and did miss a pub within walking distance at times to be able to enjoy a drink in the evening but the cosy fire and lanterns along with the brilliant DVD collection made up for it. There are lots of stunning walks in the area. Best place to have a Scottish breakfast locally was Rhino in Aberfeldy and wonderful cafes in Pitlochry.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How cosy it is
Liked least: Having to pay extra for wifi these days feels out of date
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RydalDurh...
Durham
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The ultimate room with a view!”
Reviewed 6 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed at ben Macdui last week and had a wonderful, quiet, relaxing time in a beautiful house. We were joined for a few days by my brother-in law and wife and we all agreed this was one of the best self catering properties we have stayed in. Everything you could ever want was available - including all the usual CD's, DVD's, games, books, maps etc. But what made this place extra special were all the extras - flask, picnic equipment, logs for the open fire, every bit of kitchen equipment you could ever need. The layout, with the bedrooms downstairs means that the upstairs lounge has the most amazing views of Loch Tay. We had wonderful weather so we ate breakfast outside on the balcony each morning. There are 2 bathrooms downstairs and a toilet and wash basin off the kitchen which was a real plus for my husband who has difficulty with stairs. Our overall view was of a real "home from home" and we thoroughly enjoyed our visit.
The Wi-Fi available is BT - free if you have a BT account but £18 for 5 days if not. The Wi-Fi was patchy and slow, but remember this is Highland Perthshire!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the lounge and balcony
Liked least: No real negatives
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
“Almost perfect!”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We had a great week at Ben Macdui, Shoreside, Loch Tay. The apartment is in a perfect setting, with amazing views over the loch. Would be great any time of year. Very well kitted out kitchen, great decor, clean, warm and comfortable. We only have a few small niggles:


1. Apartment is advertised that it has internet access. This is only the case for BT Openworld customers. We only this found out when we contacted Angela after arrival. Very misleading advertising, and no hint of apology that Internet would not be available to us for the week.
2. Kitchen is well kitted out, but it is clear the owners of the apartment must use it regularly. Between their very extensive range of utensils, bowls, etc plus two of the cupboards being used for their own food, there was almost no cupboard space left for our own food. We had to store most of our food in the utility room.
3. It would be nice if agent sent a reminder near to arrival time that the damage deposit should be paid. We emailed a week before to ask some general questions and got what seemed a fairly nippy reminder the our deposit must be paid before Saturday. We had forgotten all about the deposit. A friendly reminder in advance of our stay would have saved this awkward email.


On the whole though, we would thoroughly recommend this place, and hope to return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The view!
Liked least: No internet - misleading advert
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melinda T
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 15 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

When we arrived we were instantly mesmerised by the location; stunning! On opening the front door we were hit by gorgeous smells and the homeliness of the property. Every room was immaculate and very welcoming, the facilities are excellent and the showers amazing, no pathetic trickle as in previous holiday homes! We could never tire of the Loch view and hope to return in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The luxury , cleanliness and views.
Liked least: Really can't think of anything!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay so much and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrew_su...
1 review
“A perfect family retreat”
Reviewed 11 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Our stay at Ben Macdui was very comfortable indeed and it was clear that a lot of thought had gone into making the accomodation very homely so much so we could have gladly moved in.

We found it to be the perfect base for all local activities and great for those, like us, who prefer to stay away from the 'tourist zone'

The views were amazing and so was the fishing....be sure to look up Grant Tigwell based at Killin on the west end of Loch Tay.

It was also great to know that Angela (Penfold) was on the end of a phone if ever we needed her offering us a wealth of local knowledge on tap and a very personal service.

Needless to say that we are booking again for 2014.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2013
Thank you for your very kind words, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much and delighted that you have booked to return next year. Many thanks, Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing