We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely stunning. Cottage so nice did not want...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ben Lawers

Ben Lawers, Shoreside, Loch Tay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ben Lawers, Shoreside, Loch Tay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Ben Lawers, Shoreside, Loch Tay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Fearnan, Loch Tay, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
clarebear...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely stunning. Cottage so nice did not want to go out!”
Reviewed 5 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Went for husbands 50th birthday as he loves Scotland and grandfather was Scottish. Cottage was furnished to very high standard. Spacious for two bedroom. Two showers were very useful with husband and teenagers! View from balcony was stunning and due to fantastic weather, we ate breakfast and then spent the morning out there. Did not need to use the provided washing machine due to good weather but would have been really useful if it had rained. Kitchen very well equipped. Internet was very patchy but being where we were it was not surprising and we had been advised of this before we went so knew what to expect. Location was perfect - we had stayed in Crieff twice previously (22 years ago and 12 years ago) and when we found Loch Tay on our second trip we always said we would come and stay there and the location certainly lived up to our expectations. Central location for Perth, Dundee, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Pitlochry, Trossochs and Loch Lomand and the highlands if you want to go north. Aberfeldy is nearest shopping town north and Killin is nearest south. Small post office/shop in Kenmore (village is very nice approx 5 miles away). Glen Lyon is beautiful - turn left alongside cottages but be aware the road is single track with passing places and you will need to turn around at Loch Lyon and head back along same road. We will certainly be going back to stay there as we did not want to come home. Booking process for cottage was very easy too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View from balcony
Liked least: Holiday was too short
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2016
Well, it doesn't get much better than that! Thank you so much for your wonderful review and for taking the time to leave it for us. So pleased to hear that the house and location exceeded your expectations and very much look forward to having you return in the future. Thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex Q
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Clean, comfortable, modern, incredible location”
Reviewed 30 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Lovely clean and modern property. Nice and warm and a great base to come back to after a long day in the highlands. The view from the balcony was absolutely impeccable, especially when the clouds reared and a sun shone on Loch Tay. Would happily stay again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise A
2 reviews
“Stunning Accommodation”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We have just arrived home after a blissful week in Loch Tay. This cottage has just about everything you could ever need! We felt at home almost immediately, the cottage is warm, homely and has the most stunning location.

The local area is beautiful too, we had plenty to occupy us all week and we were very lucky to have great weather! The site is well looked after and the welcome shortbread and tea tray was very nice as we had travelled a long way. We throughly enjoyed it and also enjoyed the fact that the wifi didn't work very well! With views like Loch Tay, why would you need Internet access!!

Angela was also very helpful and the booking process very simple

We will definitely come back and we can't wait!

Thank you, some lovely memories made in Loch Tay ☺️

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2015
What a wonderful review, thank you so much for taking the time to leave it for us. We work very hard to ensure our guests have a great holiday experience and reviews like this make all the effort very worth while. I am sorry about the internet access but it is due to the rural location and we have been doing battle with BT to improve the service for quite some time. Mind you, as you say, who needs the internet when you are in such a stunning place!

Look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards, Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derekandc...
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent accomodation”
Reviewed 10 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This was our third stay at Ben Lawers and as before, the accommodation was excellent. Spotlessly clean with everything you could need to make it a superb and comfortable stay.

The views across Loch Tay are breathtaking especially as we had terrific weather with brilliant sunny days and even managed breakfast on the balcony (in March!!). The house is "upside down" so you get the best views from the lounge upstairs.

The only thing to note is that the wifi is painfully slow but that is hardly the fault of the owners. We will definitely be returning as we love the area for walking and the accommodation is the "icing in the cake".

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean and modern accommodation in a superb location
Liked least: slow wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daydreamf...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic view, quiet location and great accommodation.”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Homely and very comfy. Ben Lawers is the perfect get away from the city. The view of Loch Tay is breath taking and the house is spot on with all you think you might need. More expansive than a night at the Hilton but totally worth it!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SabrinaMc...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful setting, amazing apartment, perfect place”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My partner and I have visited and stayed in the area many times, including Taymouth Marina. We love Kenmore so much we are getting married there next year and many of our family are staying in Taymouth Marina so we really couldn't recommend it highly enough.

We recently came up for the weekend and had a lovely time in Ben Lawers, having BBQ's on the balcony, going for lovely walks and enjoying a glass of wine over looking the Loch Tay. We were very lucky to have amazing weather too, it really is a perfect setting. The apartments are great, well furnished, well stocked, beautiful views - you could stay in your apartment the entire time and never tire of the view. They also have the most comfortable sofas ever!

The staff are really helpful and friendly, there is lots to do near by for couples/families/friends including the lovely Taymouth Marina Restaurant.

We will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: WiFi is advertised but does not work well in the apartments/lack of BBQ utensils
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan750
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“lovely property, great view a few small issues”
Reviewed 5 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

this is a very well situated property in a small development overlooking Loch tay. Its in the front row of houses and therefore has an excellent view. It is well decorated and equipped altho I think we now expect some consumables to be provided,ie dishwasher tablets, washing up liquid etc which weren't. On our visit the broadband was not working and there were no instruction booklets, for the Television/DVD/ freeview boxes or for the washing machine, dishwasher or heating system. We mastered them all but these items are getting more complex all the time and instructions would help a lot.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay but apologise about the couple of issues you mentioned. It is our policy that washing up liquid and dishwasher tabs are left for guests and I will certainly take this up with the cleaners. I will also look into the lack of instructions as these should have been available for you. Thank you for raising these points as it is always so helpful to get this kind of feedback as it enables me to keep on top of these little things that I may otherwise not be aware of. Hope we have the pleasure of accommodating you again sometime. Many thanks, Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing