We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
King Pacific Lodge
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Bella Bella
See available hotels
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
107
7
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
107
7
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfishking pacificfirst classtop notchremote locationmy wifegreat jobfrom start to finishworld classbucket listevery aspectday tripawesome tripfood was greathot tubgreat staffone of a kind
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2013

“My family was never particularly outdoorsy, but we were relieved that we didn't have to travel far and that the burden of choosing a good spot to meet our son's in-laws for the first time didn't fall on us! My husband and I were prepared to be good sports and even steeled ourselves for some hiking, if not actual "roughing it." KPL not only blew our expectations out of the water, it made hikers, whale watchers, even fishermen of us - and genuinely enthusiastic ones at that! The range of activities was astounding, as was the execution of each excursion thanks to the wonderful staff. We were given itineraries each night, the staff lodge having taken care of all of the planning and particulars of whichever activity we chose.
The guides were equally impressive and accommodating, tending to the needs of our whole group, regardless of age or skill level. Both my fishing-impaired husband and I caught Chinook over 20 lbs, as well as some pink salmon and halibut, and our seasoned in-laws agreed that even they learned a lot from the technically skilled naturalists leading the trips. The grounds are resplendent with wildlife, and the seamlessly situated lodge made us feel as if we were part of nature, not encroaching upon it. True to our leisure-oriented selves, my husband and I scheduled plenty of more relaxed activities that also did not disappoint. Watching whales bubble feeding was a delight, and our trip to observe the Kermode bears was at once mind-blowing and peaceful. We never expected such an experience purely because, even after reading reviews and speaking with other guests, we could never have imagined that something so spectacular existed. In our week at the lodge, we seemingly cultivated a decade’s worth of unforgettable memories."

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
5  Thank Consigliera-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George C, Owner at King Pacific Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2015

As of 2014, King Pacific Lodge was purchased by George and Lisa Cuthbert of Vancouver, British Columbia. (West Sport Fishing). The lodge is now owner operated and managed.
King Pacific Lodge has been re-located to the Milbanke Sound region on the Central Coast of British Columbia's Great Bear Rainforest.
King Pacific Lodge will continue to provide the most luxurious facility, equipment, staff and experience in British Columbia for Sport Fishing and Nature Tourism.
We welcome the opportunity to see you again.

George & Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

King Pacific is absolutely one of the most special places on earth! In our many years of travel, Janet and I have never been to a place with better staff, better food combined with a most extraordinary setting. The staff could not have been more delightful and accommodating, yet totally unobtrusive even with it's high staff to client ratio. We look forward to our next trip when we will take our entire family for this unique experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George C, Owner at King Pacific Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2015

As of 2014, King Pacific Lodge was purchased by George and Lisa Cuthbert of Vancouver, British Columbia. (West Sport Fishing). The lodge is now owner operated and managed.
King Pacific Lodge has been re-located to the Milbanke Sound region on the Central Coast of British Columbia's Great Bear Rainforest.
King Pacific Lodge will continue to provide the most luxurious facility, equipment, staff and experience in British Columbia for Sport Fishing and Nature Tourism.
We welcome the opportunity to see you again.

George & Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

I don't know why I didn't review sooner but we visited KPL in mid June of 2012 and had a terrific time. Starting with booking the trip to our departure all of the staff was the best. Every evening Laura would inquire about our desired activities for the next day and she would soon be around to give you your schedule for the next day. We fished, went of the cultural tour and went whale watching with several of the guides and all of them were entertaining, knowledgeable and fun to be with.

Return from your day's adventure and you are greeted with the cocktail of the day or your favorite drink. A casual gathering for drinks and appetizers gives you a chance to get to know the other guests. The food is spectacular especially considering the remote location.

Writing this makes me want to return one of the guests on our trip had been to KPL 7 times so I think I also deserve a return visit. We stayed several nights in Vancouver before going to KPL and if you stay there we would highly recommend the Hotel Georgia it is also a Rosewood property and it is the best.

Room Tip: I don't think there could be a "bad" room. Our room looked out the "back" of the lodge towards the forrest and we frequently had an eagle that we watch or maybe he watched us.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vintage1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George C, Owner at King Pacific Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2015

As of 2014, King Pacific Lodge was purchased by George and Lisa Cuthbert of Vancouver, British Columbia. (West Sport Fishing). The lodge is now owner operated and managed.
King Pacific Lodge has been re-located to the Milbanke Sound region on the Central Coast of British Columbia's Great Bear Rainforest.
King Pacific Lodge will continue to provide the most luxurious facility, equipment, staff and experience in British Columbia for Sport Fishing and Nature Tourism.
We welcome the opportunity to see you again.

George & Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Lovely situation, good food and well organised activities. Not guest focussed though. Some customers receiving preferential treatment and arrogance of senior management. Not a nice experience. Try Nimmo Bay not far away. Sensational in every respect.
King Pacific Lodge, no thanks.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Hywel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George C, Owner at King Pacific Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2015

As of 2014, King Pacific Lodge was purchased by George and Lisa Cuthbert of Vancouver, British Columbia. (West Sport Fishing). The lodge is now owner operated and managed.
King Pacific Lodge has been re-located to the Milbanke Sound region on the Central Coast of British Columbia's Great Bear Rainforest.
King Pacific Lodge will continue to provide the most luxurious facility, equipment, staff and experience in British Columbia for Sport Fishing and Nature Tourism.
We welcome the opportunity to see you again.

George & Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

My wife and I stayed at KPL over our honeymoon in Fall 2011. It really is something else. It may seem hard to imagine 5 star cross with wilderness and isolation, but that was KPL. The accommodations were lovely, and food was excellent. We saw tons of bears during our watching excursion, whales and seals everywhere, and loved settling down in the common room in the evening.

Incidentally, we were part of a group that needed to be evacuated when a major storm hit the lodge. We thought the KPL staff handled the emergency totally professionally and took excellent care of us guests. It wasn't what we planned, but we finished our honeymoon in a private room on a ferry, with a view of stunning islands on route to Prince Rupert where a charted plane took us back to Vancouver. They put us up in as nice a hotel as we've stayed in. We agree with the comments from "Beg to differ' regarding the couple that left a negative review about that trip - they were unfriendly, odd ducks.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Russell U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George C, Owner at King Pacific Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2015

As of 2014, King Pacific Lodge was purchased by George and Lisa Cuthbert of Vancouver, British Columbia. (West Sport Fishing). The lodge is now owner operated and managed.
King Pacific Lodge has been re-located to the Milbanke Sound region on the Central Coast of British Columbia's Great Bear Rainforest.
King Pacific Lodge will continue to provide the most luxurious facility, equipment, staff and experience in British Columbia for Sport Fishing and Nature Tourism.
We welcome the opportunity to see you again.

George & Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews