We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Read the Reviews from Whiners”
Review of Taso Italiano

Taso Italiano
Ranked #5 of 40 Restaurants in Trinity
Price range: £8 - £32
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Full liquor bar and great food! Reservations recommended on weekends and holidays. We are a friendly and family oriented establishment.
Reviewed 23 February 2019

My wife wanted to try this restaurant. Before we went, I read many, many reviews. Most were very positive, although some were negative. My favorite negative review was from the guy who complained about his meal AFTER he ate it. I noticed that several of the other negative comments were pretty petty. We decided to be bold and try out Taso Italiano.

We could not have been more pleased. The restaurant is nicely decorated, with lots of tables and lots of room. We were served by Esterina who quickly took us under her wing, once she learned we were first-time visitors. She explained the menu and pointed out several specials. We learned that you can substitute almost anything in a meal to make it just the way you want.

We ordered drinks. I had a margarita (is that Italian?) that was tall and flavorful. My wife had wine. We ordered Calamari with Marinara on the side that is one of the best I've ever had. My wife had Veal Saltimbocca and asked that the Sage be withheld - no problem. I ordered Chicken Francese and asked that Penne be subsituted for the Linguine (I'm messy twirling) - no problem. The meals came with a choice of soup or salad and wonderful Italian bread. Everything was delicious.

Some whiners complained about the length of time before the food was served. We were there on a busy Saturday night and had no problems. Esterina kept things moving at the proper pace.

Some whiners complained about the price of the food. I admit that the restaurant is more expensive than McDonald's, but, for the quality of the food, the price is very reasonable.

We did have one complaint though; the portions served were too large and we had to take some food home.

The owner stopped by to greet us and we had a pleasant conversation. He clearly is proud of his establishment and the quality of his food. So are we.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
tasosabrina, Owner at Taso Italiano, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2020

Thank you so much! We appreciate your business and for taking the time to post! You are awesome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2019

Asked waitress to speak with the owner, he chastised and threatened me for food I sent back. I would strongly recommend keeping clear of this so called restaurant.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank teeemup
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
tasosabrina, Owner at Taso Italiano, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2019

You ate your entire steak. Your waitress asked you how you wanted it cooked. You said pink. She brought it out, asked if it was ok, you said yes, ate the entire steak and then complained. You also said you had a cheese allergy after the pasta came out with cheese, not before. Please dont come back, we dont deserve people like you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2019

Awesome place to enjoy delicious Italian food. Great atmosphere,service. Great for couples and families to enjoy.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Ms14369
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
tasosabrina, Owner at Taso Italiano, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2020

Thank you so much! We appreciate your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2019 via mobile

We came for our first time and the dinner was fantastic. The bread and pesto was incredible
I ordered spaghetti with marinara and meatballs and the soup was fabulous too.
Our server Esterina is excellent. We met the owner and chef how incredible his cooking talents are high quality. Please come and enjoy a unique and delicious dining experience!!!!!

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Y7768STemilyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
tasosabrina, Owner at Taso Italiano, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2020

Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2018

We've been coming here more than 4 years now - it was the first restaurant we tried when we moved to the restaurant. The atmosphere is always lovely and quaint (although this week it was noisy, crowded and loud!) We've eaten here and brought company visiting or referred Taso's no less than 25 times in the last few years, but we'd cut back after a less-than-enjoyable experience about 6 months ago. With the holidays upon us we thought we'd give it another shot this week and were very disappointed. First off, they seem to be trying to cater to the "keto diet" people more than lovers of genuine Italian food - the dishes targeting "keto" lovers were all the waitress pushed and the only specials for the night, whereas before they used to offer some very good and creative specials. The food we mediocre. We ordered baked lasagna and baked manicotti, both of which were bland tasting and watery/did not hold up well. EVERY other time we've been here Taso himself and/or his wife would come out and engage customers, asking how satisfied they were with their meal - NOT THIS TIME! We saw them, and even after a bit of a disagreement with the waitress on the bill, the wife of Taso knew we were unhappy but rather than come over to speak with us or try to rectify the situation, she walked by no less than 6 times and ignored us every time. Guess we should have stuck with our last impression and not given them another chance. It is sad, because this used to be our "go to" place and we've spent a considerable amount of time and money here in the past and it was always our #1 recommendation until now.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank HeritageSoftail14843
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Taso Italiano also viewed

 

Been to Taso Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.