We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of paradise in the hills of Caldana...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Montebelli Agriturismo & Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Caldana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An oasis of paradise in the hills of Caldana...”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I have now had the opportunity and true pleasure to visit and stay at Montebelli twice over the last year (once in the farmhouse and once in the country hotel) both times as part of a fitness retreat.

It truly is a magical place set among vineyards, gardens, olive groves and fantastic facilities (tennis courts, spa, swimming pools, on site massage) and excellent cuisine to be sampled (and accompanied by wine from their own vineyard). A place to exercise, relax and let the worries of the world quickly melt away.

Montebelli truly make you feel part of their family - nothing is too much for any of the staff who are always willing to help or make suggestions and I can't highly recommend the place enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CallyArmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monteb11, Public Relations Manager at Montebelli Agriturismo & Country Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Thank you Cally, that was really sweet of you to speak so nicely about the staff and our hotel. What makes us really happy is that we succeded in making you feel at home and part of the family. This is our major intent.
Hope to see you soon again.
Warmest regards from the Montebelli Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    131
    29
    12
    8
See reviews for
123
245
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sparta, New Jersey
Level Contributor
154 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Our visit to Montebelli was after 7 days of touring Italy and so it was a welcome find! We were able to relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery. Chef Clarence does an amazing job with the food, and everyone in our family enjoyed his delicious creations. Tomaso, the horse trainer, was amazing and I would recommend all guests to go horseback riding. Of course, the wine is what brought us to Montebelli and yes, the Fabula Riserva is great and I would recommend you try it. Alessandro helped us understand the philosophy behind the vineyard and olives, and so we enjoyed it immensely! Everyone from the front desk, to the wait staff, to of course the owners, were so lovely that we are planning our next trip back. Lastly, if you have time, they can recommend some great villages to see nearby, which also proved to be a lot of fun and interesting. The hike up to the top of the hill was great and we got some great photos of the surrounding area. If you are looking for a place with great food, wine, and a strong connection to nature and mother earth, I would recommend you visit Montebelli.
The Opresnick Family

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SO194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monteb11, Guest Relations Manager at Montebelli Agriturismo & Country Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Dear Opresnick Family,
thank you so much for this phantastic review. You make us feel proud of the place we run and of the fact that our way of life has come through to you. We will be very happy to welcome you once again and rest assured that Clarence, Tommaso and Alessandro will get to read your appreciations as well as the rest of the staff. We believe both the good and the bad must be told.
Could we ask you a favour? Could you send us one of the pictures you took while you were here so we can pin it on our homepage as “Pick of the week”?
Grazie e arrivederci a presto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Wow! what a gem in the midst of beautiful wine and olive groves country! Not just the calm, relaxing place itself, but you will be surrounded by the nicest, most helpful people and the most delicious food. This is 'real vacation'. And make sure to hike up the mountain to visit the tree and get a fantastic view :)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gesundheit11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monteb11, Guest Relations Manager at Montebelli Agriturismo & Country Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Dear Gesundheit, thank you so much for your generous review. We are glad you enjoyed the food and the peaceful atmoshpere of our resort. A special thank you for your kind appreciation towards our personnel. We do our best to make your holiday a special one.
Hoping to see you again soon.
Ciao from the Montebelli bunch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We came to Montebelli for a relax after some sightseeing in Florence and loved every moment of it. We enjoyed 6 nights relaxing here, where we felt welcomed by the staff from the moment we arrived. They went the extra mile for us to ensure we had the relaxing and fun break we were looking for, from suggesting places we might like to visit for a day trip to fixing us up when we broke our travel adaptor.
Our room was one of the more modern ones in the new block, it was large, spacious, clean and airy with the usual modern conveniences. It had a lovely bathroom, with a powerful shower as well as a seperate bath.
They have some dogs, which were friendly and more than happy for us to wander over and pat them but didn't come and pester us.
We enjoyed some time lounging by the pool, though being later in the season dipping in the outside pool was only for the brave, we prefered to use the SPA and enjoy the heated pool, Steam room and Sauna.
The food and wine were great. They grow many of their own vegetables and source what they can locally it is mainly organic, the chef was brilliant and we got to experience both their fish and meat BBQ's that they put on once a week. They make their own wine, and if you like a glass of Red I would recommend their Fabula Riserva, if you can't finish the bottle ask them and they will put a cork in it for you to have the following night.
We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monteb11, Guest Relations Manager at Montebelli Agriturismo & Country Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Dear Jon, and we really look forward to having you with us once again. It's been a real pleasure meeting you and we thank you so much for the lovely review you have written us. Next time I will make sure you get to try our Acantos wine considering you well appreciated our Fabula Red. Take care and work hard so you can save some money to come stay with us once again! We look forward to it! Ciao from Tuscany.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye, New York, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed two nights at this beautiful property, a Tuscan oasis hidden down a long unpaved country road, as part of a Vermont Bicycle Tour vacation. We stayed in the older agriturismo portion of the complex. Our rooms were simple (e.g. fan instead of air conditioning), but accented by wonderful olive-based soaps and other personal care products. Perhaps the rooms in the newer portion are nicer. The winning aspect of this property are the beautiful grounds (swimming pool, tennis court, walks up hills that have fabulous views), the hospitality of the owner Alessandro and the delicious food.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monteb11, Guest Relations Manager at Montebelli Agriturismo & Country Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Dear DHess from New York, thank you so much for the lovely review. As you stated the rooms in the Agriturismo are simple but have a traditional flair wheras the other rooms are in our 4* Country Hotel. Indeed these rooms are modern in style and offer services to meet 4* standards. I am glad you enjoyed our grounds as we are particularly proud of our manicured gardens. We hope to have you with us again maybe on your biking tour next year or maybe you would consider coming back with your family and enjoy the services of our Country Hotel this time. Warm greetings from Maremma Tuscany.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

At Montebelli, Alessandro and his friendly staff make you feel like guests, not just mere customers. Their generosity and passion for their land and products is second to none. My personal preference is to stay at the old house, for its charm and character. The property itself is a large, beautiful hilly domain (good for running) with great pool / spa areas (nice sports massage) plentiful open green spaces to relax around and wifi throughout for those in desperate need for a quick civilisation fix. The near coastal location is perfect to explore neighbouring beaches from mid market Castiglione to slightly more upmarket Punta Ala or wilder Cala Violina - while avoiding peak summer crowds. Our half hearted attempts to dine out quickly bowed to the realisation that the simple local fresh & pleasant daily tasting menu is hard to beat, particularly if washed down with a few glasses of Fabula Riserva. Granted, you won't party til 4am during your Montebelli holiday (you could push it and hit La Vela during peak season but the drive back could prove tricky after a night out). In any case that would actually defeat the purpose: this week was all about slowing down and chilling in great surroundings, Ibiza can wait til 2013!
Renais

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ren-london-1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monteb11, Guest Relations Manager at Montebelli Agriturismo & Country Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear Renais, you couldn't have said it better. Thank you so much and we look forward to having you again as our guest. Whenever you need to slow down, we are here!
Saluti dallo Staff Montebelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

PROS:
The place itself is wonderful. Huge spaces, lots of green, relaxing views of olive trees meeting the expectations of Tuscan countryside. Thanks to its distance from the main road (approx 1Km of dirt road), it is a safe place where kids can run and play. The SPA is what you'd like to have at home. Not too big, not too small. When we visited it, no one else was there, so we loved its pace. Most of personnel (with the exception of the lady described below) has been friendly and kind (especially at the restaurant --> see Luigi and other attendants).

CONS:
Unfortunately, we are not happy at all with the offered services. We have been given a room that was lacking phone and Internet access. We went to the reception to get some assistance. The attendant who served us was a kind of annoyed at our requests and not friendly at all. Room phone was replaced fairly quickly, but on the other side, they took no action concerning the Internet access. We had an access point device in our room that appeared to have been manipulated, and not giving access at all. Despite our request, no technician has showed up in over 5 days. This could appear as a minor issue, but not when you are cut off mobile coverage too. On top of it, the room did not appear as clean as you would expect from a 4-star hotel. We understand it is located in the middle of the countryside. We understand there are multiple pets (dogs and cats) running around freely. However, we cannot tollerate to have fleas in the room, dogs droppings almost everywhere, cats resting and dropping hair on the external chairs and no towels/sheets change in 5 days of overnight staying. Food was not what we expected either. Breakfast choice was quite vast, even though food quality was not excellent. Dinner fixed menu (30€ p.p) was very unsatisfactory, more proper to a middle-level guest-house than to a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefano_GB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monteb11, Guest Relations Manager at Montebelli Agriturismo & Country Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear Stefano,

I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed on so many levels and none of your comments will be left unattended.
I have spoken to reception to understand what went wrong regarding the internet, apparently a technician was sent in your room and we were informed that the issue was solved. I can only apologise if there was a misunderstanding and the problem wasn't fixed.
Montebelli is a pet friendly hotel and we do indeed have many cats and dogs around the property, we have routine outdoor cleanings to make sure there are no droppings but obviously, in this occasion, we failed to meet our usual good standards. I will ask the cleaning team and gardeners to increase the hours of outdoor maintenance during the peak season.
As far as sheets and towels are concerns, they get changed every two days and this would be the first time that no change has occurred in 5 days. The only explanation I can give is that maybe the cleaning ladies found a "do not disturb" sign on the door and couldn't therefore access the room. Once again, my apologies if there was a terrible mistake in our room service.
In your comments you also say that the food wasn't satisfactory, it is usually one of Montebelli's strengths - with our garden and seasonal products and the traditional Tuscan recipes - it's unfortunate that we didn't meet your expectations, I will have a chat with our chef Clarence to go through the menu and see if there was anything unusual that went unnoticed and do our best to improve.

As much as it hurts to read reviews like the one you sent us, we would still like to thank you for giving us your feedback as it helps us keep things in check (the hard way) and make the necessary adjustments.

Warm regards,

Carla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caldana
6.7 mi away
L'Andana
L'Andana
#3 of 23 in Castiglione Della Pescaia
312 reviews
11.2 mi away
Fattoria Maremmana
Fattoria Maremmana
#1 of 22 in Grosseto
219 reviews
10.5 mi away
Golf Hotel Punta Ala
Golf Hotel Punta Ala
#3 of 5 in Punta Ala
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Baglioni Resort Cala del Porto
6.2 mi away
Cordial Hotel & Golf Resort Pelagone
11.9 mi away
Hotel Terme Marine Leopoldo II
Hotel Terme Marine Leopoldo II
#1 of 8 in Marina di Grosseto
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montebelli Agriturismo & Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montebelli Agriturismo & Country Hotel

Property: Montebelli Agriturismo & Country Hotel
Address: Localita Mulinetto SNC, 58023 Caldana, Italy (Formerly Montebelli Country Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Caldana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Caldana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Montebelli Agriturismo & Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montebelli Agriturismo and Country Hotel is located in the beautiful Maremma land within the Tuscany region. It’s positioned only twenty minutes away from the sea, so guests can choose between the quintessential Tuscan country life or the beach. Montebelli offers the original Agriturismo and the more modern Country Hotel, all situated within the farm and all sharing common grounds and facilities: tennis, outdoor pool, biking, trekking, health club and free Wifi connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Montebelli Agriturismo & Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montebelli Agriturismo & Country Hotel Tuscany, Italy - Caldana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing