We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Corner of Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Montebelli Agriturismo & Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Caldana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Corner of Heaven”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I came here with my 3.5 year old after having seen some pictures on the internet. Originally I just need somewhere to sleep because we were going to the beach. And, as with anything found on the internet I had my doubts. However, upon arrival I was beyond enchanted. The place is absolutely beautiful, the grounds are spectacular, and the staff is super lovely. I felt a home right away. We are animal lovers, so for my daughter and I it was wonderful to see the owners dogs (beyond docile by the way), one cat and, of course the horses. My daughter went riding with Tomas who is an absolute gem, professional, careful and attentive. The girls at reception were fantastic and always looking to accommodate our requests. I loved it so much that I stayed longer than planned and will go back in a couple of months for another 3 days of beauty and horses! Thank you all for the lovely memory! :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monteb11, Guest Relations Manager at Montebelli Agriturismo & Country Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear Sandra, you and your daughter were absolutely adorable. Your daughter's enthusiasm was simply unique and contageous. You could tell she loved this place because she was so keen on trying everything out. We definitely want you to come back. So, hopefully......see you soon!
Un abbraccio and thanks for the splendid review.

Ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    127
    28
    11
    8
See reviews for
120
241
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We have just returned from 4 nights at the Montebelli Country Hotel. I would start by saying that the location was beautiful and our room was very clean and comfortable. The spa was also lovely. In addition, we enjoyed three lovely days at different beaches, all within a short 20- 40 min drive from Montebelli. However, overall we were disappointed with our choice of hotel.

Whilst we thoroughly enjoyed a four/five course set menu on one evening, the food overall was disappointing. The breakfast was served as a buffet, only some of the food covered, leaving many items on offer exposed to flies buzzing around. I found flies in the jugs of juice on a couple of occasions and my enjoyment of the food was spoiled by the knowledge that flies had most probably landed on some part of it. In addition, we were disappointed by the Sunday pizza evening - the limited choice of pizza arrived with the topping looking hastily thrown on and my son found what looked like an old piece of string buried in his at the end of his meal! Again, the evening meals by buffet had similar problems with flies.

Our children enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere at meal times and running around playing tag with other children they had met, whilst the adults were finishing their meal. However, I was concerned about letting them out of our sight for a second due to the presence of the hotel's three rather large dogs (perhaps German shepherds/Alsatians?) roaming freely around the grounds. These dogs appeared well behaved and I only heard them barking on occasion when encountering other dogs of the hotel guests. However, I was not comfortable with such large dogs roaming around unsupervised, especially in a garden area with small children running around, playing hide and seek.

We were also disappointed by the swimming pool, which in my opinion seemed too small and overcrowded for a hotel and agriturismo of this size. I could not see any markings to indicate the depth of the water, and the shallow end was far too deep for my tall seven year old to stand up in, which meant swimming could not be a relaxing experience for us.

Finally, I would recommend Montebelli try to divert the path from the agriturismo / restaurant back up to the country hotel building away from the septic tank / car park area. Not something the guests want to walk past after their meals.

So, overall this hotel has lots of potential but did not live up to our expectations.


  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cnonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monteb11, Guest Relations Manager at Montebelli Agriturismo & Country Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Mr.Cnonymous,
first of all thanks for taking your time to write a review which clearly shows overall disappointment. Of course we never like getting bad or negative reviews but we are ready to face whatever comes. I agree it is unacceptable to find a piece of string in your meal or flies in your drink and for this I have summoned the kitchen personnel to discuss these issues futher. Same goes for the pizza night. As to the dogs, I am really very sorry you felt a little uneasy having them around your children. We guarantee they are totally harmless and are let out free because we love animals and they are welcome at Montebelli without extra charge. Indeed many choose to come for this reason. There is one piece of advice on your part I find very useful and that is to place a sign in the pool showing how deep the water is. This is something we definitely need to implement.
I found your wording very decent and I thank for this. Hoping you'll give it another try, sometime in the future. We would appreciate it.
Regards from us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodbridge
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This was our third visit to Montebelli, and we love it. The whole set up is the perfect mix of beautiful scenery, wonderful Tuscan food and wine (got stuck into Fabula Reserva - see pic) and family welcome. Alessandro and the team are just outstanding. Special mention to Fabio, who looked after us like we were his long lost cousins. And Tomazo who showed us how to really ride horses.
We did wine tours, bbq, tennis, horse riding, swimming and went to the beach a couple of times. We even went to the local Aqua park which was great fun. Would recommend to anyone not to go with the 'a la carte' menu and just go with the house meal of the day. Its the best way to experience proper Tuscan food, and its great because you might get a suprise. All with a glass of Fabula of course.
Cant speak highly enough of Montebelli.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonWoodbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monteb11, Guest Relations Manager at Montebelli Agriturismo & Country Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear SimonWoodbridge,
Pythagoras calls 3 the perfect number because it represents the beginning, the middle and the end.
So what I suggest is, next time you wish to come back, we start from scratch! Ok! It will be your first time once again.
Jokes aside, thank you so much for the lovely review. Fabio says thanks for mentioning his name. It made him feel very proud. Ale and Tommaso say hello and look forward to seeing you again. By the way, I suggest you drink Fabula Riserva with a delicious plate of "Caserecce with bacon and lentils. You'll find the recipe on our website under cuisine.
A big hug from the Montebelli Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We had intended to spend a couple of nights here but ended up staying longer as it was so peaceful and relaxing. There is complete access to the estate which is managed organically and in June was awash with colour with butterflies and other wildlife abundant. The wine is fantastic as well ,try the rose which was a new blend and tasted wonderful.
We would thoroughly recommend and hope to visit again

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmp010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monteb11, Guest Relations Manager at Montebelli Agriturismo & Country Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear jmp010, that was so very of you to say such lovely things about Montebelli. Well definitely June is a special time of the year as nature boasts some of the most beautiful colours and fragrances. We also hope you shall be our guests again in the near future. I promise we shall do our best to keep up to the standards.
Thank you again for the time you have given us in writing this beautiful review.
Sunny regards from us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We first stayed at Montebelli in 2010 and have returned regularly since. It is instantly relaxing to drive down the driveway and arrive, knowing that in store are days under the trees, maybe a trip up to the vineyard and plenty of tasty, healthy food served up by the same loyal and friendly staff. Alessandro still manages to make time for all of his guests every day and the family still eat lunch with everybody - a good sign!

Thanks again for helping us to relax under the Tuscan sun. (And I am a pasty Northern European, so the AC in the rooms is the finishing touch. Beautiful.)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manchesterwords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monteb11, Guest Relations Manager at Montebelli Agriturismo & Country Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you Manchesterwords. It's nice to hear you feel part of this big family too. Looking forward to having you again. Ciao from us all and particularly from Alessandro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londres
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We only have kind words to say about this hotel. It is set in lush, beautifully kept gardens, the rooms are simply decorated and comfortable, the staff was particularly friendly - and the owners even helped us pay an Italian parking ticket on our rental car that could only be paid at a post office (and we were leaving on a Sunday, so obviously, all the post offices were closed).

The massage at the spa was also very pleasant, as was the mere joy of lying by the pool and listening to the birds while looking at a bright blue sky. We'll definitely be back.

Thank you Alessandro for your kindness and your generosity. Nadia S

Room Tip: We stayed in the older rooms that were slightly cheaper as they don't have air conditioning. As...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLondoner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monteb11, Guest Relations Manager at Montebelli Agriturismo & Country Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Nadia, thank you so much for taking your time in writing this lovely review. Alessandro says hi and hopes to welcome you at our "little oasis" once again. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Bye from lovely Maremma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fattoria mose
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Aftera wonderful experience many years ago. we are returning this August for a week. Hopefully they will acccommodate a 6'3'American when choosing a room forus. Not sure how to write to them so using this method, Joan Egbert

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank fussylady07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monteb11, Guest Relations Manager at Montebelli Agriturismo & Country Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear Joan Egbert,
well this is definitely the most unconventional way to let us know that you are coming (and we are very pleased to welcome you again soon) but also to tell us that you need some extra room considering someone in the family is pretty tall. No worry, you have definitely caught our attention and we have provided to accomodating you in a comfortable bedroom. See you in August.
Arrivederci from the Montebelli Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caldana
6.7 mi away
L'Andana
L'Andana
#3 of 23 in Castiglione Della Pescaia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
6.2 mi away
Cordial Hotel & Golf Resort Pelagone
11.2 mi away
Fattoria Maremmana
Fattoria Maremmana
#1 of 22 in Grosseto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Country Resort Guadalupe
Country Resort Guadalupe
#1 of 1 in Braccagni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
10.5 mi away
Gallia Palace Hotel Relais & Chateaux
8.7 mi away
Hotel La Pineta
Hotel La Pineta
#1 of 14 in Follonica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montebelli Agriturismo & Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montebelli Agriturismo & Country Hotel

Property: Montebelli Agriturismo & Country Hotel
Address: Localita Mulinetto SNC, 58023 Caldana, Italy (Formerly Montebelli Country Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Caldana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Caldana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Montebelli Agriturismo & Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montebelli Agriturismo and Country Hotel is located in the beautiful Maremma land within the Tuscany region. It’s positioned only twenty minutes away from the sea, so guests can choose between the quintessential Tuscan country life or the beach. Montebelli offers the original Agriturismo and the more modern Country Hotel, all situated within the farm and all sharing common grounds and facilities: tennis, outdoor pool, biking, trekking, health club and free Wifi connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Montebelli Agriturismo & Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montebelli Agriturismo & Country Hotel Tuscany, Italy - Caldana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing