We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegetarian friendly place for nature lovers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Willersley Castle Hotel
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We spent a weekend at Willersley Castle as we participated in the XRunner event in Derbyshire. Our room was in the castle, 2nd floor. Simple room, with a comfortable bed, bathroom with bath tub. The pressure in the shower is not ideal, but didn't spoil our holiday. It's a charming rustic castle, not a luxury hotel (which is also reflected in the price - you get fair value for what you pay).
Wifi is available in the reception area and did reach our room most of the time.
Breakfast is served from 8-9 in the morning, perfect if you want to explore the nearby national park, go hiking or visit Nottingham. Breakfast is vegetarian friendly, with special care for local produce. Soymilk was available on request an the vegetarian sausages for breakfast were a real treat (you'll have to ask for them as they are prepared on demand). We were also surprised by the broad selection of fresh juices: apple, orange, grapefruit, ...
The surroundings are stunning and there's a lot to see in the region. I recommend to get there by car as public transport isn't abundant. Staff is extremely helpful and very friendly.
The main door is closed at 23h, so make sure you check in before that time. That way you can let yourself in if you happen to come back later.
We were a bit worried about my partner's dust allergy, given that this is a very old building. We told the hotel staff in advance about this issue, just in case. The room was impeccable clean and even though there was carpet, we did not have any issues with breathing this time. Thank you!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValentinaBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

Went here with my two daughters & two grandaughters as a treat for me for mothers day, The setting was lovely, however, as we went through the door we all noticed 2 pairs of scruffy slippers just inside slung in a corner. The man on reception greeted us warmly, as did the waitress that took us to our table.Cups, ect were something you would expect in any cafe, not nice china ones you mostly get with afternoon teas [and weve done quite a few]. The sandwiches were ok, no more than that. Then the scones arrived, well, they were burnt and hard, not at all fresh.The cream, well, not to sure what that was.
The parts of the place that we saw needs a total refurb, very run down. Would not go again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank terry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Having read some of the reviews for this hotel, I was concerned about my forth coming stay. I should not have been, as the hotel is in lovely grounds, the staff were some of the most friendly and helpful I have ever met. The room in the hotel was lovely, with fantastic views. We did have to stay in the anex for one night, this was tired but clean and spacious. The anex is not as bad as some people have stated, but if your staying for more than just a couple of days, I would recommend that you ask to stay in the hotel. The breakfast is good, and there is a lovely restrant in the village. This also seems to be the view of many others as all the rooms were full when we went there.

Stayed: February 2014
2  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We have just returned from a 1 night getaway at Willersley Castle. The castle itself is beautiful, and the views are amazing. The rooms are a little dated but that's usually the case with hotels like this. I would definitely recommend purely for the surroundings and the breath-taking views. We were given a room on the front of the castle which meant that we had these amazing views from our room- which was very specious and had 3 huge windows. The rooms had plenty of towels and hot water- the heating was on the majority of the time- we had to turn the radiators off as we got too hot- we usually find that hotels like this are very cold.

We did not use the pool unfortunately as we had plans. The only criticisms I can give the hotel is(and I know it's stated when booking) that there are no TVs in the rooms- it's just nice when your getting ready to have the TV on. And also, some parts of the room were a bit dusty and needed a really good clean. Also, two single beds pushed together to make a double is very annoying in the night when you fall down the middle!

However, we stayed on a Sunday night for £39 which we thought was excellent value for money- especially as the location is so lovely, and the staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the castle had gorgeous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hi-Emyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

I got a Groupon voucher for the four course champagne breakfast and me and husband visited one cold Sunday morning, the lovely receptionist greeted us and showed us into the drawing room our waiter for the morning who's name was Jesus showed us to our table waiting was a welcome letter and a lovely menu. We had av tier of Danish pastries, brioche and croissants for starters followed by kedgeree or kippers then a full English then a stack of pancakes with mixed fruit as well as a pot of tea and a glass of very decent fiz. The service was great and the setting beautiful. Would definitely go again

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlys_Mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My wife took me here for a 4 course Champagne Breakfast on Valentines Day. What a lovely place it is, we have passed by many times and not realised what was there. From the moment we walked in we were greeted with a smile and we settled down to a lovely relaxed breakfast looking out over the Derbyshire hillside. After we had eaten, we went for a walk through the grounds and all-in-all had a really nice time.

We would certainly return again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony_and_Kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have been to willersley castle hotel on valentine's day , we had a fantastic time , a very nice meal , staff were very helpful and friendly , specially tom who served us , and we definitely going back over summer , for our anniversary .

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank azmy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromford
0.3 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
381 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
11.1 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
8.7 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willersley Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willersley Castle Hotel

Address: Mill Lane, Cromford DE4 5JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Cromford
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Cromford
Price Range: £56 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Willersley Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Willersley Castle is a 200 year old Grade II listed building, commissioned by the great industrialist Sir Richard Arkwright. It occupies a magnificent position on the edge of the Peak District, overlooking the River Derwent.Designed in the Georgian style, Willersley Castle stands in 60 acres of grounds ranging from meadows to limestone crags, on the outskirts of Cromford, just south of the spa town of Matlock Bath.It makes an ideal base for exploring the beautiful Derbyshire Dales and the Peak District National Park. With its dramatic gritstone edges and vibrant limestone valleys, Derbyshire is a walkers’ and climbers’ paradise, full of geological gems like the show-caverns at Castleton and the imposing cliffs of Matlock Bath.The area is steeped in history, from the grandeur of Chatsworth House to the elegance of the spa town of Buxton and the rich industrial heritage of Wirksworth, Cromford, and the Derwent Valley Mills World Heritage Site ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Willersley Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willersley Castle Hotel Cromford, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing