We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History, stunning views, tasty breakfast for bargain price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Willersley Castle Hotel
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“History, stunning views, tasty breakfast for bargain price!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This as a beautiful, historic building (former home of the Arkwright family of Cromford Mill fame) with stunning views over the river and the outcrop of rock on the opposite bank. The main rooms are comfy with historical features such as original fireplaces and an amazing skylight with oval, galleried landings in the centre of the house. We were lucky enough to be on the second floor in a very large family room in the middle of two turrets (which housed a loo and a sink!) The room was a bit 'rough round the edges' but as this was a bargain last-minute break we didn't mind. As there were groups of guests in the large dining room we were asked if we wanted to sit by ourselves in a smaller room. This was much quieter and several guests had chosen this option. It was a bit of a trek to the dining room (to collect our meal) but the breakfast was plentiful with lots of choice. The porridge was delicious and the breakfast was well cooked- all self-service apart from drinks and toast which were brought to our table. The flowers on the table were a bit droopy but were removed the next day. We really enjoyed the swimming pool (up a steep hill through the pretty gardens) and it was very clean and warm with towels supplied. We chose to go when everyone else was having dinner so it was quiet. There are plenty of walks through the grounds- either into Matlock or along the canal in Cromford. All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to go again. But if you want 5* luxury with TV in your room/ wifi that works everywhere/ modern decor and pristine rooms then this is not for you......

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the main hotel have lovely views. Rooms in the annex might be quieter when the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flutefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin G, General Manager at Willersley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your time here at Willersley Castle Hotel and look forward to welcoming you back to Derbyshire soon

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    112
    40
    23
    24
See reviews for
50
139
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

There was a group of us in a coach party and we had pre booked lunch for us at the hotel so I cannot comment on the hotel other than the restaurant. All our arrangements were very easily made and carried out to our satisfaction. We had all pre chosen the salad lunch and there was quite a variety of salads to chose from on. Soon after being seated in the dining room our salads started to arrive, maybe too quickly! I selected the "Ploughmans salad" which actually was just a cheese salad and not the sort I would have expected. The pickle was placed on the table just before we had finished the salad and the sliced bread arrived as we finished the salad. I think the staff need a bit of organising and certainly some training as to when to bring the necessary condiments out of the kitchen. The salad itself was a little bland and just needs a bit of inventiveness to turn it into something far better and certainly the chef should realise that there is more to a "Ploughmans lunch" than cheese and I would have expected a bread role not Mothers Pride sliced. How disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

As per the title, this is a beautiful building, set in some spectacular Derbyshire countryside. It is just a pleasant walk away from Matlock Bath and Cromford.

There's a very clean and tidy swimming pool, with complimentary towels and decent changing facilities.

Our room (number 30 on the second floor at the front of the building) was clean and fairly well appointed, with spectacular views over the valley. The decoration was a little dated, but this is an historic building so that can easily be forgiven.

What stood out most though was that this is a speciality destination. It seems well suited to its mainly elderly clientele and the Christian emphasis was very evident. If you're not into that kind of thing I would give this place a wide berth.

We've visited locally by day on many occasions, but never seen Matlock Bath by night before. To put it bluntly, it is more like Skegness than Vegas. The atmosphere in the pubs was threatening and uncomfortable for anyone over about 17. So we moved on to Cromford and we found an excellent traditional little pub called The Boat Inn.

Back to the Willersley Castle, there are no TVs in the rooms, no wifi signal on the second floor and no 3G signal on either Orange or O2, So be prepared to make your own entertainment. We didn't experience the food, other than a cream tea, which was pretty well presented.

So in conclusion, if you're not a fanatical god botherer, this may not be the place for you.

Room Tip: As for a room at the front of the hotel for spectacular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimIRobot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Situation superb, views stunning, location perfect. We have spent many good holidays at Willersley but sadly on our most recent visit noticed that it has got a bit tired. The main areas, Music Room, Dining Room, Lounge etc, were okay but our bedroom was in one of the turrets, which made it a very cold room. Unfortunately the heating was not working in the room but we were left a portable electric heater. Clothes in the "wardrobe" (turret) were freezing cold and felt almost damp as the wall-mounted heater in there was also not working. The other problem was that at 5'2" it was a challenge to get the hangars on & off the rail. The bathroom, in the other turret, was in need of attention as there was wallpaper coming loose, the 'blackout' sheets (which looked like black dustbin bags) used to disguise the large panes of glass in the window were getting creased & untidy, and the grills used to cover the ducts in the ceiling were somewhat broken and dirty/dusty.
Other than our bedroom we were happy with other areas of the House. The staff were friendly and helpful, as always, except for one occasion when we asked about the discounted tickets for Chatsworth but were told that as there was no organised trip going we could not purchase them. To our amazement the following day, when there was again no organised trip going, another couple were sold the discounted tickets by a different member of staff. Couldn't work that one out!
Would certainly go back to Willersley again as we love the old place. However next time I think we might go back to rooms up in the Mews.

Room Tip: If anyone in the party has a problem with heights, it might be an idea to ask for a room where there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacquie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Could not have been more disappointed. We didnt find any of Castle experience advertised. Outside is nice but Looks dark, dirty on the inside"THINGS FALL APART". Service desk assumes everyone is holding a groupon voucher. Toilets not clean, smelly. Dirty tablecloth Two. waiters neither knew what was served with the afternoon tea. Manager came to tell us you get a scone and cup of tea...or 3 little triangles of sandwich. The 3 tier of delicacies promised on their adverts is non existent. What we witnessed also is tea is served in what could be canteen teapot and jug. Overall it was my worst canteen experience.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank reviews376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We spent a weekend at Willersley Castle as we participated in the XRunner event in Derbyshire. Our room was in the castle, 2nd floor. Simple room, with a comfortable bed, bathroom with bath tub. The pressure in the shower is not ideal, but didn't spoil our holiday. It's a charming rustic castle, not a luxury hotel (which is also reflected in the price - you get fair value for what you pay).
Wifi is available in the reception area and did reach our room most of the time.
Breakfast is served from 8-9 in the morning, perfect if you want to explore the nearby national park, go hiking or visit Nottingham. Breakfast is vegetarian friendly, with special care for local produce. Soymilk was available on request an the vegetarian sausages for breakfast were a real treat (you'll have to ask for them as they are prepared on demand). We were also surprised by the broad selection of fresh juices: apple, orange, grapefruit, ...
The surroundings are stunning and there's a lot to see in the region. I recommend to get there by car as public transport isn't abundant. Staff is extremely helpful and very friendly.
The main door is closed at 23h, so make sure you check in before that time. That way you can let yourself in if you happen to come back later.
We were a bit worried about my partner's dust allergy, given that this is a very old building. We told the hotel staff in advance about this issue, just in case. The room was impeccable clean and even though there was carpet, we did not have any issues with breathing this time. Thank you!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValentinaBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Went here with my two daughters & two grandaughters as a treat for me for mothers day, The setting was lovely, however, as we went through the door we all noticed 2 pairs of scruffy slippers just inside slung in a corner. The man on reception greeted us warmly, as did the waitress that took us to our table.Cups, ect were something you would expect in any cafe, not nice china ones you mostly get with afternoon teas [and weve done quite a few]. The sandwiches were ok, no more than that. Then the scones arrived, well, they were burnt and hard, not at all fresh.The cream, well, not to sure what that was.
The parts of the place that we saw needs a total refurb, very run down. Would not go again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank terry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromford
0.3 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
347 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Makeney Hall Hotel
Makeney Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Belper
985 reviews
6.7 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
734 reviews
18.0 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willersley Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willersley Castle Hotel

Property: Willersley Castle Hotel
Address: Mill Lane, Cromford DE4 5JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Cromford
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Cromford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Willersley Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Willersley Castle is a 200 year old Grade II listed building, commissioned by the great industrialist Sir Richard Arkwright. It occupies a magnificent position on the edge of the Peak District, overlooking the River Derwent.Designed in the Georgian style, Willersley Castle stands in 60 acres of grounds ranging from meadows to limestone crags, on the outskirts of Cromford, just south of the spa town of Matlock Bath.It makes an ideal base for exploring the beautiful Derbyshire Dales and the Peak District National Park. With its dramatic gritstone edges and vibrant limestone valleys, Derbyshire is a walkers’ and climbers’ paradise, full of geological gems like the show-caverns at Castleton and the imposing cliffs of Matlock Bath.The area is steeped in history, from the grandeur of Chatsworth House to the elegance of the spa town of Buxton and the rich industrial heritage of Wirksworth, Cromford, and the Derwent Valley Mills World Heritage Site ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Willersley Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willersley Castle Hotel Cromford, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing