We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb stay”
Review of Alison House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alison House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cromford
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb stay”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed at the Alison Hotel on the 9th-11th March 2012 and could not fault it. From booking to leaving, the staff were attentive and delivered an excellent service. We stayed in the Arkwright room which has a beautiful bathroom and superb views. Dinner was very nice but the breakfasts are to die for, beautifully presented and cooked. Lashings of hot coffee and toast.

We went for walks along the canal and there are lots to do and see locally.

If you want a clinical, plastic hotel, then dont come here. I f you like your hotels to have charm, warmth and above all heart, then this is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Arkwright Suite, lovely large room with huge bathroom with roll top bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    82
    35
    21
    9
See reviews for
82
158
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed here in February and could not fault the hotel. The service was excellent, staff were friendly and very helpful. Our room was delightful and beautifully furnished. The breakfast was freshly cooked and our evening meal was also very good - and very goood value. The house is lovely and in a wonderful setting-we walked by the canal, climbed the lane into the woods and came down via the High Peak trail. Matlock Bath and Chatsworth are both close by and well worth a visit. Cromford itself is a fascinating village.We will certainly be returning.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room15 which was large, with a pleasant view and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

From the very first telephone conversation to book the room to the final departure the staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful. This is a delightful small hotel in a beautiful setting with charming rooms and excellent food. Coincidental, it was Valentines night when we stayed and the Hotel offered a "special" for accommodation and a meal at their restaurant. The food was of an excellent standard, attentively served, reasonably priced and made all the better by the free bottle of very decent wine included in the offer.
If you are looking for a place to stay in this area then look no further than Alison House.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GremlinManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at Alison House for 2 nights on what was probably the coldest nights of the year! Our daughter lives locally and we asked if our grand-daughter, aged 5 could stay with us for one night. The very obliging staff put us in a large room with a camp-type bed for grand-daughter. This would have been ideal, but, it was freezing!!! The radiator was going full blast but it wasn't big enough to warm a room of that size. Consequently my nose was like a block of ice the following morning. When I spoke to the staff on reception the following morning they were most apologetic and offered us a choice of 2 vacant rooms. They were both warm! We also enjoyed a delicious Valentines dinner with our 2 grown up children and their partners. The menu choice and quality of the food was excellent and good value. Would we stay again/recommend this hotel to friends? Definitely!! The warm and helpful staff made up for the very cold night!

Room Tip: Rooms are all quiet. Room 5 was cold (Feb). Have stayed in the little cottage "The Oaks"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MECB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonHouse, Manager at Alison House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Thankyou so much for taking the time to write this review and also your constructive and helpfull comments about the room. after that extremely cold night we did turn the heating temperature up a bit more but we do agree the room will possibly need another heat source adding before next winter. It is quite a spacious double.
Im so happy our staff were attentive to your needs and made the rest of your stay very enjoyable.
Our Valentine offer and dinner was a great success and im so pleased your family enjoyed their meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Fantastic little hotel with warm, friendly service and incredible food. Had the most amazing weekend away!! It would also make the perfect wedding venue with exquisite gardens for anyone who's interested.....5 stars!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielRossODea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Thank you guys for the great service lovely clean room and a very nice meal in great surroundings.....

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shawnm339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

i have stayed at several hotels and this was definately the best in the area that i visited.the room was very clean and tidy,the shower worked lovely and the food that i had was superb.i would highly recommend this hotel as the staff could not of been more helpful and as i had booked without looking at any reviews i was pleasantly surprised

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonHouse, Manager at Alison House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2012
Thankyou for your review. We aim to provide the best possible stay for our guests and we are so pleased your short stay was an enjoyable one. We hope you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromford
0.6 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
245 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
363 reviews
7.0 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wirksworth
101 reviews
6.1 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
8.9 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alison House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alison House Hotel

Property: Alison House Hotel
Address: Alison House Intake Lane, Cromford DE4 3RH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Cromford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cromford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alison House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within 7 acres of peaceful grounds and gardens, just a short walk from Cromford and Matlock Bath, this elegant Georgian-style House offers locally sourced food, free Wi-Fi and parking.Originally built by the Arkwright family and set in the Derwent Valley World Heritage Site, this recently renovated 18th Century Country House is the ideal base for those wishing to explore the beautiful Derbyshire countryside. With its tranquil surroundings and relaxing atmosphere, it evokes an elegant charm that is almost impossible to resist. All of the 16 en-suite rooms are tastefully decorated and serviced to the highest of standards. As one would expect from a property of this calibre, all rooms include free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. There are plenty of accommodation options to choose from, including Single, Small Double, Classic Double or Twin and Deluxe Room types as well as delightful self-catering cottage located just across the courtyard. Alison House is pet friendly and they accept well-behaved dogs in their Ground Floor rooms at a small charge.Overlooking the gardens, the elegant restaurant has earned a well-deserved reputation amongst locals for the quality of its cuisine. With the emphasis on using fresh locally sourced produce wherever possible, they offer a classic British menu and an extensive wine list.With such wonderful surroundings and great facilities, the Hotel is the ideal venue for special occasions particularly weddings where they have three rooms licensed for the ceremony. The self-contained Garden Suite is also perfect for a variety of business events and is fully equipped to cater to all kinds of meetings, seminars and training courses.The Hotel is situated in the heart of Derbyshire in the village of Cromford just a 7 minute drive from Matlock. They also ample on-site parking for all guests. The city of Derby is just under a 30 minute drive away and offers excellent public transport links. There is also a local train station at Cromford just a 20 minute walk from the Hotel. For those flying in, East Midlands International Airport is a 45 minute drive away.The surrounding Derbyshire countryside is home to some of the most spectacular scenery in the country and nowhere is this more evident than the nearby Peak District National Park. Outdoor enthusiasts will certainly be in their element and there are plenty of footpaths and walks in the immediate area, rock-climbing, potholing and caving in the many limestone dales as well as canoeing and sailing on the River Derwent or Carsington Water. Other nearby attractions include the Heights of Abraham in Matlock Bath, a fantastic hill-top park with its own cable car system, the Blue John Cavern in Castleton, a fascinating series of underground caves, and the family-fun of Gulliver’s Kingdom theme park. There are also several stately homes and gardens just a short drive from the Hotel including the magnificent Chatsworth House and the enchanting Haddon Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alison House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alison Hotel Matlock
Alison House Hotel Cromford, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing