We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, friendly hotel”
Review of Alison House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alison House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cromford
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely, friendly hotel”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Stayed on a Friday night before a trip to Bakewell. This is a lovely hotel. We had one of the larger double rooms, which was super clean and the bathroom was beautiful. A+ for the staff - all we so helpful and polite, particularly when we needed a second room at really short notice. We didn't stop for the evening meal in the hotel, but took the short walk to Cromford. However, the breakfast was delicious and freshly cooked. I'd recommend this to anyone seeking a quiet, laid back place - and don't forget to have a walk out into the gardens!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    82
    35
    21
    9
See reviews for
82
158
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

I arrived on Friday 20 July for one night stay following a business meeting at another venue. My choice of B&B was based on the good online reviews. I found the hotel clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. The vegetarian option on the menu was not to my taste, I am sure many other veggies would have liked it. I was offered a couple of light alternatives and opted for a ploughmans salad with the most delicious chips I have ever had. I really enjoyed my stay and meal. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnHBF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

My husband and I stayed for a weekend in the cottage room. This was sold as a small double room,but was perfectly sized for us with all mod cons and a super bathroom.The restaurant served a good choice of fresh cooked food which was delicious and very reasonably priced.The staff were polite,helpful and knowledgable about the area,so were able to set us off on a wonderful walk on the ' High Peak Trail' above the hotel. Derbyshire is a wonderful county with loads to do, especially if you love the great outdoors! We loved the cable cars and visited Castleton and the Blue John Cave.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alipet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

And was very pleasantly surprised. The food was all freshly cooked to order and we can recommend Mellon and Prosciutto Ham, Thai Fish cakes, the Plaice was lovely and the Pork in Stilton sauce very very good. All the food was presented well with friendly and attentive staff. Dinning Room was spacious, light and airy with traditional decor. Add in the Arkwright connections and Alison House is a very nice restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaeljohnlee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I stayed at Alison House last week. A friend and I met up for our occasional evening away from our wives. The staff were great, the food comfy, the bedrooms clean and the drinks were reasonably priced. Proudly on display at reception was the tripadvisor certificate of excellence - well deserved. Meanwhile a stroll down to the village brings the discerning visitor to The Bell - just right for a pre-dinner pint of real ale.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auntys_Visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

As a party of five we stayed for seven nights. The staff were very friendly and helpful all week, the rooms spotlessly clean and the meals delicious.The menu changed with specials each evening so there was plenty of choice for all our party. When one of use was taken ill and needed the emergency sevices late one night the lady on reception couldn't have been more helpful and concerned.

A wonderful find in this beautiful part of the country. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We arrived at approx 3pm on a Sunday...check out is 11am, but still we were confronted with huge piles of laundry and dirty crockery on the way to our room ( such a shame as the lady who showed us to our room was so lovely and most apologetic)
Our room was beautiful with a smashing view of the back garden.
As the restautant wasn't open Sunday evening we went into Cromford to the Greyhound Pub...
We had a lovely meal, although the service was very slow.
Over all I would say that the Alison House Hotel is a lovely place to stay in some of the most beautiful countryside I have ever visited, the staff were incredibly friendly and really helpfull with directions and tickets to Chatsworth etc
I know it may seem a tad petty, but the dirty laundry and crockery really should not have been strewn all over the landing for us to pass in the first place, but to still have it there the next morning really was not good!!
I think perhaps we had a bad experience and it may not be like this all the time...I am I admit a bit of a tidy freak, but I still think that 4 hours is plenty of time to have the place...if not ship shape and ready then at least hide the rubbish in an empty room, until such a time as you can clear it away.
I would reccomend this hotel as i think we had arrived when perhaps they were short staffed!
It really is a pretty house and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: room 6 was a lovely room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladylaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Alison House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Thankyou for your review I'm glad your stay was a good one, you took advantage of our discount tickets to Chatsworth House and your only main criticism was the laundry that had been left out in the corridor. I wasnt at work on the Sunday in question but came in on the Monday morning and it was a shock to me and our Housekeeper too. I would say on that Sunday our Head Housekeeper was on holiday and one lady rang in sick so yes we were slightly understaffed that day, but even so there are no excuses on our part. For us it was a bad day at the office and not to our normal standard. For our staff members there has been extra training to make sure we maintain the high standards we set.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromford
0.6 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
245 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
363 reviews
7.0 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wirksworth
101 reviews
6.1 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
8.9 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alison House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alison House Hotel

Property: Alison House Hotel
Address: Alison House Intake Lane, Cromford DE4 3RH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Cromford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cromford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alison House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within 7 acres of peaceful grounds and gardens, just a short walk from Cromford and Matlock Bath, this elegant Georgian-style House offers locally sourced food, free Wi-Fi and parking.Originally built by the Arkwright family and set in the Derwent Valley World Heritage Site, this recently renovated 18th Century Country House is the ideal base for those wishing to explore the beautiful Derbyshire countryside. With its tranquil surroundings and relaxing atmosphere, it evokes an elegant charm that is almost impossible to resist. All of the 16 en-suite rooms are tastefully decorated and serviced to the highest of standards. As one would expect from a property of this calibre, all rooms include free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. There are plenty of accommodation options to choose from, including Single, Small Double, Classic Double or Twin and Deluxe Room types as well as delightful self-catering cottage located just across the courtyard. Alison House is pet friendly and they accept well-behaved dogs in their Ground Floor rooms at a small charge.Overlooking the gardens, the elegant restaurant has earned a well-deserved reputation amongst locals for the quality of its cuisine. With the emphasis on using fresh locally sourced produce wherever possible, they offer a classic British menu and an extensive wine list.With such wonderful surroundings and great facilities, the Hotel is the ideal venue for special occasions particularly weddings where they have three rooms licensed for the ceremony. The self-contained Garden Suite is also perfect for a variety of business events and is fully equipped to cater to all kinds of meetings, seminars and training courses.The Hotel is situated in the heart of Derbyshire in the village of Cromford just a 7 minute drive from Matlock. They also ample on-site parking for all guests. The city of Derby is just under a 30 minute drive away and offers excellent public transport links. There is also a local train station at Cromford just a 20 minute walk from the Hotel. For those flying in, East Midlands International Airport is a 45 minute drive away.The surrounding Derbyshire countryside is home to some of the most spectacular scenery in the country and nowhere is this more evident than the nearby Peak District National Park. Outdoor enthusiasts will certainly be in their element and there are plenty of footpaths and walks in the immediate area, rock-climbing, potholing and caving in the many limestone dales as well as canoeing and sailing on the River Derwent or Carsington Water. Other nearby attractions include the Heights of Abraham in Matlock Bath, a fantastic hill-top park with its own cable car system, the Blue John Cavern in Castleton, a fascinating series of underground caves, and the family-fun of Gulliver’s Kingdom theme park. There are also several stately homes and gardens just a short drive from the Hotel including the magnificent Chatsworth House and the enchanting Haddon Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alison House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alison Hotel Matlock
Alison House Hotel Cromford, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing