We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alison House Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hodgkinson's Hotel(Matlock Bath)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Lion Hotel(Wirksworth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Peak Edge Hotel(Stonedge)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (403)
Filter reviews
403 results
Traveller rating
240
94
38
22
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
240
94
38
22
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmatlock batharkwright suitea small double roomson's weddingwedding venuegarden roomroll top bathpeak districtfriendly hotelevening meallarge partythe main housethe ground floorchatsworth housewedding breakfastheights of abrahampoached eggs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
289 - 294 of 403 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Decided to make the most of the lovely weather and went of an overnight stay. Perfect location for Matlock, was this lovely small friendly hotel. On arrival we were warmly welcomed and our room was available immediately. Albeit on the small side it was perfectly adequate and clean well furnished and the ensuite had a lovely large shower.
We had our evening meal at the hotel, it was basic food but very reasonably priced and the restaurant was welcoming and the atmosphere was very pleasant and relaxed. Breakfast was also well presented and plenty of choice.
The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble and it was a perfect spot for exploring the local area.

Room Tip: The cottage was a few steps away from the main hotel and was lovely and quiet
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamelarust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Great Hotel!

We stayed here on 4th, 5th May this year as we were getting married up the road in Belper. We booked the hotel out for ourselves and our wedding party and everything went perfectly. The staff were friendly and helpful the food in the restaurant was good and the quality of rooms was spot on. It was a perfect place to stay over our weekend and we would definitely recommend it.

Many Thanks

Matt & Clare Taylor

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matty_tnClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We held our civil partnership at Alison House Hotel, Cromford on Saturday 20th April 2013. And it was perfect!

From our very first visit to our return today (one month later) Sharon and her team have been fantastic. All of the staff helped to ensure that the preparations for the big day went smoothly. They helped find practical and cost-effective solutions to any problems and reminded us of things that we had overlooked. On the day, the staff were professional and friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

The venue itself was ideal for our needs – with just 28 guests including ourselves – but the grounds are lovely and the option of a marquee makes it suitable for larger weddings as well.
The ceremony and the reception were both held in the dining room. The room was transformed after the breakfast sitting. The room was light and airy but had a special intimacy that suited our occasion. Following the ceremony, there was opportunity for people to have a drink and mingle, while the staff reset the room for our meal (delicious afternoon tea, including local Bakewell Tarts and homemade lemonade).

The dining room was used again for the evening meal. All of the food was delicious and guests were impressed by the choice of four options for the main course (at no extra charge to us).
We made use of the lounge for photographs and as somewhere for people to gather before the ceremony and evening meal. We used the garden room for our evening entertainment – allowing us more space and flexibility.

Many of the guests stayed for the whole weekend and so were able to enjoy all of the hotel’s facilities, including an impressive breakfast menu (again the standard of food was excellent – we even want back tonight for a celebratory meal). There didn’t seem to be any problems with any of the rooms – and, again, nothing seemed to be too much trouble for the staff.

A special mention must go to Sharon, who absolutely works her socks off and runs the hotel with a big smile and great skill. Her no-nonsense, practical attitude is a blessing, especially in the wedding industry where so many people try to sell you as much as they can. We were pleasantly surprised when we received the final bill and could not believe the value.

We were delighted to find such a gem tucked away in the Derbyshire Dales. We live nearby and will be visiting regularly. If you are looking for a wedding venue in Derbyshire then we can highly recommend Alison House Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KellyNicholls27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Lovely hotel with stunning views and lovely grounds. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We only stayed the one night to attend a wedding reception in Matlock Bath which is a short taxi journey or good 10 -15 min walk. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Could not fault this hotel in any way.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

we recently had our wedding at Alison House, (10th May) and want to thank all the staff for making our day just perfect. Nothing was too much trouble and all our family and friends without exception thought it couldn't have been better. Some of our party arrived on Thursday, we had the whole hotel on friday and most of us stayed until Sunday, infact everyone had such a great time we are planning a 'wedding renunion' for next year!! therefore nothing else needs to be said. Wonderful time had by all.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DTW368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews