We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, can't recommend highly enough”
Review of Alison House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alison House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cromford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

We returned to Alison house for our 1st wedding anniversary. After an amazing wedding last year we couldn't wait to go back. We certainly weren't disappointed. Sharon & her team greeted us like old friends & made us feel very welcome. The meal was fantastic & excellent value. We stayed in the Arkwright suite & it really is luxurious. We really can't recommend Alison house enough or Sharon & her team. Nothing is too much trouble. For a wedding venue, short break or meal you can't beat it. We can't wait to return. A massive thank you to Sharon & all the staff :-) Sian & Richard

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Siancw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stayed here for our anniversary and could not have got it better .It was so peaceful the only thing we heard was a owl making a racket . We had a fantastic evening meal served by wonderful staff. Convienient for anything you want to see and to in the area . Look no further if you are looking for a for a pleasant place to stay at a fair price .

Room Tip: If you are a couple with 2 young children ask for room 7 . You will not be dissapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommotony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonHouse, General Manager at Alison House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay at Alison House and celebrated your anniversary with dinner off our tasty Christmas menu too.
thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Spent one night only at the Alison. The people were very friendly and helpful. Made you feel right at home. The room prices were very reasonable and was actually one of the cheaper places we stayed in England. Room was £85 including VAT. It was a very large room in the main building with a beautiful view of trees and fields. Unfortunately I don't remember which number it was or I would recommend it. That rate included breakfast, but we also had dinner there. It ran £15.95 for a two course dinner and both dinner and breakfast were very good. It was nice and quiet as well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mhmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stopped for 4 nights in the self catering holiday cottage called The Oaks.
The cottage was a one bedroom cottage and was well equipped.
Very close to the village of Cromford with a few shops and pubs. The Boat Inn was a favourite of ours ( including Ace the dog). Only a 20 min walk to Matlock Bath and loads of other plentiful walks on the doorstep.
Would definitely recommend and will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daz68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed here for one night with a party of 11 for an 80th birthday, we had 3 generations, 5 veggies, many many ridiculous requests for surprises and decorations and cakes etc and they cooperated and were more than helpful throughout!! They provided plenty of choice for the vegetarians and the food was lovely, we stayed up drinking, nattering and playing charades in the lounge and the service continued until we headed to bed. I cannot speak more highly of the place or the staff!!!

The food was lovely, my portion of lamb chops was very generous and well cooked! Breakfast was all very good with a good selection of food available!

The rooms were lovely, most of us stayed in the cottage and the rooms were lovely.

I would highly reccomend this place to anyone and would like to say a big thank you to all the staff there, the weekend was a huge hit with all!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonHouse, General Manager at Alison House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Thankyou so much for taking the time to write your review.
Customer service is very important to us and the fact you feel that we met all your parties needs is very pleasing to hear.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed overnight whist visiting customers. We had a good sized room with views of the beautiful gardens. Dinner was good, with a varied menu. The wi-fi was poor. Parking was ample.
The only thing that let the place down was understaffing at breakfast.......the duty manager worked like a mad man to get it all done, but there is only so much that one person can do ! The little town / hamlet of Matlock Bath is delightful and we will be back next year as tourists. When we return we will be sure to stay at Alison House.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GandL_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed for a Saturday night last week and had a short but very enjoyable stay. Having arrived at 7 o clock we had been told previously that as there was a wedding on so we could not have a meal at the hotel. So then it was a trek down the dark, unlit rear path to Cromford village to have a meal at the Market Place Restaurant.(which was very good actually)
Our room was in the old stable block and was roomy and well decorated with a nice comfortable king size bed. The bathroom was clean but a little dated, the shower was tricky to operate and not very powerful but all in all the facilities were completely adequate.
Breakfast was very tasty and well cooked with cheerful service, we even had time to walk around the grounds before heading off to Dovedale.

A short whistle stop visit and we really wish we could of arrived earlier and stayed later, we will do next time we stay !!

One suggestion , a complimentary torch to use when walking down the rear path please.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vinny4x4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromford
0.6 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 2 in Matlock Bath
384 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 3 in Matlock
423 reviews
1.8 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wirksworth
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
10.2 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
1 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 2 in Matlock Bath
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alison House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alison House Hotel

Address: Alison House Intake Lane, Cromford DE4 3RH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Cromford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cromford
Price Range: £52 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alison House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within 7 acres of peaceful grounds and gardens, just a short walk from Cromford and Matlock Bath, this elegant Georgian-style House offers locally sourced food, free Wi-Fi and parking.Originally built by the Arkwright family and set in the Derwent Valley World Heritage Site, this recently renovated 18th Century Country House is the ideal base for those wishing to explore the beautiful Derbyshire countryside. With its tranquil surroundings and relaxing atmosphere, it evokes an elegant charm that is almost impossible to resist. All of the 16 en-suite rooms are tastefully decorated and serviced to the highest of standards. As one would expect from a property of this calibre, all rooms include free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. There are plenty of accommodation options to choose from, including Single, Small Double, Classic Double or Twin and Deluxe Room types as well as delightful self-catering cottage located just across the courtyard. Alison House is pet friendly and they accept well-behaved dogs in their Ground Floor rooms at a small charge.Overlooking the gardens, the elegant restaurant has earned a well-deserved reputation amongst locals for the quality of its cuisine. With the emphasis on using fresh locally sourced produce wherever possible, they offer a classic British menu and an extensive wine list.With such wonderful surroundings and great facilities, the Hotel is the ideal venue for special occasions particularly weddings where they have three rooms licensed for the ceremony. The self-contained Garden Suite is also perfect for a variety of business events and is fully equipped to cater to all kinds of meetings, seminars and training courses.The Hotel is situated in the heart of Derbyshire in the village of Cromford just a 7 minute drive from Matlock. They also ample on-site parking for all guests. The city of Derby is just under a 30 minute drive away and offers excellent public transport links. There is also a local train station at Cromford just a 20 minute walk from the Hotel. For those flying in, East Midlands International Airport is a 45 minute drive away.The surrounding Derbyshire countryside is home to some of the most spectacular scenery in the country and nowhere is this more evident than the nearby Peak District National Park. Outdoor enthusiasts will certainly be in their element and there are plenty of footpaths and walks in the immediate area, rock-climbing, potholing and caving in the many limestone dales as well as canoeing and sailing on the River Derwent or Carsington Water. Other nearby attractions include the Heights of Abraham in Matlock Bath, a fantastic hill-top park with its own cable car system, the Blue John Cavern in Castleton, a fascinating series of underground caves, and the family-fun of Gulliver’s Kingdom theme park. There are also several stately homes and gardens just a short drive from the Hotel including the magnificent Chatsworth House and the enchanting Haddon Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alison House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alison Hotel Matlock
Alison House Hotel Cromford, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing