We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alison House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alison House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cromford
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

This hotel is excellent. Set in lovely grounds yet near to many amenities it is a peaceful oasis of calm and tranquillity. The clean and comfortable rooms and friendly, helpful staff made this a very pleasant stay. It is convenient for local attractions such as Crich Tramway museum, the Heights of Abraham, Chatsworth House and nearby Carsington Water which are all well worth a visit. The food served in the restaurant was excellent wit ha varied menu. We will certainly be staying here again !

Room Tip: We had room 5 which was very pleasant and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewRobert1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    76
    35
    19
    9
See reviews for
74
150
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed overnight and found the grounds to be beautiful. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff were very helpful and friendly. There is a historic feel to this hotel and it's furnishings. We ate at the hotel and the dinner was ok although not exceptional but for on site ease of eating a meal it was ideal. Breakfast had a good choice.
This is a nice stay if you are on route to the deeper Peak District. We walked into Cromford itself which is about five minutes from the hotel and it was quite limited with many restaurants closed on a Monday we found. If you are looking for some better looking pubs, restaurants and shops I would recommend driving about 2 miles down the road to Matlock itself. We only drove through but it was much prettier with a larger selection of places to go.
The hotel is only half an hour from Bakewell which is a beautiful example of a quaint Peak District town which I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 27love2travel27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on trent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on June 15th.there was a wedding party while we were staying but it make no difference as the service we received was excellent . Our room had great views of the surrounding countryside . The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice and cooked to perfection. The staff were very friendly and made is feel welcome. It a few minutes drive to Matlock but worth the journey

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bicko19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had warned the hotel that we would be arriving late and despite the fact that there was a wedding in progress we were given an outstanding welcome. Our room was clean, well equipped with a comfortable bed and had a lovely view of the grounds. It was also huge, slept four and would be great for a family. Breakfast was good. As we left, the staff were once again helpful and clearly took an interest in enabling their guests to enjoy their stay in this fascinating village. This is a traditional hotel where you will get a warm Derbyshire welcome.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teacherontour2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had our local car club national weekend at Alison House. We couldn't have been made more welcome. Super friendly staff, fantastic food, evening dinners and breakfasts.
Our room was great, large and airy and very clean, just what you need.
The hotel is in a beautiful setting and only a very short walk into the village of Cromford. Easy access to the rest of the Peak District, including Chatsworth House and Haddon Hall.
The hotel has family rooms and also caravan and camping facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed for a weekend in June and what a relaxing place to be! The staff are so very friendly, making you feel at ease from the minute you arrive. The whole place is spotlessly clean.

We had a large room overlooking the side of the garden so were able to leave our two enormous sash windows open all night with the curtains open too - since you are not overlooked at all. The view was over the Cromford countryside and was totally peaceful. We slept so very well and were woken by the birds singing - bliss!

Breakfast is freshly cooked with everything locally sourced - the best bacon you could ask for - eggs cooked exactly as requested - what a great start to the day! Dinner was excellent too and the service impeccable throughout the weekend.

We have already booked to return - that says it all!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Twins246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Alison house to celebrate our wedding anniversary after getting married there four years ago . The customer service was excellent and we were delighted to be upgraded into a deluxe room. The breakfast was delicious and grounds very beautiful. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Skippingtiddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromford
0.6 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
7.0 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
8.9 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
18.1 mi away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alison House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alison House Hotel

Property: Alison House Hotel
Address: Alison House Intake Lane, Cromford DE4 3RH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Cromford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cromford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alison House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within 7 acres of peaceful grounds and gardens, just a short walk from Cromford and Matlock Bath, this elegant Georgian-style House offers locally sourced food, free Wi-Fi and parking.Originally built by the Arkwright family and set in the Derwent Valley World Heritage Site, this recently renovated 18th Century Country House is the ideal base for those wishing to explore the beautiful Derbyshire countryside. With its tranquil surroundings and relaxing atmosphere, it evokes an elegant charm that is almost impossible to resist. All of the 16 en-suite rooms are tastefully decorated and serviced to the highest of standards. As one would expect from a property of this calibre, all rooms include free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. There are plenty of accommodation options to choose from, including Single, Small Double, Classic Double or Twin and Deluxe Room types as well as delightful self-catering cottage located just across the courtyard. Alison House is pet friendly and they accept well-behaved dogs in their Ground Floor rooms at a small charge.Overlooking the gardens, the elegant restaurant has earned a well-deserved reputation amongst locals for the quality of its cuisine. With the emphasis on using fresh locally sourced produce wherever possible, they offer a classic British menu and an extensive wine list.With such wonderful surroundings and great facilities, the Hotel is the ideal venue for special occasions particularly weddings where they have three rooms licensed for the ceremony. The self-contained Garden Suite is also perfect for a variety of business events and is fully equipped to cater to all kinds of meetings, seminars and training courses.The Hotel is situated in the heart of Derbyshire in the village of Cromford just a 7 minute drive from Matlock. They also ample on-site parking for all guests. The city of Derby is just under a 30 minute drive away and offers excellent public transport links. There is also a local train station at Cromford just a 20 minute walk from the Hotel. For those flying in, East Midlands International Airport is a 45 minute drive away.The surrounding Derbyshire countryside is home to some of the most spectacular scenery in the country and nowhere is this more evident than the nearby Peak District National Park. Outdoor enthusiasts will certainly be in their element and there are plenty of footpaths and walks in the immediate area, rock-climbing, potholing and caving in the many limestone dales as well as canoeing and sailing on the River Derwent or Carsington Water. Other nearby attractions include the Heights of Abraham in Matlock Bath, a fantastic hill-top park with its own cable car system, the Blue John Cavern in Castleton, a fascinating series of underground caves, and the family-fun of Gulliver’s Kingdom theme park. There are also several stately homes and gardens just a short drive from the Hotel including the magnificent Chatsworth House and the enchanting Haddon Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Alison House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alison Hotel Matlock
Alison House Hotel Cromford, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing