We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Alison House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alison House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cromford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed in the campervan area. Very quiet and no one bothers you. Only a 20 minute walk into Matlock Bath. Onsite has toilet and 'elsan' point. Will definitely be returning :)
The field has a slight gradient but there are leveled parking areas right next to the electric hookup points

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
2  Thank brun2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

This was an amazing place, lovely old house, not huge, with enthusiastic and very welcoming staff. We arrived too late, had supper in the village, about a 5-10 min walk, which has a choice of pubs and restaurants. The hotel is very near the A6, but you get no noise as it is set back from the road in beautifual gardens. We had an amazing walk straight out of the door round Cromford and up to the High Peak trail, quite beautiful but also full of interest with the old industrial sites all around, all now very picturesque.
Deluxe room was huge, pleasantly furnished, with a wonderful view over the gardens to the hills round the valley, big bathroom, loo with a view. This isn't some sort of perfection mega palace with massage spas etc, just a plain honest unpretentious English country hotel, but in a stunning house and setting.
Breakfast was excellent.
Breakfast was suitably full English and absolutely fine.
This was a stopover en route to Scotland, and I would definitely go here again, absolute bargain at £99.

Room Tip: Deluxe was well worth it, I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oldfather_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We booked a while ago to meet up with friends . We were shown up to our room and as we passed the Arkwright suite we were told that was our friends room when they arrived . As we were left in our room I asked my husband if he'd ask if there was another room we could have . He didn't ask as he said as it was an older property , all the rooms would be similar . It was so tired and worn looking . I didn't see any photos of this room on the website , they all looked so much nicer .The bathroom did look newish but the grouting and shower surrounds in places were black . The bed was clean and comfortable . Above the bed was a trapdoor into the roof space . I let my husband lie under that . There was a cupboard with a grubby inside . I didn't take any photos of the stained walls and marked paintwork . There was no heating in the bathroom which was quite cool in the morning . The old windows let in a draught . I imagine it's cold in the winter . Our friends arrived and we saw their suite . A huge room , nicely decorated, big separate bathroom with a roll top bath . No shower except a hand held one on the bath . Completely different to ours and there is a photo of that room on the website . They did say it was a bit chilly and nowhere to hang towels in the big bathroom ! We went outside with our drinks into a glass roofed area of the patio . There were weeds growing out of the paths . As it's August we'd have thought it'd have been cleared for guests . It looked neglected . We didn't stay in for dinner . There were quite a few guests for breakfast and it was fine . The staff we saw were pleasant . We were meant to be staying for two nights but cancelled our second night . After reading the glowing reviews we wondered whether we were in the same hotel . Very disappointed and in particular with room 4 .

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank Pixie056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Relaxed, friendly and helpful staff made this a perfect site for a sunny wedding day. The hotel was not perfect (plumbing was a little erratic - a reflection of the age of the building?) but room 6 was spacious and comfortable although like a Premier Inn only offered one arm chair! The lounge was a sociable corridor to the garden and well furnished. Breakfast, lunches, dinners and wines were excellent value The staff could not have been more accommodating; even the granchildren's requests were speedily delivered!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LXXI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel is superbly located near the centre of Cromford. It is sufficiently close to Matlock and Matlock Bath to be able to visit them easily (we walked into Matlock and returned via High Tor - around 7 miles in total), but Cromford remains tranquil and peaceful (even on a Sunday afternoon when Matlock Bath is descended upon by half of England's bikers!). It is also superbly situated for walking parts of the High Peak trail, and the Cromford canal.

The welcome from the staff is very friendly, and you are immediately made to feel at home. The rooms are all individual, but provide all the facilities that are needed in a small hotel. Breakfast is individually prepared and served, and is very good.

Parking is plentiful and free. I would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to visit the White Peak district, whether for walking, sightseeing, or visiting the local attractions, of which there are so many (Arkwright mills, Chatsworth House, etc, etc).

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LooeMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We've just had our wedding at Alison House and we're so glad we chose it as our venue. We wanted a relaxed atmosphere, beautiful Derbyshire countryside and flexibility with what we could eat/drink/do. Sharon is absolutely fantastic at making the day run smoothly and she does it all with a great sense of humour, warmth and professionalism. Nothing is too much trouble and she is totally flexible in terms of menu choices, getting particular beers in for you, making small last minute changes, etc which is so refreshing in comparison with other places. We never felt rushed on the day or the day after when we opened our presents in the garden with family long after checking out time! The food on the day was unbelievably good and what's more, the portions were a great size. The hotel and grounds are stunning and the prices for everything
are also very reasonable. We'd recommend it to everyone!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Elimaus88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Me and my partner recently stayed at Alison house hotel with our 3 year old daughter, everybody made us feel so welcome and the atmosphere was warming! The location is beautiful and the hotel grounds are outstanding! Such a peaceful place. The room was a big family room and was perfect for our needs, Can not really fault it. The breakfast was spot on, we both had a traditional full English and my daughter porridge. It was just what we needed a peaceful stay in a warming place. Thanks a lot. Will defo be coming back again. Will recommend to anyone

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeeleyJade12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromford
0.6 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
330 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
386 reviews
6.9 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wirksworth
107 reviews
8.3 mi away
Makeney Hall Hotel
Makeney Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Belper
1,036 reviews
18.4 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alison House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alison House Hotel

Address: Alison House Intake Lane, Cromford DE4 3RH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Cromford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cromford
Price Range: £57 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alison House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within 7 acres of peaceful grounds and gardens, just a short walk from Cromford and Matlock Bath, this elegant Georgian-style House offers locally sourced food, free Wi-Fi and parking.Originally built by the Arkwright family and set in the Derwent Valley World Heritage Site, this recently renovated 18th Century Country House is the ideal base for those wishing to explore the beautiful Derbyshire countryside. With its tranquil surroundings and relaxing atmosphere, it evokes an elegant charm that is almost impossible to resist. All of the 16 en-suite rooms are tastefully decorated and serviced to the highest of standards. As one would expect from a property of this calibre, all rooms include free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. There are plenty of accommodation options to choose from, including Single, Small Double, Classic Double or Twin and Deluxe Room types as well as delightful self-catering cottage located just across the courtyard. Alison House is pet friendly and they accept well-behaved dogs in their Ground Floor rooms at a small charge.Overlooking the gardens, the elegant restaurant has earned a well-deserved reputation amongst locals for the quality of its cuisine. With the emphasis on using fresh locally sourced produce wherever possible, they offer a classic British menu and an extensive wine list.With such wonderful surroundings and great facilities, the Hotel is the ideal venue for special occasions particularly weddings where they have three rooms licensed for the ceremony. The self-contained Garden Suite is also perfect for a variety of business events and is fully equipped to cater to all kinds of meetings, seminars and training courses.The Hotel is situated in the heart of Derbyshire in the village of Cromford just a 7 minute drive from Matlock. They also ample on-site parking for all guests. The city of Derby is just under a 30 minute drive away and offers excellent public transport links. There is also a local train station at Cromford just a 20 minute walk from the Hotel. For those flying in, East Midlands International Airport is a 45 minute drive away.The surrounding Derbyshire countryside is home to some of the most spectacular scenery in the country and nowhere is this more evident than the nearby Peak District National Park. Outdoor enthusiasts will certainly be in their element and there are plenty of footpaths and walks in the immediate area, rock-climbing, potholing and caving in the many limestone dales as well as canoeing and sailing on the River Derwent or Carsington Water. Other nearby attractions include the Heights of Abraham in Matlock Bath, a fantastic hill-top park with its own cable car system, the Blue John Cavern in Castleton, a fascinating series of underground caves, and the family-fun of Gulliver’s Kingdom theme park. There are also several stately homes and gardens just a short drive from the Hotel including the magnificent Chatsworth House and the enchanting Haddon Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alison House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alison Hotel Matlock
Alison House Hotel Cromford, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing