We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so very dissapointing”
Review of Alison House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alison House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cromford
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“so very dissapointing”
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Our friends that we spent the weekend with stayed in the cottage next to the hotel it had mixed smells of dog cigerettes and damp.The decor was of a sale room,awful.
Our room was just big enough to swing a cat but you needed to be very clever to use the hair dryer in conjunction with the mirror as the only mirror was in the bathroom but the plug was in the bedroom.
The shower mat had seen better days and general standards were well below those of what is expected in a guest house let alone a hotel.
On booking we expected we had vacate our room by eleven but a sign in the room made it quite clear we had to vacate our room by ten-no great loss as we wanted to be away just the breakfast to look forward to as it stated how wonderful the local sausages and bacon was.
the breakfast was swimming in some liquid after three requests for extra toast we eventually recieved some but my wife after requesting mustard on two occasions gave up.The sausages weighed up our weekend in this hotel,so very dissapointing

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peterfru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    80
    35
    20
    9
See reviews for
80
157
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
north east england,uk
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

A lovely hotel, very chilled, and so friendly nothing was too much trouble. we stayed in the annex in a small room which was quaint and cosy. Every room is difference and as we were in a large party we checked all the rooms out,the hotel is like a rabbit warren as there is many staircases and ways in and out, which all just adds to its charm.
The Whole hotel is kept spotlessly clean and rooms are cleaned daily with new towels but i am sure if you needed anything you would only have to ask.The breakfasts put many hotels to shame, there was plenty of choice and could do anything you really wanted.
you can also hire the whole hotel and if i lived nearer to it i would !!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsinhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Welcoming and comfortable with excellent breakfasts. Quiet location, apart from the owl in the garden :-) Many period features, very good value and the free wi-fi in my room was a winning bonus.
In the perfect spot for my trip, working in the Amber Valley during the day and in the evenings able to explore the High Peaks Walk and Midshires Way at the end of the lane above the Hotel. Outstanding views and constant reminders of the area’s industrial heritage.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D_4_descry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whittle le woods
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2010

Just returned after two nights at the Alison hotel, we were given the oak cottage room13, it had two beds strapped together ,one chair no dressing table , a minute ensuite , the room wasnt serviced by 5 pm.the outside needs a good brushing and the gardens were neglected even the front door was dirty and the shower needs grouting, the owner seemed to think if theres a demand for rooms in the area why worry" disgusted Marian Smith

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoofood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kb1410
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2010

I had been told this was a lovely hotel and was expecting a hot shower and comfortable bed after walking around the Peak District most of the day. Unfortunately, although the room had the advertised shower, it was at my hip height (I'm 5' 2"). There was no shower curtain around the bath so it didn't seem as though it was designed for everyday use. Also, the bed was on a downward slant, the room had no hairdryer (as advertised) and I could not find the free WiFi advertised.

When I asked about changing rooms to one with a usable shower, the (very helpful) member of staff I spoke to referred me to the managers who were very rude and implied that I was being unreasonable to want a shower rather than a bath.

The other main downside for me was what sounded like a generator going in the afternoon. I was informed rather curtly that this was actually the kitchen fan and would be going off at 21.30. Unfortunately, I found out that it starts up again at 05.00!

On the upside, it is in an attractive area and it is very peaceful when the fan is not on (around 7.5 hours) but I would not recommend this hotel to anyone unless they sleep like a brick, don't mind not showering and don't talk to the managers.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kb1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2010

Upstairs corridors were a bit of a rabbit warren, but our comfortable en-suite bedroom looked out on a lovely spacious garden with the high peak trail up in the trees beyond. No sound from the nearby A6. An old print from the Wright of Derby portrait of Arkwright hung over our breakfast table in the large stylish restaurant. Excellent breakfast. Very friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SXDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2009

Very friendly staff,nice location and atmosphere.

Had a lovely carvery meal (2 courses for £11.95).
Very generous tender meat portions (lamb/beef/pork)...you can have any combination.
Lots of vegatables with seperate vegetarian dishes all nicely presented and hot.
,
Open log fires.

No rush atmosphere.

Did not try accomodation so not rated.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kibby2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromford
0.6 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
7.0 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
8.9 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
1.8 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wirksworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alison House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alison House Hotel

Property: Alison House Hotel
Address: Alison House Intake Lane, Cromford DE4 3RH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Cromford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cromford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alison House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within 7 acres of peaceful grounds and gardens, just a short walk from Cromford and Matlock Bath, this elegant Georgian-style House offers locally sourced food, free Wi-Fi and parking.Originally built by the Arkwright family and set in the Derwent Valley World Heritage Site, this recently renovated 18th Century Country House is the ideal base for those wishing to explore the beautiful Derbyshire countryside. With its tranquil surroundings and relaxing atmosphere, it evokes an elegant charm that is almost impossible to resist. All of the 16 en-suite rooms are tastefully decorated and serviced to the highest of standards. As one would expect from a property of this calibre, all rooms include free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. There are plenty of accommodation options to choose from, including Single, Small Double, Classic Double or Twin and Deluxe Room types as well as delightful self-catering cottage located just across the courtyard. Alison House is pet friendly and they accept well-behaved dogs in their Ground Floor rooms at a small charge.Overlooking the gardens, the elegant restaurant has earned a well-deserved reputation amongst locals for the quality of its cuisine. With the emphasis on using fresh locally sourced produce wherever possible, they offer a classic British menu and an extensive wine list.With such wonderful surroundings and great facilities, the Hotel is the ideal venue for special occasions particularly weddings where they have three rooms licensed for the ceremony. The self-contained Garden Suite is also perfect for a variety of business events and is fully equipped to cater to all kinds of meetings, seminars and training courses.The Hotel is situated in the heart of Derbyshire in the village of Cromford just a 7 minute drive from Matlock. They also ample on-site parking for all guests. The city of Derby is just under a 30 minute drive away and offers excellent public transport links. There is also a local train station at Cromford just a 20 minute walk from the Hotel. For those flying in, East Midlands International Airport is a 45 minute drive away.The surrounding Derbyshire countryside is home to some of the most spectacular scenery in the country and nowhere is this more evident than the nearby Peak District National Park. Outdoor enthusiasts will certainly be in their element and there are plenty of footpaths and walks in the immediate area, rock-climbing, potholing and caving in the many limestone dales as well as canoeing and sailing on the River Derwent or Carsington Water. Other nearby attractions include the Heights of Abraham in Matlock Bath, a fantastic hill-top park with its own cable car system, the Blue John Cavern in Castleton, a fascinating series of underground caves, and the family-fun of Gulliver’s Kingdom theme park. There are also several stately homes and gardens just a short drive from the Hotel including the magnificent Chatsworth House and the enchanting Haddon Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alison House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alison Hotel Matlock
Alison House Hotel Cromford, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing