We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, historic accommodation”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
9 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Cromford, Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Margaret...
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful, historic accommodation”
Reviewed 10 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Beautifully appointed accommodation. Decorated to a very high standard. Loved the exposed gearing for the mill in bottom kitchen. On the subject of kitchens not sure why there are three. Would have perfered a larger lounge. It was a squeeze for the 16 of us. Parking arrangements are not ideal but we managed. Very well situated for the many attractions around Matlock.

Date of stay: December 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewHa...
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fab extended family Christmas”
Reviewed 28 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Two grandparents, 8 parents and 6 children all enjoyed a fabulous Christmas in this extensive and character filled residence. The house offers a maze of rooms and plenty of larger sitting rooms and a long dining area allowing us all to eat together. The location is excellent, allowing us to enjoy Cromford and its mills on foot and some great hill walks just a short drive, or run, away. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: December 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Stunning, quirky property, lots of character.”
Reviewed 16 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We were a party of 17 friends, the property over three floors had plenty of space to accommodate us all yet also had smaller areas to spend some quiter time if needed, the three kitchens had everything that you would need, the ground floor one seated 18 so we all got together in the evenings for our meal, during the day the smaller kitchens were used for breakfast and lunch, the bedrooms were all different, clean and comfortable and all the bathrooms were of a high standard. The stone steps going down to the lower ground floor may be a problem if someone had mobility problems so be aware of this, overall is a stunning, quirky property and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

The pretty, small village if Cromford had a few shops and was a nice 20 minutes walk into Matlock Bath. The ownner of the property gave all the information and directions needed to make our stay an enjoyable one, we would definitely recommend this property to our friends and would happily pay a return visit.

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character and history of the property
Liked least: The stone steps going down to the lower ground floor were uncomfortable in bare feet.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share this wonderful review with us all, we couldn't be happier that you enjoyed your time at The Malthouse. It sounds like the property suited you down to the ground, with all that space to spread out in; taking breakfast & lunch in one kitchen and your evening meal in another sounds fabulous! We certainly hope that you return for another visit very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah_Ha...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, excellent choice”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
6
people found this review helpful

A large group of us stayed here over Easter weekend and it was fantastic. The house is beautifully decorated to a very high standard, everyone was amazed and talked all weekend about how nice it was. The owners were extremely accommodating and helpful (they live just next door) and were kind enough to start the cleaning around us when we weren't quite ready to leave at 10am (although we had been told well in advance several times that we had to be out by no later than 10!) The house is in Cromford, a small village but it has everything you need - a big pub, great fish and chip shop and a convenience store selling most things. It's also a pleasant 20 minute walk away from Matlock Bath.
The house has 3 living rooms and three separate kitchens, although one of the kitchens has seating for all 18 guests it is a shame that there isn't one big living space. I think it would be perfect if you were 3/4 smaller families going away together but for one large party it could be a little bit disjointed. In saying that I would definitely book this house again as it's just so beautiful.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How beautiful the property was, inside and out.
Liked least: That there isn't one big living room that will seat all the guests
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing