We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blackaddie Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blackaddie Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sanquhar
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
tetbury
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

On a food trip in northern Britain this unassuming property delighted us with some of the best food we'd eaten - a real compliment when we'd also eaten at Sat Baines and The Three Chimneys on Skye. Excellent value for money - the newly decorated bedroom we had had the most comfortable bed and luxurious bathroom. We look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly decorated rooms and make sure you eat there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charles w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    58
    26
    12
    7
See reviews for
32
228
12
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

The hotel was spotlessly clean although sparse in furnishings and we had a superior room, so not sure what the other rooms were like. The bed was kingsize and very comfortable. The bathroom was superb with a spa bath as well as a walk-in shower.

The kettle cable was too short to reach the sockets so had to move the dressing stool over to the sockets and place the tray on that before the cable reached the sockets.the TV channels were very limited, especially the news channels.

It was fine dining but the menu was limited and very cordon bleu not cheap at £52.00 per person certainly not value for money. There was supposed to be another menu, but it is not always available and wasnt much better. No vegetarian options. Drinks were expensive. We ended up going into Sanquar to eat at the Nithsdale Hotel, which was excellent and very reasonable.

Breakfast was superb, bone china crockery including the teapot and an excellent selection of food.

Gardens were not as big as led to believe.

Very friendly staff

Room Tip: Ask for room with four poster or at least a superior room. Dont book for the fine dining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geraldine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a three night stay at the Blackaddie Hotel. We booked the hotel as we liked the look of it on the website and we had not visited the Dumfries area before and we were more than pleasantly surprised on our arrival. On turning into the driveway to the entrance of the hotel we both commented on how tidy the grounds were. We checked in and were met by Jane who showed us to room. The room was very spacious and exceptionally clean, We benefited from a whirlpool bath and monsoon shower which were gratefully received. We booked in for dinner and had a choice of fine dining or the daily menu (which is changed daily). We decided to have a drink before dinner in the bar area. This again was exceptionally clean and cosy. The food from the daily menu was amazing, We both did not know what to expect from a top chef and "wow" it was the best meals we have ever had. Our only regret is not trying the fine dining menu (which we will certainly have on our next visit). The breakfast was tremendous too. Everything is professional but has excellent personal touches. In summary I would like to recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a homely, friendly hotel but with something extra. Perfect, thank you for making our stay a most enjoyable one.

Room Tip: Ptarmigan was a lovely spacious room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Not convinced by this place or its staff. I found myself at Blackaddie last month (July) as I had a business trip to Douglas so liked the look of its website but I regret it. I was on my own but my room was ridden with dust, shower was dirty and the furniture cheap. The female owner said the room was to be refurbished but that reverberated as a lame excuse for poor standard. My colleague joined us for dinner and though the restaurant proclaims it’s “fine dining” it was miles away from anything near fine dining. If this place seriously thinks it can rival places like Knockinaam Lodge, Kinloch Lodge or the Three Chimneys, the owners really need to think again. The food was ok but was unremarkable. The out-of-his-depth waiter couldn't respond in detail to wine choices or what was on the plate and made no attempt to find out either. It seems the chef waxes lyrical about his previous appointments in Michelin-starred restaurants. I can only say no inspector will be calling at this run down and frankly amateur affair.

Room Tip: Avoid older rooms if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chefmcandrew, Owner at Blackaddie Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Sir,
Normally and despite the anonymity this medium allows its contributors it is possible to work out quite easily who it is that has written the review and therefore respond to it in an informed way. On this occasion despite my best efforts I have been totally unable to do so. I can not work out who you are and therefore can not give an honest and accurate response to your scathing review. If you would reveal yourself to me then I will happily respond. It is of course unfortunate from our perspective that it is not possible to respond more positively at this time as this review is so scathing. Thankfully most people will read a good cross section of our reviews and make up their own mind based on the high majority of extremely positive remarks we receive. I do however wonder though if you actually dined from our TDH menu which offers very simple fare rather than our more elaborate and technically better Fine Dining menu, if this is the case it is therefore unfair to compare us with the Michelin Starred establishments as you did. For the record I am the Chef & Joint owner with my wife, I have held a Michelin Star in 2 other establishments one of which we owned, we do not currently have a Michelin Star nor do I claim to have one.
It is true that we still have a couple of rooms that require refurbishment along with a single room that is to be incorporated into the room next door to it as a bathroom, the plans (as you would have seen) have been drawn up and we will, when funds allow, complete this work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We booked into the Blackaddie Hotel for a short, midweek break. We were celebrating my wife's birthday. The room we had was large and airy, a wonderfull bathroom with a massive shower and a Jaccuzi bath. The room was very nice but the food was brilliant!. Ian took time to vary the menu so there was no repetition in the four days we were there. We booked the Gourmet menu one evening. The best food experience I have ever had!. I have eaten in Michelin star restaurants but this was far better, such imagination and talent used to produce a wonderful menu. The breakfasts followed the same lines, interesting food well cooked and presented, set you up for the day. We are planning our return already.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alistair l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Decided to write this off the back of a trip to Sanquhar on 10th August. My wife and I occasionally visit the area and this was our first time at Blackaddie. A lovely old house, finely decorated and appearing to be of good upkeep. I had read some reviews before visiting and had mistakingly went along thinking it was a michelin star restaurant (sorry for not doing my homework!). Our reception into the restaurant was pleasant enough. I have to agree with one of the other visitors who was there the same evening as myself; the drinks service was definitely slow and the young waiter appeared to have NO knowledge of the wine list (which had some rather expensive entries!). I would also agree that I expected more information about our food selection and the mash was rather strange; maybe because I have not tried it like that before? (nor would I wish to try it again!!!). The courses we had were okay, but not knockout for what we paid. Value for money wise I would recommend The Oasis Restaurant as we have visited on a number of occasions and have never felt "cheated" when the bill hits the table...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Red-Volvo1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chefmcandrew, Owner at Blackaddie Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
It seems we at least get people to write about us, both good and bad. Personally speaking as the chef I believe black pudding mash is lovely as do a lot of people and it goes very well indeed with the beef and beetroot it was paired with that fateful night. I do of course concede that black pudding is not to everyone's taste but to compare what we do to the Oasis restaurant in the local pub is taking things a bit too far really, sorry Oasis but! However I'm sure you will enjoy your next meal there.
No we do not have a Michelin Star nor do we claim to have one, I did however hold a star in 2 previous establishments many years ago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawfordjohn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

This review is off the back of our third visit to Blackaddie Country House Hotel and it won't be the last, we are hooked on Ian's excellence in producing fantastic mouth watering food. I don't think you will ever get the same dish twice with his fine dining menu changing daily. The previous review is rather harsh and just a fine example of he some people are never happy. We dined on the same evening Saturday past by the sounds of the review and would like to give our experience on the exact same night. There was a new girl waitressing and was being shown the ropes that night but did a fantastic job considering how nervous a trainee can feel when in a fine dining environment, she did a sterling job considering the amount of skills she will need to pick up. Michael the main waiter has a growing knowledge of wines and was able to recommend one exactly suited to our palate with both me and my husband preferring those fuller bodied reds, considering the wine list only changed at the tail end of the year he can't know and have tasted them all. Saturday evening was a particularly busy one too with only one free table and a few of the sittings arriving rather close together which may have impacted service ever so slightly but we were never without a drink nor did our glass ever run dry. As for the black pudding mash I'm sorry but fine dining is all about subtle flavours and Ian did it beautifully, in order to get a more depth of colour would have meant more black pudding making the mash overpowering, simply knowing what had been served to you allows you to accept the colour of the mash and get on woth it. You are also provided with a very descriptive account of the dishes available to you on the menu so it shouldn't need explained in depth to you at the table. I do get rather put out by people searching or negatives rather than telling people about those positives that clearly outweigh small niggles at the Blackaddie. My only criticism on Saturday is that I couldn't get a huge bowl or the lobster bisque, it was the best I have ever tasted and I am still salivating over it. Will be visiting again very very soon. Smiths (Gourmet Diners)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanquhar
12.5 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
11.1 mi away
Buccleuch & Queensberry Hotel
0.4 mi away
Nithsdale Hotel
Nithsdale Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sanquhar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Cumnock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
18.1 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
19.4 mi away
Annandale Arms Hotel
Annandale Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Moffat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackaddie Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackaddie Country House Hotel

Property: Blackaddie Country House Hotel
Address: Blackaddie Road, Sanquhar DG4 6JJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Sanquhar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sanquhar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Blackaddie Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed comfortable award-winning 4 star restaurant with rooms in beautiful surroundings with fantastic food and friendly staff on the banks of the river Nith in Dumfries and Galloway. Close to Drumlanrig Castle Dumfries House and Crawick Multiverse. Fishing available. On the Southern Upland Way in beautiful walking and cycling country. Next door to a swimming pool with golf course less than 1/2 mile away. Only 45 miles from Glasgow ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Blackaddie Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackaddie Country House Hotel Sanquhar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing