We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blackaddie Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Nithsdale Hotel(Sanquhar)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abington Hotel(Abington)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Hotel(Cumnock)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Railway Hotel(Auchinleck)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (378)
Filter reviews
378 results
Traveller rating
260
67
29
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
260
67
29
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfine diningian mcandrewpartridgesorbetpennefudgefantastic foodbanks of the riverwine listthe table d'hote menucountry housesouthern upland waycheeseboardjacuzzi bathgourmet dinnerbiscuitsfirst class
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
227 - 232 of 378 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed at the Blackaddie for 1 night on Feb 12th and just wished we were staying longer! Our special deal menu was excellent value for money, the room was good and we wished we could have stayed on to sample the a la carte menu which looked delicious.

Room Tip: Our bathroom was a little chilly in the evening but by leaving the bedroom door open overnight it was fine
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skiteddybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

High standard of presentation, taste and complexity in each course, and a high standard of service makes this a food destination which deserves to succeed. Thoroughly enjoyed both the evening meals and the breakfast, and would return. 5 star food.
The newly refurbished bedroom was comfy and well furnished, and the bathroom was beautifully designed and relaxing, a 4 star room.
The rest of the hotel is a bit of a mix of styles and standards, all very clean and tidy, but the bits waiting on refurb, particularly the bar area, are only 3 star, which is a shame as it doesn't match the standard of the food and rooms. I hope the planned refurb pulls together a style which gets them a much deserved 4 star rating for the hotel. (photos of food on the wall, and old posters always reminds me of a café rather than a high class restaurant).
Anyway, please don't let a bit of decoration deter you from going, go try Ians food, you wont be disappointed, and they deserves much success.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diz023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We visited at very short notice, the weekend before valentine’s, because our planned getaway to another part of Britain was blown away by the unwelcome ferocious storms. Friends on an annual gourmet tour texted us to say they were enjoying the place, and the food was "definitely up to snuff". We immediately booked three nights D&B&B with one gourmet meal included.

Well, Dumfries & Galloway we found to be one of those inexplicably under-appreciated jewels in the Scottish crown. Mild weather, lovely approach to Sanquar across the impressive and accessible Donald-sized Hills west of Moffatt, viewpoints a'plenty descending from the pass to the historically noteworthy town, located ideally for exploring the nearby extant or ruined castles, parks, and the many nature reserves dotted throughout the county, right to the coastal bird reserves within an hour. Amongst the many lovely and diverse sights, we encountered a golden eagle rare in these hills, red kite, and numerous buzzards and kestrels, and amazingly, a Himalayan Bar-Headed Goose! Escapee gone feral no doubt, but what a sight amongst the usual Greylags and Canada Geese! But getting back to the point:

The Country House itself was everything we wished and more.
Charming, old, perfect river-side location, lovely kitchen garden and associated dodgy-looking ancient greenhouse if anyone wants a pick-your-own vegetarian meal (only joking).
Friendly owner-chef Ian McAndrew and Jane (running the front of house) were warmly welcoming, kind and very relaxed about our late arrival. Michael as Maitre d' was organised and appropriately chatty when we asked for advice and recommendations. His knowledge of the wines themselves could perhaps be improved, but his advice was sound and good. No problems there.
The canapés were certainly "up to snuff", excellent in fact.
Our first and third night we had the abbreviated menu - excellently prepared and beautifully presented, absolutely lovely fish, mussels, perfect lamb, stunning fillet steak, meals cooked and sliced to perfection with nuanced sauce reductions and indisputable talent.
The second night, we had the gourmet choice. Wow factor positive. Ingenious designs for each course in taste texture balance, and presentation impact. I particularly liked the succulent scallops on the aesthetic and tasty “deconstructed waldorf” with delicate walnut foam to soften the geometric lines and grace the palate. Outstanding. Great cheeses too, and original choices of matching oatcake styles. I've been to several michelin-starred establishments that fell far below this standard of cuisine and presentation. Chef Ian McAndrew is a Chef par excellence.
The fine dining room was really too bright for comfort, and could do with a dimmer for the central brass chandelier with more impressive candle bowls or perhaps a pair or three safely ensconced candles at the tables, to make the room feel more intimate and still see the food in its glory...

Wine list is eclectic, with excellent house choices of various whites and reds by the glass, and some carefully chosen affordable prestige wines eg a first class white burgundy which matched his fish and fowl cuisine most excellently, and a very special Laurent-Tardieu CNDP which lasted beautifully for two nights for us. Suggest opening it a long time ahead of the meal if you can.
There were some empty rooms, so we were privileged to be upgraded from Riverside to the Grouse Suite, with solid four-poster, traditional furnishings, a fab view, in-room basic but good refreshments and fully effective heating. Excellent modern bathroom, without unnecessary lotions and potions but with a decent tablet of nicely "cologned" kindly hand soap.
Breakfast was an additional classy bonus. Not the usual dull standard B&B fare, but very good indeed. Chef loves his work, and loves good quality ingredients. Thank you so very much.

We're returning in May, and looking forward to it already.

Room Tip: The riverside (self-catering optional) suites seem good value, perfectly adequate and spacious especially for a longer stay where eating in the restaurant every night is not the whole idea, but for the eclectic guest the main guest rooms seem well-appointed and more charming. There are no signs of active renovation during our stay, it was peaceful and lovely. There are plans on display in the library for continuing upgrade of rooms and layouts, making this a place IMO to return to as the project unfolds. If the place is not fully booked, you might be offered a room upgrade?
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew_Julia_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We visited on a special deal in January- 2 adults and 2 children in a riverside lodge.
We received a friendly welcome,appropriate food for the kids and great fine dining for the adults. The lodge was warm, clean and perfectly comfortable, but nothing fancy- not one of the refurbished areas. Breakfast was a highlight for all.
Dumfries &Galloway was peaceful and beautiful, Sanquhar is a lovely place to be based.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ajmackenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Hotel and we have to report that we had a most enjoyable visit topped off by the utterly wonderful food on offer. My wife and I enjoy eating out whenever we can and have dined at most of the best eateries that Glasgow has to offer yet none of those establishments could match the dinners we had over both nights of our stay! Indeed, the only other meal that was comparable was a stupendous meal we had at Bohemia on Jersey four years ago. Take a bow Ian McAndrew! A friendly front of house welcome from Jane, Ian's wife, was also on offer and our thanks are also extended to Michael, the bar and restaurant manager who was very professional and efficient in ensuring that the whole dinner experience was a joy from start to finish.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews