We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Foodie paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blackaddie Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sanquhar
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This was our first visit to the Blackaddie but is unlikely to be our last. We stayed for two nights and came by train. We were picked up and dropped off at the station which was a nice touch. The hotel was lovely with excellent rooms but the highlight was the food which was of a very high quality indeed. The staff were friendly, professional and accommodating and included an excellent Maître d' Michael.

If you are looking for a quiet, relaxed break with fabulous food this is the place to come!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ballycastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

We found Blackaddie by googling for dog friendly hotels as we were travelling to Stockport with our two large dogs and wanted to break the journey in the Borders. The spacious riverside suite was idea with access to a (rather muddy) walk by the river which we all enjoyed. The meal was really superb in the lovely dining room. Very tasty food indeed and beautifully served. It all felt very professional. The breakfast was excellent. Obviously only the best ingredients were used and it showed. We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colinkath084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We only stayed for one night in one of the hotel rooms. It was an offer deal and very good value. The evening meal and breakfast were exceptional. The hotel is being refurbished and the price reflected this. All in all a comfortable welcoming stay; shame we had only booked for one night. The stairs to our room would be a little difficult to navigate for anyone with mobility problems.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MariaGreenwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Superb food, a friendly welcome and an enchanting location - the perfect destination after a long walk on the Southern Upland Way and a great base for exploring this beautiful part of Scotland. Easy access whether you arrive by road or train.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Just returned from a delightful 3 nights at the Riverside Cottage (part of the hotel, though fully equipped to be self-catering). This is the smallest of the 3 cottages (sleeps 2, ideally a couple though I believe it can be set as 2 singles), but it makes full use of the westerly outlook and elevated views over a bend in the River Nith, directly over “Minister’s Pool”. The only cottage with full patio doors and its own private patio. The sun, literally, shines straight in from about 3.00pm until dusk. Charming, very comfortable and well equipped.

Right, so that’s that one cracked, we thought. Wrong! The brilliance is yet to come. Booking the restaurant (small) is easy. Whatever you do when coming here, book the “fine dining” option! Particularly when you know that Ian MacAndrew will personally be prepping and cooking it. It’s 5 courses, so you may have to leave room for his beautifully prepared and presented pudding course (sorry, in Scotland it’s still referred to as “dessert”). If you see “fennel ice cream” as part of the menu (usually as a 3rd course palate cleanser), have it! I asked him how he does it when he came to see us at the end of our meal, but it’s clearly a trade secret. Grrr

But seriously, all of the courses from the “fine dining” menu are expertly balanced, obviously using fresh ingredients. Ian creates a combination of fresh local ingredients, flavours, textures and flawless cooking which could not fail to delight even the most ardent "foodie".

And then you return to your cottage. Idyllic or what?

We were incredibly lucky with the weather. We’ve both come home with sun tans. Well, with a patio like that, what else?

Sanquar itself has little of interest (the Tolbooth museum is worth a look see), but there’s a lot around the surrounding area. Previous reviewers have given their views, to which I would only add Wanlockhead – almost a museum in itself, and I swear it was warmer up there even than it was on the cottage patio! Definite recommendation.

The only other thing I can add is that Ian MacAndrew is a true visionary, a true Director. He clearly knows where he wants to take this. That’s what a Director does. It’s not about management, it’s about vision. A manager’s job is easy. Ian is accepting that “Rome wasn’t built in a day”, but his vision remains unimpaired.

Fantasy place – second only to the high cottage adjacent to the Summer Isles Hotel in Achiltibuie. And much more accessible!

Room Tip: Definitely one of the cottages (Riverside if you're a couple)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 454JamesH454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

On our way through Scotland we decided to stop for a night here, primarily because of the reviews and the culinary aspect.
Lovely setting and easy to get to through old villages and mountain scenery. A friendly and warm welcome from everyone and we were shown to a comfortable room with a modern bathroom. The highlight for me was the food. A fine dining dinner and breakfast were excellent and the service from Michael was five star. I would have liked to stay for a couple of nights to explore the area but did not have the time. Overall a relaxing friendly place to stay and if I get an opportunity to stay for longer next time I will do so.. The only negative was a matter of personal taste. The bed was a little "firm" as were the pillows, but I slept well nevertheless.
PS: The proprietors (and Chefs) young son is planning a trip to Africa next year and doing chores like washing your car, to sponsor his trip. A personal touch and the car was lovely and clean when we departed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMC777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We were treated to a 2 night stay with a meal on the first night. You can see from the other reviews that the food is amazing. 5 courses, each one well prepared from locally sourced produce with first class presentation and service. The second evening we selected from the A la Carte menu, again another delight.
The room we had was modern with lots of little extras, the bathroom had spa bath and walk in shower, all serviced to a high standard.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lescullens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanquhar
12.5 mi away
Trigony House Hotel and Garden Spa
0.4 mi away
Nithsdale Hotel
Nithsdale Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sanquhar
212 reviews
18.1 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Buccleuch & Queensberry Hotel
23 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
11.1 mi away
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Cumnock
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackaddie Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackaddie Country House Hotel

Address: Blackaddie Road, Sanquhar DG4 6JJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Sanquhar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sanquhar
Price Range: £164 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackaddie Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed comfortable award-winning 4 star restaurant with rooms in beautiful surroundings with fantastic food and friendly staff on the banks of the river Nith in Dumfries and Galloway. Close to Drumlanrig Castle Dumfries House and Crawick Multiverse. Fishing available. On the Southern Upland Way in beautiful walking and cycling country. Next door to a swimming pool with golf course less than 1/2 mile away. Only 45 miles from Glasgow ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blackaddie Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackaddie Country House Hotel Sanquhar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing